Kansas drivers are required to carry
uninsured motorist coveragewith a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Do you need uninsured motorist coverage in Kansas?
Kansas car insurance lawsrequire all drivers to have uninsured motorist coverage.
According to the
Insurance Information Institute (III), just 10.9% of Kansas drivers are uninsured—which is a pretty good number compared to half of the nation. In fact, Kansas ranks 28th for the number of uninsured drivers.
Even so, there’s still more than a one in 10 chance you’ll have a car accident with an uninsured driver on Kansas roads—which is why you need uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage.
Kansas requires drivers to have 25/50/25 liability coverage, but if the other driver’s liability insurance doesn’t cover your expenses, your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (and personal injury protection (PIP) coverage) will cover the rest.
Good news—it’s pretty cheap to add to your policy! Most drivers pay between $50 to $75 per year for UM coverage.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How uninsured motorist insurance works in Kansas
For Kansas motorists, the minimum car insurance requirements dictate having at least $25,000 of
property damage liability—which covers the other driver’s repairs in an at-fault accident.
Kansans also need personal injury protection (PIP) per person, which adds to your health insurance to cover possible medical expenses. Your PIP coverage must include the following:
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses
- $900 per month for one year for disability or loss of income
- $25 per day for in-home services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial, or cremation expenses
- $4,500 for rehabilitation costs
While Kansas does have a decent amount of required insurance for drivers, these policies won’t protect you from everything. Due to some nuances in Kansas insurance laws that provide companies with “credit” for claims they’ve already paid, your minimum coverage might not be enough to protect you in a major accident.
What it covers
In general, UM/UIM coverage for Kansans will kick in when either the at-fault driver is uninsured or the at-fault driver’s
bodily injury coverageisn’t sufficient to cover you or your passenger’s medical costs. On top of medical bills, this coverage also takes care of:
- Rehabilitation costs
- Funeral costs
- Settlements of lawsuits resulting from an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver
You don’t have to be driving for this coverage to take effect. UI/UIM coverage in Kansas also covers you and your family as pedestrians or when riding your bicycle.
How to make a claim
After a car accident, it’s absolutely crucial to exchange key information with the other driver(s) involved. This includes driver’s license details, contact information, and insurance information. If you or one of your passengers sustain an injury and the other driver lacks bodily injury liability coverage, you’ll need to file a UM/UIM claim.
The process of filing an insurance claim with uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage should be simple. You need to contact your insurance company as soon as possible to explain what happened. You’ll want to include documents like medical records, the police/crash report, photos from the scene, and medical bills. The more evidence you can provide to explain the event, the easier the process will be.
If your bills cost more than the limit of your UM coverage, the rest of the expenses will have to be covered by your health insurance, PIP coverage, or another form of payment.
Why uninsured motorist insurance is important to have in Kansas
Uninsured motorist insurance is required by law in Kansas, but it’s important to have it for other reasons as well.
Kansas is a no-fault state
no-fault state, Kansas drivers who are injured in an accident can be financially compensated no matter who caused the accident.
Keep in mind that the “no-fault” system applies to medical bills only—so the at-fault driver’s liability coverage should take care of the other driver’s repair bills. If you or any of your family members are injured in a collision, your PIP coverage will pay up to your insurance limit. If one of your passengers has their own car with PIP coverage, their insurance will cover their medical costs.
Over one in ten drivers in Kansas are uninsured
Since 50% of all crashes in Kansas are multiple-vehicle accidents, it’s essential to make sure you and your passengers are protected with UM coverage—especially considering that 10.9% of all Kansas motorists lack the minimum insurance requirements.
How to save on uninsured motorist coverage in Kansas
The only reason drivers wouldn’t have uninsured motorist coverage in Kansas is the additional expense. While it costs about $50 to $75 annually, this may seem expensive if you’re on a tight budget. If you’re worried about the financial strain of having UM coverage,
Jerryhas your back.
Finding cheap coverage is what Jerry does best. After downloading the
trustworthy licensed insurance broker app, all you have to do is sign up to receive customized quotes on whatever coverage you’re looking for in just 45 seconds. With over 55 partner companies to pull from, Jerry will make sure you’re only getting the best options for your car insurance in Kansas!
It’s no joke—average Jerry users rack up more than $800 in annual savings! With that extra money, UM coverage will be a breeze to pay for.