The 10 Most Common Ways to Get a Suspended License in Maine

Your license can be suspended in Maine for a variety of reasons—but a license suspension could be the least of your worries.
Written by Drew Waterstreet
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
Your license can be suspended or revoked in Maine for a number of offenses, including failure to pay fines, operating under the influence, violating license restrictions, and more. Suspensions can be indefinite if you fail to follow proper reinstatement procedures.
Driving is a privilege, not a right. The rules of the road are designed to create a safe and orderly driving environment for everyone. Failing to follow these guidelines is not only selfish and dangerous but can result in a license suspension.
To ensure you maintain your access to a driver’s license, the car insurance experts at
Jerry
have curated this guide to the most common reasons for a suspended Maine license. If you read closely, you may be able to find some
car insurance
savings too! We've got you covered if you're looking for the
best car insurance rates in Maine
.

What’s the difference between a license suspension and revocation?

Before we get started, it’s important for us to clearly define some vernacular. The terms “suspension” and “revocation” are often confused, so let’s set the record straight.
  • A license suspension is defined as a temporary loss of driving privileges for a specified period.
  • A license revocation is defined as a more serious loss of driving privileges, often requiring the driver to reapply for licensing.
The grounds for license suspensions and revocation are subject to the laws laid out by
Maine’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles
. Penalties can vary based on the severity and circumstance of the given violation.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What can your license be suspended for in Maine? 

Being well-informed is the best way to avoid a license suspension. Combine your knowledge with action, and you won’t have anything to worry about! Here are some of the most common reasons for license suspensions in Maine that you should be aware of.

1. Failure to pay fines or appear in court

If you fail to pay an outstanding fine for a traffic violation or fail to appear in court to defend your case, your license can be suspended. As long as you pay your dues, this suspension can be temporary. But, the suspension timeline can remain for as long as the fine is outstanding—and more severe consequences could follow.

2. Failure to pay child support

If your child support payments are 60 days overdue (or they’re delinquent based on your arranged agreement) or you fail to provide health insurance for your child, your driver’s license can be suspended. The
Maine Department of Health and Human Services
enforces this penalty as an indirect way to promote parental responsibility.

3. Uninsured accidents

Maine's car insurance laws
require drivers to carry a certain amount of liability coverage, uninsured motorist insurance, and personal injury protection. Failure to show proof of this coverage in a car accident can result in up to six months of jail time and a $1,000 fine. The Secretary of State can also suspend your license until you show the financial capacity to afford the minimum amount of coverage.

4. Operating under the influence

Driving a vehicle in Maine with a blood alcohol content over 0.08 is illegal. A first
OUI (operating under the influence) conviction in Maine
for a person over 21 will result in a 150-day license suspension—among other penalties. You have ten days to request an administrative suspension. If approved, your suspension will be decreased, and you will be required to use an ignition interlock device.
Subsequent OUI convictions will result in suspensions that can extend for several years.

5. Evading a police officer

If you’re found guilty of evading a police officer, your license will be suspended for 90 days. And since police evasion is usually not an isolated offense, you could be on the hook for a longer suspension for adjacent convictions.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings

6. Medical or vision conditions

Your license could be temporarily suspended or revoked if you have a medical condition that makes driving an unsafe activity for you and those around you. Learn more about Maine’s
Functional Ability Profile
.

7. Drivers involved in fatal crashes

Crashes that involve death are incredibly complex. License suspensions are usually the least of your worries—jail time and substantial fines are also in play. 
If you refuse to submit a blood alcohol test, your license will be immediately suspended for at least three years. Further convictions and suspensions depend on whether the case is ruled as manslaughter or homicide.

8. Intermediate license violations

Any new license issued to persons under the age of 18 will be an intermediate license. This must be held for 270 days. This beginner's license has
specific restrictions
, and violations will lead to a license suspension of 60 days. Subsequent offenses will be 180 days and then one year. Violations will extend your intermediate license period for an additional 270 days.

9. Juvenile provisional license violations

If you get your first license when you’re 18-20 years old, you will be issued a juvenile provisional license for two years. Drivers who have held an intermediate license for 270 days will be automatically upgraded to this license. Your first moving violation with this license will earn a 30-day suspension—subsequent offenses will be 180 days and then one year.

10. Provisional license violations

If your first license is issued to you after you turn 21, you will hold a provisional license for one year. Moving violations will result in the same suspensions as the juvenile provisional license.
For a full rundown on how the different license types are regulated, you can visit the designated
Bureau of Motor Vehicles webpage
.

How to save money on car insurance in Maine

License suspensions can complicate your driving record, but the
Jerry
app has your back. No matter what your driving record looks like, we can help you find the lowest rate available. As a
licensed broker
, we make it as easy as possible to find the best coverage for your budget.
We’ll handle all the grunt work for you too! Jerry can generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you're not responsible for any long forms or phone calls either. Before you know it, you’ll be quoted for an affordable rate!
“I’ve used
Jerry
twice now, and their service is phenomenal. In 7 minutes I changed to a Progressive plan that was the best deal for me. Everyone I’ve talked to at the company has been wonderful, too!” —Reese M.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings