Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Connecticut: Do You Need It?

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Mary Cahill
· 7 min read
, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is legally required in addition to minimum
liability insurance
. The minimum required amount of
uninsured motorist coverage
is $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident. 
Traffic law in Connecticut is a little stricter than in other states. Here, liability coverage must be accompanied by an uninsured/underinsured motorist policy to protect you if you’re involved in a car accident with someone who is driving without insurance (which is totally illegal, by the way). 
If you’re looking for clarification on uninsured motorist coverage requirements in Connecticut,
has the latest info. In this article, we’ll go over what coverage you need in the Constitution State.
Are you overpaying for your car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees
icon4.717k Ratings
5M+Drivers Joined
7M+Cars Garaged

Do you need uninsured motorist coverage in Connecticut?

Yes. Connecticut’s minimum liability insurance does not include limits for uninsured motorist coverage, but drivers are still legally obligated to have it according to
Connecticut general statute § 38a-336
. That’s why it’s also the law for every insurance company that services drivers in Connecticut to offer uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. 
The minimum limits for uninsured motorist coverage in Connecticut are:
You have the option to increase your limits by double the amount of your bodily injury liability limit if you so choose. It’s also important to keep in mind that
Connecticut’s car insurance laws
do not obligate drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage that protects against property damage. 
Recent data shows that the average cost of adding uninsured motorist coverage to your liability policy in Connecticut is an extra $50 to $75 per year—a small price to pay if an accident caused by an uninsured driver results in you racking up thousands of dollars in medical bills. 
The Insurance Information Institute (III)
, estimates that 6.3% of Connecticut drivers are uninsured—only you can determine if you want to chance getting into an accident with one.

How uninsured motorist insurance works in Connecticut

If you find yourself in a crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver, Connecticut’s mandatory uninsured motorist coverage can help protect you and your passengers if you’re injured. In certain cases, this policy reimburses you for bodily injury resulting from a
Usually, you would file a claim with the other driver’s insurance provider in order to receive compensation for your injuries and/or property damage if that driver was at fault for the collision. But if the at-fault driver doesn’t have car insurance, that usually spells problems for you. 
It can be very difficult or even impossible to receive reimbursement for damages from an uninsured driver. These situations are typically resolved in the courtroom—which can take a really long time to play out. 
The uninsured motorist coverage you’re legally bound to carry in Connecticut will help you avoid suing the other driver and duking it out in the courtroom with lawyers. Furthermore, this policy will assist you with covering medical expenses incurred after the accident. Again, we must stress that Connecticut’s required uninsured/underinsured motorist policy doesn’t cover property damage, so if you want to be reimbursed for car repairs and medical expenses, you’ll need to add it to your policy. 

What’s available

You have the option to increase your coverage amount for uninsured motorist coverage for extra peace of mind, but you may also want to consider the following options to safeguard yourself (and your wallet) against uninsured drivers in Connecticut. 
  • Collision insurance
    will help you cover the costs of vehicle repairs after an accident—even if you’re found to be at fault or the at-fault driver doesn't have sufficient coverage. 
  • Rental reimbursement coverage
    will pay for you to drive a rental car or use public transportation while repairs are being made to your vehicle after an accident. 

What it covers

Every car crash scenario has a unique set of circumstances. Still, generally speaking, the uninsured motorist coverage that pays out for medical expenses after the accident will also help you pay for the following: 
  • Ongoing medical costs
  • Lost wages
  • Funeral expenses (in some cases)
  • Rehabilitative care such as physical therapy
  • Assistance with household responsibilities 
  • Structural modifications needed for your home due to a long-term physical handicap
  • Pain and suffering (in some cases) 
Being seriously injured or suffering the loss of a loved one in a car accident is tremendously difficult, and the last thing you want to worry about is how you’re going to afford to pay for the help you need. That’s why uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is really important. 
Depending on your financial situation, you might want to consider increasing your uninsured motorist coverage beyond the minimum limit required in Connecticut to help offset the costs after a major accident. 

How to make a claim 

After a car accident
, the involved drivers typically exchange insurance information so that you can file a claim for damages. But if the other party is driving without car insurance or takes off before you can get any of their info, that’s where uninsured motorist coverage comes into play. 
The first thing you’ll need to do is contact your insurance company to let them know you were in an accident with an uninsured motorist. Try to provide your insurance provider with as many details as possible, including documentation like a police report or hospital bills, because it will help the claims adjuster evaluate your case. 
File your insurance claim as soon as possible. Technically, the state of Connecticut allows you up to three years to make an uninsured/underinsured motorist claim, but your insurance company could give you as little as 30 days to put in a claim. 

Why it’s a good idea to buy uninsured motorist insurance in Connecticut

First off, it’s the law. But as we said before, it could be a good idea to purchase more than the minimum limit of uninsured motorist coverage. If the accident was serious, there’s a good chance that your medical expenses could exceed the required $25,000, and you’ll be responsible for paying for the remaining costs with your own money. 
Having an uninsured motorist policy that’s sufficient enough to pay for medical treatment after an accident will help you avoid having to file a personal injury lawsuit
Not only are lawsuits and the court visits that go along with them hugely time-consuming, but they’re also expensive. Personal injury lawyers in Connecticut charge an average of $317 per hour plus a retainer fee. Even if the lawsuit is settled in your favor, you’ll have to fork over between 33% to 40% of the awarded funds to your hard-working attorney. 

It could protect you in a hit-and-run accident

The main purpose of uninsured motorist coverage is to protect Connecticut drivers if they get into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver—but it could also be your saving grace if you’re involved in a hit-and-run
Drivers hit and run for several reasons: they could be driving under the influence or are behind the wheel of a
stolen car
…or maybe they’re driving without insurance. Whatever the reason, 90% of hit-and-run drivers are never caught, mostly due to a lack of evidence. 
In Connecticut, uninsured motorist coverage can kick in if you need to put in a claim after a hit-and-run. Since there’s a low probability of obtaining the criminal driver’s insurance information, insurers often treat this type of collision the same way they would handle an accident with an uninsured motorist.  
MORE: Hit-and-run insurance and claims: everything you need to know

How to save on uninsured motorist coverage in Connecticut

Just because uninsured motorist coverage is mandatory in Connecticut doesn’t mean you have to pay a ton of money for it. If you want to purchase more than the minimum limits for uninsured motorist coverage but aren’t sure if you can afford it,
can help. 
trustworthy licensed broker app
is free and it only takes a minute to sign up. You’ll need to answer some basic questions about yourself and your vehicle, then you can sit back and watch Jerry work its magic. In just 45 seconds, Jerry pulls the cheapest quotes from more than 55 top-rated partnered insurers and sends a customized list straight to your smartphone.
When you shop for new insurance with Jerry, you can skip the phone calls and boring paperwork. Plus, when you find the coverage that best suits your needs and you’re ready to switch, Jerry will even help you cancel your existing policy. But the true star of the show by far is the savings—the average Jerry user saves over $800 a year on car insurance
“I was tired of looking around multiple websites, so I decided to give
a try. Let me tell you—the process is so easy and simple, and they really find you the best prices for your coverage level. Getting insurance for my new car was quick and easy!” —Joanna D.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings