SR-22 in New Mexico: What You Need to Know

An SR-22 form is not required in New Mexico to reinstate your driver’s license after a driving violation, but you must prove that you have liability insurance.
Written by Jason Tushinski
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
After being convicted of a serious driving violation in
New Mexico
, you do not need your insurer to file an SR-22 form on your behalf—but you must abide by
New Mexico’s car insurance laws
.
Here's what you need to know about New Mexico's lack of SR-22 requirements and what you do need if you're reinstating a suspended license.

New Mexico doesn’t require SR-22 coverage

New Mexico is one of a handful of states that does not require an SR-22 certificate to
reinstate your driver’s license
after it’s been revoked or suspended due to a serious traffic violation.
But you’ll still need to provide proof to New Mexico’s Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) that you meet the state’s minimum liability requirements.
Drivers in New Mexico are required to carry
liability insurance
. Here's how the minimum requirements break down:
If you fail to provide proof of meeting New Mexico's liability requirements, you might get a Notice of Noncompliance and receive suspension of your license and registration.
To get your license reinstated after such a notice, you’ll need to provide proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee.

Who needs SR-22 in New Mexico?

Drivers with a suspended license do not need an SR-22 form in New Mexico.
Suspensions are likely to occur if you’ve been convicted of the following severe driving violations:

Moving to a state requiring an SR-22

If you’ve been convicted of a major driving offense in New Mexico but subsequently had your license reinstated, you may need to get SR-22 coverage if you move to a state that requires it following a severe driving conviction.
In such a scenario, you’ll need to find an insurer in your new state that will file an SR-22 form on your behalf. Your New Mexico insurer won’t do this for you.

How a license suspension impacts your insurance in New Mexico

If your license is suspended or revoked in New Mexico, your
insurance rate will go up significantly
when buying coverage upon reinstatement. Insurers don't look favorably upon
driving records
with high-risk activity.
Your premiums may remain high for a while, but cleaning up your driving habits and keeping a good driving record will go a long way in decreasing your insurance rate over time.
It's always a good idea to shop around for insurance to find the best rate you can.
"Came across this app on Instagram and at first, was very skeptical. Did some research, saw the reviews, and everything seemed promising so I gave it a shot. And it worked! I was desperate for new insurance as I was paying $205 a month!
Jerry
helped me find a new company, same coverage, for $112 a month! - Kari S.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings