Vermont Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Cheap insurance
Vermont drivers are legally required to carry a minimum amount of car insurance, summarized as 25/50/10. This stands for $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $10,000 of property liability per accident.
In addition, drivers must carry a minimum of $50,000 bodily injury per person,$100,000 bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 in property damage per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
Phew, that’s a lot to cover! If you need some help looking for affordable car insurance, Jerry is an AI-based insurance shopping app that can provide you with competitive quotes from up to 50 insurance providers in under a minute. Swapping is just as effortless.
Jerry even takes care of all the paperwork and phone calls for your new car insurance plan. They will even cancel your old policy on your behalf—oh, and it’s free!
Jerry has put together all the information that you need to know about Vermont’s car insurance laws. Continue reading to learn all the details.
What car insurance is required by law in Vermont?
Vermont requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability car insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Motorists also need to be able to produce a valid proof of insurance upon the request of law enforcement or other authorities.
Here is a breakdown of the minimum insurance limits that Vermont car insurance laws require.
Vermont minimum car insurance
|Type of coverage||Minimum insurance limit|
|Minimum liability coverage||25/50/10|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$10,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage||50/100/10|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Bodily injury per accident||$100,000|
|Property damage per accident||$10,000|
Key Takeaway Vermont drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability car insurance and uninsured motorist coverage.
Liability insurance in VT
Like most states, the state of Vermont requires drivers to carry both types of liability insurance: bodily injury liability and property damage liability.
Liability insurance helps protect drivers from being held legally liable for damages to other parties if they cause an accident—but it will not help cover your own expenses.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Vermont?
All Vermont motorists need to carry basic liability insurance limits that are summed up as 25/50/10. They also must purchase a minimum amount of uninsured/underinsured motorist protection.
In total, Vermont drivers need to purchase six categories of coverages.
Here is a more detailed explanation of the minimum insurance requirements in Vermont and what they protect against.
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your insurance provider will pay up to $25,000 per person to cover the cost of injuries if you are found to be at fault in an accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000 is the maximum amount that your insurance company will pay to cover injuries for an at-fault accident.
$10,000 in property damage liability per accident: Your insurance company will pay out a maximum limit of $10,000 to cover the cost of property damage for other parties in an at-fault accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance per person: $50,000 is the maximum per person amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover your medical expenses if you get in an accident caused by an underinsured driver.
$100,000 of bodily injury uninsured motorist coverage per accident: $100,000 is the highest uninsured/underinsured motorist payout you can receive to cover the cost of injuries for a single accident.
$10,000 of property damage uninsured motorist coverage per accident: Your provider will pay out up to $10,000 per accident to cover your property damage if the at-fault driver doesn’t carry enough car insurance.
Should I get more coverage than Vermont’s required insurance minimum?
Vermont’s liability insurance minimums fall short of the 50/100/50 limits recommended by most car insurance experts—and you will be left on the hook for your own expenses if you cause an accident.
Purchasing additional coverage options like collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, and medical payments (MedPay) will help ensure that your expenses are covered—regardless of who is at fault.
If you want a free and easy way to compare prices on the car insurance coverages you want to have, download the Jerry app or go to getjerry.com. In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer.
Choose from competitive quotes from up to 50 top insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and canceling your old one. No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Vermont?
Vermont drivers caught without proof of insurance could face legal consequences that include fines and license suspensions.
These are the penalties for getting caught without car insurance in Vermont
- A civil fine (not exceeding $500)
- License suspension and an additional fine of up to $100 for drivers who can’t show valid proof of insurance within seven days
- SR-22 filing requirements
Key Takeaway Vermont motorists who are caught driving without state minimum insurance limits can face a civil fine and additional fines and license suspension if they fail to produce proof of insurance within seven days.
Additional coverage options
Drivers in Vermont can choose to upgrade their protection beyond the state minimum by increasing their limits or adding additional coverage options to their policy.
Here are some popular choices that many car insurance providers offer.
Collision insurance will help cover the costs of damage to your car if you get in a collision or rollover—regardless of who is found to be at fault.
Comprehensive insurance will cover you up to your policy limit for damage to your car caused by certain external events, like hail, flooding, or theft.
Loan/lease payoff coverage
Otherwise known as gap insurance, this will cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled car and the settlement that you receive from your insurance provider following an accident.
Rental car reimbursement coverage
Rental reimbursement coverage will cover you up to a certain limit for the costs of alternate transportation while your car is being repaired after a claim.
Roadside assistance coverage
Roadside assistance insurance (aka towing and labor insurance) provides access to helpful emergency roadside services like lock services, tows, or battery boosts.
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage
Medical payments (MedPay) is a no-fault insurance option that will help cover medical costs for you and your passengers that are associated with your accident.
How to get cheap car insurance in Vermont
If you are looking for a great way to find cheap car insurance in Vermont, download the free insurance shopping app Jerry.
Just fill out a short form and Jerry contacts your insurance company to get the details of your current coverage—so you don’t have to scale a mountain of paperwork just to compare quotes. Policy options are easy to customize, and once you make your pick Jerry handles everything else—switching you over to your new provider and even canceling your old policy—so you don’t have to.
You get all the best prices and coverage with none of the legwork.
“Impressive! I thought I was pretty thorough when it came to shopping insurance, until I downloaded the Jerry app. Wow, did Jerry prove me wrong! After giving Jerry a try I now have a new policy at half of the price of what I was paying before—for the exact same coverage. Jerry is super easy to use and the live agents were super helpful when it came to answering my insurance question. Thanks, guys!”—Satisfied Jerry user
Does Vermont require car insurance?
Yes. Vermont requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability car insurance and uninsured motorist coverage.
Is VT a no-fault state?
No. Vermont is an at-fault, or tort, insurance state.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually