SR-22 in Rhode Island: What You Need to Know

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Is it required?
  • Who needs one?
  • Moving to a state requiring an SR-22
  • License suspension and RI insurance
  • Cheap car insurance
In Rhode Island, you don’t need an SR-22 certificate to prove you meet the state’s minimum liability insurance requirements following a serious driving violation.
Unfortunately, though, you will have a little more difficulty in getting an insurer to cover you—and higher premiums are a near certainty, too.
But you don’t need to worry too much. It’s still possible to find a good deal on car insurance. In fact, finding a great insurance policy at an affordable price has never been easier.
That’s because Jerry, an AI-powered car insurance broker and comparison shopping app, can help you find a robust and affordable policy relatively easily.
You can sign up in less than a minute, and Jerry analyzes 50 different quotes from the best insurers to give you the best bang for your buck. Best of all, it’s free to use!
But before you sign up, read on to learn about insuring high-risk drivers in Rhode Island.

SR-22 coverage in Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, SR-22 insurance is not required—in most states, an SR-22 form is filed by your insurer following a major driving violation, proving you carry financial responsibility for a minimum level of liability insurance.
However, if you move to a different state that requires an SR-22 after a major driving violation, you’ll need to file for one there, with an insurer in that state.
Still, in most states, you’re going to need minimum liability insurance. In Rhode Island, that means:
  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury liability coverage.
  • $25,000 per accident of property damage liability coverage.
  • $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
  • $25,000 per accident of uninsured motorist property damage.
You need to prove to Rhode Island’s DMV that you have that minimum coverage before you can hit the road.
Key Takeaway SR-22 coverage isn’t required in Rhode Island. However, if you move to a new state, you might need to get SR-22 insurance through a provider in the state you move to.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Who needs SR-22 in Rhode Island?

You won’t need an SR-22 in Rhode Island if you commit a serious moving violation. Instead, you can expect to pay significant fines, see your license suspended, or, in the worst case, serve jail time.
The following offenses could see you pick up that kind of punishment:
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol
  • Not carrying adequate car insurance
  • Repeated traffic violations over a 12 month period
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Being at fault for numerous major collisions
Other violations can lead to suspension, too. It’s at the discretion of the state.

Moving to a state requiring an SR-22

If you’ve been convicted of a major moving violation in Rhode Island, but move to a state that requires SR-22 insurance, you will need to buy coverage.
If that’s the case, you should find a new insurer in your new state of residence that will file an SR-22 for you. Rhode Island insurers won’t take up that task.
Try the Jerry app to find the best one for you!
Key Takeaway If you move to a new state that requires an SR-22 form, you should find a new insurer who will file it for you.

How a license suspension impacts your insurance in Rhode Island

If your license has been revoked or suspended in Rhode Island, your insurance premiums might skyrocket. Drivers in Rhode Island with a DUI conviction, for example, pay around 80% more on their premiums than drivers with a clean record.
There is good news, though. If you maintain a clean driving record, and don’t pick up any demerit points, your insurance rates will decrease. That won’t happen overnight, though, so make sure you’re extra vigilant and careful on the road.
Even though you’ll be faced with higher premiums upon reinstatement, shop around with Jerry for the best insurance rate you can find.
Key Takeaway After your license has been reinstated, be prepared to pay higher rates on your car insurance.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How to find cheap car insurance with Jerry

Even with a major violation on your record, finding a good deal on car insurance is still possible. In fact, with Jerry, finding a great car insurance policy at an affordable rate has never been easier.
It’s this simple: download the Jerry app or go to getjerry.com. In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer.
Choose from competitive quotes from up to 50 top insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and canceling your old one. No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
“I thought that finding an affordable car insurance policy was near impossible until I found Jerry! The process from switching from my expensive auto Insurance to a much lower insurance was so simple, Jerry guided me from start to finish so easily and it took only a few minutes. If you’re in need of affordable car insurance let Jerry help you find what you need!”— Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free