SR-22 in North Carolina: What You Need to Know
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- SR-22 coverage in North Carolina
- Who needs one?
- Moving to a state requiring an SR-22
- License suspension and NC insurance
- Cheap car insurance
In North Carolina, an SR-22 certificate is not needed after you’ve been convicted of a serious driving violation. But, the state may require your insurer to submit a DL-123 form on your behalf as proof of insurance if your license is being reinstated.
If you fall into the high-risk driver category, don’t fret—you’ll still be able to find a good deal on car insurance. In fact, finding a great insurance policy at an affordable price is easier than it’s ever been.
With Jerry, an AI-powered car insurance broker and comparison shopping app, finding a robust rate that you can afford is well within your reach.
Sign-up takes just 45 seconds, and then Jerry scours the internet for up to 50 quotes from the country’s best insurers for you to pick from. Once your policy is in hand, Jerry keeps working for you—the app will automatically search for a better rate for you before each renewal period.
Best of all, Jerry is 100% free to use!
Continue reading to learn more about SR-22 in North Carolina.
SR-22 coverage in North Carolina
In many states, an SR-22 form is filed by your insurer after a major driving violation to prove you carry a minimum level of liability insurance—in North Carolina, however, this form is not required. Instead, you might be required to submit a DL-123 form if you’re trying to regain your driving privileges.
In North Carolina, all drivers are required to carry liability coverage. The state’s mandated minimum insurance requirements are as follows:
- $30,000 for bodily injury per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage coverage per accident
North Carolina drivers must prove to the DMV that they carry at least the minimum coverage before they can register their vehicle.
Key Takeaway You may need to have your insurer file a DL-123 form on your behalf if you’re trying to get your license reinstated in North Carolina, but an SR-22 is not required in the state.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Who needs SR-22 in North Carolina?
Drivers may need to file a DL-123, as opposed to an SR-22 form, to get their license reinstated.
Drivers face a combination of fines, license suspensions, and possible jail time for the following driving violations:
- DUI or DWI conviction
- Driving without insurance
- Repeated traffic violations within a short period of time
- Being responsible for multiple at-fault collisions
MORE: What is a DUI?
Moving to a state requiring an SR-22
If you’ve been convicted of a major driving offense in North Carolina, but subsequently had your license reinstated, you may need to file an SR-22 form if you move to a state that requires it.
In this case, you’ll need to find an insurer in your new state that will file an SR-22 form on your behalf, as your North Carolina insurer will not do this for you.
Key Takeaway If you were convicted of a major driving violation in North Carolina and you’re moving to a new state that requires SR-22 coverage, make sure you find an insurer in your new state to file an SR-22 for you.
How a license suspension impacts your insurance in North Carolina
If your license has been revoked or suspended in North Carolina, you should expect your insurance premiums to increase significantly upon reinstatement.
With a DWI or other major convictions on your record, a North Carolina driver can expect rate hikes from anywhere between 30% to 340% on their premiums.
With a major conviction, North Carolina drivers may have points added to their record, which may impact insurance rates as well. Points remain on a North Carolina driver’s record for three years after their date of conviction.
While your premiums will remain high for a few years, cleaning up your driving habits and maintaining a good driving record will go a long way in helping decrease your insurance rate over time.
Even though you’ll be faced with higher premiums upon reinstatement, make sure you shop around for the best insurance rate that you can find.
Key Takeaway In North Carolina, points may be added to your driving record upon a major driving violation, and will remain there for three years.
How to find cheap car insurance with Jerry
Even with a major conviction on your record, finding a good deal on car insurance is still possible. In fact, with Jerry, finding a great policy at an affordable rate has never been easier!
Sign-up takes under a minute, and then Jerry generates up to 50 quotes from the country’s best insurers for you to choose from. Just pick your policy, and then Jerry will handle everything else, including signing you up for your new policy and canceling your old one. No forms, no phone calls, and no hassles!
Best of all, Jerry users save an average of $879 on their car insurance!
“Wow! I don’t think I’ve ever gotten car insurance that quickly before. I’m still in shock a little. I highly recommend Jerry if you’re shopping around for cheaper car insurance. I just stumbled upon this app on Instagram and had insurance in a matter of minutes. Thanks, Jerry!”—Satisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually