How to Get a Texas Driver’s License Reinstatement

A Texas driver’s license can be reinstated for between $100 and $125, but the processing time is dependent on the original offense.
Written by Drew Waterstreet
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
Your license can be suspended in Texas for a variety of offenses, including failure to pay off tickets for minor traffic violations or more serious offenses like a DUI. The reinstatement process can vary based on the circumstances of your suspension.
Losing your driving privileges can make everyday life more challenging. To get back behind the wheel, you need to apply for a license reinstatement once you’ve fulfilled the court’s financial and legal requirements.
The road to license reinstatement has some potholes and a few sharp turns. To help you navigate the process, the
car insurance
experts at
have created a step-by-step guide. We’ll cover types of suspensions, how to get reinstated, and how to find affordable car insurance after a suspension. We'll even show you the easiest way to find
cheap car insurance in Texas
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Texas

Texas Department of Public Safety
oversees all driver license services, including license reinstatement.
Your driving privileges don’t magically reappear after a suspension—the TDPS requires you to apply for license reinstatement. There is a $100 to $125 fee to get things started, and it can then take up to 21 business days to process your compliance forms.
If you want to get back behind the wheel, you’ll need to go through the legal motions.

How to get a license reinstatement in Texas

Before you even start the process, you’ll want to make sure you qualify for reinstatement. Some suspensions require you to wait a court-ordered amount of time before reinstatement. Other reinstatements can begin processing as soon as you pay off your outstanding obligations
To check whether you’re eligible for license reinstatement, visit the
Texas Driver's License Eligibility System
. You will need your ID Number, date of birth, and the last four digits of your SSN to log in to the eligibility portal.

Traffic citations and court suspensions

Motorists with outstanding fines from minor traffic infractions, such as speeding or rolling a stop sign, are given temporary license suspensions. You can start the reinstatement process as long as your legal debts are paid for first.
You can submit your reinstatement fee and your compliance items to the Texas Department of Public Safety
or a
local TDPS office
. If you prefer mail, you must reference the following two addresses.
Address if you paid online but are sending compliance documents through the mail:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Enforcement and Compliance Service
P.O. Box 4087
Austin TX 78773-0320
Address if you need to pay and submit compliance documents through mails:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Central Cash Receiving
P.O. Box 15999
Austin, TX 78761-5999
As mentioned, your application can take up to 21 business days to process. Feel free to check on your
whenever you like. If you still have questions, the Texas Department of Public Safety has a great
FAQ page
. Otherwise, you can
give them a call

Point suspensions

Texas has actually repealed its point-based system in favor of a habitual violator system. Pending the circumstances, a habitual violator is a motorist who has four traffic convictions within 12 months or seven convictions within 24 months.
Hitting the habitual violator threshold will result in a court-ordered loss of driving privileges. Once you fulfill the suspension, you can apply using the same process description above.


As opposed to suspensions,
license revocations are dished out for more severe convictions
. These are usually accompanied by harsher financial penalties and even jail time—not to mention the loss of driving privileges. But once you’ve fulfilled all your legal obligations and paid your dues, you can apply using the same process stated above.
Key Takeaway In most cases, you can get your license reinstated by paying the necessary fees and clearing any outstanding charges.

How to get a hardship license in Texas

A hardship license is more commonly referred to as a restricted license for adults with suspended privileges in Texas. This type of license can bypass your suspension, but your vehicle must be equipped with an
ignition interlock device
. This tool can restrict your ability to operate a vehicle based on the court-ordered limitations.

When can you apply for a hardship license?

The severity of your suspension will determine whether or not you can apply for a restricted license. You can always
check your eligibility instantly
on the TDPS website.
If you get the green light, you’ll need to comply with the following to apply for the restricted interlock license:
  • Your Texas driver's license must not be expired
  • Your Texas driver's license must not be suspended, revoked, canceled, or denied for any other reason
  • You must submit the restricted interlock license fee
  • Pay all outstanding Reinstatement fees

What is an SR-22 certificate?

SR-22 certificate
shows proof of your state-monitored liability insurance, which can be obtained at an insurance company of your choice–but not all providers offer SR-22s.
You must maintain an
SR-22 in Texas
for two years after your conviction date. Some convictions that require an SR-22 are DWI, drug offenses, driving with an unlawful license, and operation without insurance.
Unfortunately, an SR-22 won’t do you any favors regarding your insurance premium—expect higher rates.

How to save money on car insurance in Texas

Some convictions that lead to license suspensions can stay on your permanent driving record for several years—this negatively impacts insurance premiums. Luckily, the
app can help you find savings no matter what your situation is.
They say everything's bigger in Texas—how about the most competitive quotes from top insurance providers in less than 45 seconds? That’s what you get with Jerry.
As a
licensed broker
, Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and helping you cancel your old one upon request.
 “By using
I found a policy that HALVED my monthly expenses with Geico! Best of all, they helped cancel my policy and got me a refund on my premium. This app is a lifesaver.” —Josiah T.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings