Texas Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Liability insurance
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalty
- Cheap insurance
Drivers in the state of Texas are legally required to purchase a minimum amount of car insurance that is summarized as 30/60/25. This stands for: $30,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $60,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 of property liability per accident.
If you’re looking for car insurance in Texas, Jerry is your best bet. Jerry is a free insurance shopping app designed to help you find the car insurance you need fast.
It’s this simple: download the Jerry app or go to getjerry.com. In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from up to 50 top car insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and canceling your old one.
No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
Here is all the information that you need to know about Texas car insurance laws.
What car insurance is required by law in Texas?
Like most states, Texas requires all drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage. Drivers will also be expected to be able to provide valid proof of insurance at the request of law enforcement or any other relevant authorities.
While the following details the minimum state requirements, keep in mind that people who loan or lease their vehicle may have to carry additional types of insurance. This will depend on the details of their lending contract.
Here is a brief summary of the minimum car insurance limits that are required in Texas.
Texas minimum car insurance
|Minimum liability coverage||30/60/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway Texas drivers must carry a certain amount of liability insurance and proof of insurance when behind the wheel.
MORE: Lemon law Texas
Liability insurance in TX
The state of Texas requires drivers to carry two different types of liability insurance coverage that helps protect against legal action following an at-fault accident: bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance.
Just keep in mind that liability insurance will only cover the costs for the other party if you are at fault. It won’t cover your expenses.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Texas?
Texas’s minimum liability insurance limits can be summarized as 30/60/25. This number stands for three different types of liability insurance coverage.
The following is an explanation of how it all breaks down:
$30,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your insurance provider will pay up to $30,000 per person to cover injuries to another party if you cause an accident.
$60,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: Your insurance provider will pay up to $60,000 per at-fault accident to cover injuries to another party.
$25,000 in property damage liability per accident: $25,000 is the total amount per accident your insurance company will pay to cover property damage for another party involved if you cause an accident.
Should I get more coverage than Texas’s required insurance minimum?
Although Texas’s minimum liability requirements are slightly above average, the limits could still fall short of covering all the expenses related to a major claim.
Since Texas only requires liability coverage, drivers will be on the hook for any of their own expenses relating to an at-fault accident and will have to purchase additional coverage options to ensure that their costs are covered. Full coverage options like comprehensive insurance and collision insurance will protect you against the costs of damage to your car.
If you are looking for an easy way to tailor your Texas car insurance to meet your needs, Jerry will help you find an affordable policy fast. A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance. Convenient filters make it easy to find the options you want to have—and Jerry will even handle the switchover and cancel your old policy for you once you make your pick.
So why do all that extra work of filling out endless online quotes when Jerry can do it better?
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Texas?
Texas drivers who fail to provide valid proof of insurance could face serious consequences—including fines and possible suspensions.
Penalties for failing to provide proof of car insurance in Texas
- Fines between $175-$350
- Fines of up to $1000 for subsequent offenses
- Having to pay an added $250 annually for three years if the number of offenses exceeds the “Texas Driver Responsibility Program” baseline
- Possible SR-22 filing requirements, impoundments, or vehicle registration suspension
Key Takeaway Texas drivers who are caught without valid proof of insurance could face a wide range of legal penalties, including fines and possible suspensions.
Additional coverage options
If Texas drivers want to upgrade their car insurance coverage beyond the minimum state liability, most providers offer plenty of great options to take advantage of—including the following:
Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance
Personal injury protection (PIP) covers medical expenses for you and your passengers—regardless of who is at fault.
Comprehensive insurance will cover the cost of damage to your vehicle that is the result of some external event like theft, vandalism, or severe weather.
Collision insurance will cover the cost of damage to your car that is caused by a collision or rollover.
Loan/lease payoff insurance
Commonly referred to as gap insurance, this popular policy rider will cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled car and the settlement that you receive from your insurance provider following an accident.
Roadside assistance insurance
Otherwise known as towing and labor coverage, this popular policy option provides limited access to emergency roadside services like battery boosts and fuel delivery.
Rental car reimbursement insurance
Rental reimbursement insurance helps protect drivers against the cost of securing alternative transportation if their car needs repairs after a claim.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance helps protect you from the risk of ending up in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t carry enough insurance to cover your costs.
MORE: Why did I get a letter from the DMV saying there is a lapse of insurance coverage after moving from New York to Texas?
How to get cheap car insurance in Texas
Jerry is a free car insurance shopping app that will help Texas drivers save money on the coverage they want to have—and fast!
If you’re hesitant to switch plans or insurance providers because you’re worried about the work involved, don’t be. Jerry does all the paperwork for you. You’ll never have to print out anything, go to the post office, or get on the phone. Jerry handles it all. Really!
“Jerry is a hidden gem. When I first saw this app, it seemed too good to be true. I was already paying a little over $200 a month for my car insurance and thought it wouldn’t hurt to see what Jerry could save me. To my shock, they found another reputable company that would save me $116-ish and was the same coverage I had on my previous policy!”—Satisfied Jerry user
What are the legal requirements for car insurance in Texas?
Texas requires drives to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage, summarized as 30/60/25.
Does insurance follow the car or the driver in Texas?
In most cases, car insurance will follow the car and not the driver.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually