Vermont DUI Laws

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Vermont DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. This is reduced to 0.04% for commercial drivers and 0.02% for underage drivers and bus drivers.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your car insurance rates, too.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about DUI laws in Vermont.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI/DWI?

A DUI refers to driving under the influence while a DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired.
Each state determines the difference between the two. Vermont uses the term DUI in reference to anyone driving with alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two in their system.
A DUI does not have to involve any actual driving. As long as the offender is in a position to exert actual physical control of the car, including just sitting in the driver’s seat, they can be charged with a DUI.
Key Takeaway The car does not have to be in motion, or even running, for an intoxicated driver to be charged with a DUI.

DUI in Vermont

In Vermont, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. For commercial vehicle drivers, that level is 0.04%. For bus drivers and drivers under 21, the threshold is 0.02%.
If you’re found with a BAC above the legal limit, you will be charged with a per se DUI, which means that whether or not you’re actually impaired by the alcohol is moot.
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you’re lawfully arrested for a DUI, you must submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. You do not have the right to consult with a lawyer before completing the test.

Penalties for DUI in Vermont

All offenses for DUIs in Vermont carry penalties dependent on the offender’s previous history, as well as their BAC at the time of the violation, and whether or not the DUI resulted in injury or death.
First offense
PenaltyDescription
Fine$750 maximum
JailUp to 2 years
License suspension90 days
Ignition interlock deviceEligible after 30 days probation
SR-22 requirementYes
This is extended to a minimum of one year if the DUI resulted in an injury or fatality.
Second offense
PenaltyDescription
Fine$1,500 maximum
JailUp to two years, with a minimum of 60 hours in jail or 200 of community service
License suspension18 months
Ignition interlock deviceEligible after 90 days probation
SR-22 requirementYes
For a second or subsequent DUI, the driver’s vehicle may be immobilized by court order for 18 months, or until the driver's license is reinstated.
Second and subsequent offenders may be required by a judge to complete a drug and alcohol screening, and undertak a recommended treatment program, which may count towards sentenced jail time.
Third offense
PenaltyDescription
Fine$2,000 to $3,000
Jail96 hours to 5 years
License suspensionIndefinite
Ignition interlock deviceEligible after 1 year probation
SR-22 requirementYes
The third or subsequent offense may result in a court-ordered forfeiture and sale of the driver’s vehicle.
DUIs also carry more severe penalties when the following circumstances are met:
  • High BAC: Offenders with a prior DUI conviction will be prohibited from driving with a BAC of 0.02%, in addition to the standard penalties, for up to three years after conviction.
  • Injury or death A DUI that results in injury or death carries a maximum of five years in jail. The maximum fine for injury is $5,000, while for death is $10,000.
Offenders looking to reinstate their driver’s license must pay any outstanding fines and fees and complete an alcohol and driving education program.
Second-time offenders must also enroll in an alcohol and driving rehabilitation program. Third-time offenders must complete all of these requirements and maintain sobriety for three consecutive years.
Key Takeaway DUI penalties in Vermont are more severe if the DUI results in injury or death.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Vermont?

Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously and you’ll be classified as a high-risk driver.
With a DUI on your record, you can reasonably expect that insurance carriers will charge you significantly higher rates or they may refuse to insure you entirely.
That’s where Jerry can help. Jerry quickly submits your info and presents you with quotes from up to 50 top providers, so that you don’t have to spend time reaching out to each company one by one.
Your insurance carrier will also be required to fill out an SR-22 to prove you have the state-mandated minimum insurance coverage.

Other effects of a DUI

Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, DUIs can have some other lasting impacts on your life.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked if you’re charged with other serious offenses.
Ignition interlock device: All states have some type of ignition interlock program requiring drivers convicted of a DUI to install an interlock device in their vehicle to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
Background checks: Your DUI will show up on a background check indefinitely, which can cause issues for future employment endeavors.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

Finding affordable insurance after a DUI conviction can be difficult on your own. No matter what your record looks like, Jerry can help. Once you choose a policy, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
When your policy is up for renewal, Jerry is still on the job and will send you new quotes so you’re always paying the best price.
"Jerry brought my insurance deductible down from $2.5k to $1k without me having to switch companies. I even had a ticket on my record. If it can help me, Jerry will definitely help you save money." —Maxwell N.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free