SR-22 in Virginia: What You Need to Know

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
In Virginia, drivers are often required to file an SR-22 if they are convicted of a serious driving violation, like reckless driving.
You’ll be obligated to keep the SR-22 in Virginia for a minimum of three years, though this might be extended if you commit another serious violation. This period can also be extended if you allow your coverage to lapse.
An SR-22 is a special form your car insurance company files with the DMV that verifies you have a certain minimum of liability coverage. It isn’t car insurance, but rather proof of adequate insurance.
If you need an SR-22 in Virginia, you’re in luck. The car insurance comparison shopping and broker app Jerry is breaking down everything you need to know about SR-22s in the state.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is SR-22 insurance in Virginia

In Virginia, an SR-22 is a certificate that proves to the Virginia DMV that you have the state’s minimum amount of liability insurance. Your insurance must cover at least:
  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $20,000 property damage liability per accident

Who needs it?

SR-22 forms are necessary for drivers with serious infractions on their driving record. These infractions and convictions might include (but aren’t limited to):
  • Getting too many tickets
  • Outstanding financial judgments
  • Driving without car insurance
  • Falsifying insurance information
  • Reckless driving
  • Property damage
  • Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter
In many states, drivers with a DUI or DWI must file an SR-22. But in Virginia, this requires a separate FR-44 form.
Key Takeaway Drivers with serious infractions and convictions on their record will need an SR-22 form filed for them.

How to get it

Only certain car insurance companies are authorized to handle SR-22 forms in Virginia, so your first step involves finding an insurance provider that is permitted to file an SR-22 on your behalf. Shopping around using the Jerry app can save you a lot of time and money.
Once you’ve found an insurance provider, you’ll need to pay an SR-22 form filing fee to the insurance company. This is usually around $50, though it depends on which insurer you’re working with.
The DMV may require you to pay additional fines or fees before lifting a suspension or reinstating driving privileges.
Finally, your insurance provider will file your SR-22 form on your behalf. The Virginia DMV and your insurance provider should both send you confirmation that you’re ready to drive again. Never, ever drive your car without insurance.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How much does it cost?

Most insurance companies charge a filing fee of about $50 to handle your SR-22 form. If the DMV has any fees, fines, or judgments outstanding, those will need to be settled first.
Besides the fees, you should expect to pay significantly more than you normally would for your insurance policy. And drivers requiring an FR-44 form typically pay twice as much as those who only require only SR-22.
Rates will vary from one insurer to the next, so it helps to shop around for cheap car insurance that meets your needs.
Key Takeaway Insurance coverage with an SR-22 is more expensive than a regular insurance policy—and with an FR-44 it’s often double that.

How an SR-22 impacts your insurance in Virginia

If you have an SR-22 requirement, you’ll definitely be facing high insurance rates. Insurance companies will consider you a greater risk and price your policy accordingly.
An SR-22 will also complicate your shopping experience since many insurers either aren’t authorized to file SR-22s or refuse to provide coverage to drivers with an SR-22 requirement due to the heightened risk.
Now for some good news: If you drive safely and maintain a clean record for three years from the date your driving privileges are restored, the state will lift your SR-22 requirement. This will allow your premiums to settle back down to more manageable rates.
Key Takeaway You will face high insurance rates with an SR-22 requirement, but they should settle back down once you maintain a clean record for three years.

How to find cheap car insurance

Having an SR-22 policy in Virginia can be costly, so it’s important to shop around for a policy that fits your budget.
Poor driving record or not, an intelligent AI-based tool like Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. Why spend time trying to figure out who will offer you insurance when Jerry can do it for you?
“They are fantastic! I had already signed up for insurance and found a cheaper one. So I switched four days later. They did everything for me. No questions asked. Saved an extra $30. My mom is signing up tonight. Thank you, Jerry!” —Satisfied Jerry user

FAQs

How long will the SR-22 in Virginia last?

If you maintain a clean driving record and keep your insurance from lapsing, the SR-22 form will remain on your car insurance policy for three years.

How do I file the SR-22?

Your car insurance company will file the SR-22 form on your behalf. You’ll probably need to pay a fee for this service, and only some insurance companies can handle an SR-22 in Virginia.

Do I need an SR-22 if I had a DUI or DWI?

A DUI or DWI will require an FR-44 form in Virginia, which is also handled by select insurance companies. Like the SR-22, only certain companies offer car insurance with an FR-44 form.

Is an SR-22 expensive?

With an SR-22 form, car insurance rates will be higher than they would be for someone with a clean record. The FR-44 form usually doubles the cost of insurance versus just having an SR-22.
You’ll also need to pay filing fees and any fines or fees required for the DMV to lift your license suspension or driving restrictions.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free