A Guide to Driver’s License Suspensions and Revocations in Florida

Florida driver’s license suspensions and revocations can last from 30 days to 10 years, depending on the violation committed.
Written by Kianna Walpole
Edited by R.E. Fulton
Driving a motor vehicle in
is a privilege, and if you’re found guilty of committing a serious traffic violation or have unpaid fines and fees, your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked. 
  • The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) can suspend or revoke your driver’s license if you’re caught driving under the influence, breaking a traffic law, or rack up too many points on your record.
  • The length of suspension can vary from 30 days to 1 year. For revocations, the timeline increases from 180 days to 10 years, with the possibility of a permanent revocation.
  • You can check the current standing of your Florida driver’s license online through the DHSMV website. 

What is the difference between a license suspension and a revocation in Florida?

A license suspension is the temporary loss of your driving privileges for a specific period of time and is typically given due to smaller violations or infractions. 
License revocation
may be necessary when more serious violations are performed, or if you’re a habitual traffic offender. This means that your driving privileges are entirely revoked, and can be for numerous months or indefinitely. 

What earns you a suspended or revoked license in Florida?

In the state of Florida, you’ll receive a suspended driver’s license if you commit the following infractions: 
  • Unpaid traffic tickets, traffic citations, and other traffic offenses
  • Accumulation of a specific number of points
  • Conviction in traffic court 
  • Are unable to drive safely
  • Fraudulent driver’s license 
  • Failure to pay mandated court costs (i.e. child support)
  • Misuse of a restricted license
  • Driving without bodily injury insurance, or property damage liability (PDL)
  • Refuse to take tests for driving under the influence 
  • Allowing your valid driver’s license to be used for reasons that are against Florida law
On the other hand, a license may be revoked in Florida under these circumstances: 
  • Driving under the influence (alcohol, drugs, or other substances)
  • Drug possession
  • False ownership or operation of a vehicle
  • Commit a felony or immoral act while driving
  • Committing three counts of reckless driving in a year
  • Driving with vision less than the minimum requirements to operate a vehicle
  • Not stopping when your vehicle is involved in a car accident leading to death or injury 
  • Committing three major offenses (or 15 standard offenses) in a 5-year timespan

The Florida point system

For Florida, the point system is a scale designed to assign a specific value to various driver convictions:
Crash - leaving a scene worth more than $50 in damage
Careless driving
Child restraint violation
Curfew violation - for new drivers
Failure to stop - RED, one way street, or before making a left turn
Failure to yield - right of way to pedestrian
Improper backing
Open container - as operator
Reckless driving
School bus - failure to stop or passing
Speeding - resulting in an accident
Speeding - under 15 MPH posted speed
Speeding - over 16 MPH posted speed
Speeding - too fast for weather conditions
As per Florida law, all fines for the above infractions double when they take place in a school or construction zone. As a result, you could face up to $1,000 in fees, along with being required to complete a driver’s education course.
Keep in mind: Accumulating too many points on your driving record—whether through serious infractions or traffic fines—can lead to a driving suspension, which can ultimately increase your insurance rates.

How long will my license remain suspended or revoked? 

If your license is suspended, the length you can lose your driving privileges for varies based on the amount of points you accumulate within a given period of time.
  • 12 points in a 12-month timespan: 30 days
  • 18 points in an 18-month timespan: 3 months
  • 24 points in a 36-month timespan: 1 year
When it comes to license revocation, the duration can also change, depending on the infraction and how many times you have committed said act. For life-threatening violations, such as driving under the influence (DUI), you may experience the following penalties and fees:
  • First infraction: $250-$500 fee, 50 hours of community service, up to 6 months in prison, 12 hours of DUI school, and minimum 180 day license revocation
  • Second infraction: $500-$1,000 fee, up to 9 months in prison, 21 hours of DUI school, and minimum 180 day license revocation with up to 5 years.
  • Third infraction: $1,000-$2,500 fee, up to 12 months in prison, 21 hours of DUI school, and minimum 180 day license revocation with up to 10 years.
  • Fourth or more infraction: No less than a $1,000 fee, up to 5 years in prison, and permanent license revocation.
Although Florida is a no-fault state, protected under the
Florida Financial Responsibility Law
, if you are involved in an accident without the proper insurance, your license and/or license plate can be suspended for up to three years.

How do I check if my driver’s license is suspended in Florida?

You can perform a driver license check online through the
FLHSMV website
. After creating an account, make sure you have the following documents handy: 
  • Insurance policy information
  • Driver’s license 
  • Social security number
If your license is suspended or revoked due an old or moving violation, you can apply for a
license reinstatement
or for a hardship license, which will allow you permission to drive only for the purpose of getting to and from work or school. 


No, a Florida license cannot be reinstated online. Rather, you need to email a check with the proper reinstatement fee amount, along with completion documentation to the Bureau of Motorist Compliance in Tallahassee, Florida.
A financial responsibility (FR) suspension is given in the event that you fail to pay a financial obligation, such as failure to pay your insurance, leading to a lapse or cancellation. FR suspensions can last up to 3 years, or until you reinstate your car insurance.
According to the Florida Statutes, if you are caught driving with a suspended license and are aware of the matter, you can be sentenced to up to 2 months in a federal prison, along with a fine of $500. 
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings