SR-22 in Oregon: What You Need to Know

In Oregon, an insurer files an SR-22 for a driver who’s been convicted of a driving violation as a guarantee that the driver is carrying the required insurance.
Written by Jacqulyn Graber
Reviewed by Amy Bobinger
background
In Oregon, if you’ve been convicted of a major driving infraction, your insurance provider will need to file an
SR-22
form on your behalf, to ensure financial responsibility, for you to legally drive again. This "proof of insurance" guarantees that you meet Oregon’s mandated minimum auto insurance requirements.
If you’re asking your insurer to file an SR-22 form for you, be prepared for your
car insurance
premiums to go up—but rest assured, that doesn’t mean you’ll need to pay an outrageous amount for your policy.
Compare quotes from 50+ insurers with Jerry in under 45 seconds?
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

What is an SR-22 in Oregon?

An SR-22 form or certificate filed by your insurer offers proof to the state that you meet
Oregon's minimum liability insurance requirements
.
Oregon requires all drivers to carry
liability insurance
. The state’s mandated minimum insurance requirements, or the least amount of insurance each driver must carry, are as follows:
In Oregon, SR-22 certificates are usually required for at least three years from the date of conviction, but this term can be extended if you commit violations within the original probation period.
If you fail to renew an insurance policy with an SR-22 form attached on time, you risk losing your driver’s license. You will also have to pay any fees necessary to reinstate your license as well as higher insurance costs. The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) charges $75 in reinstatement fees, in addition to any fines you owe for your violation. 

Who needs SR-22 in Oregon?

If a driver in Oregon has their driver’s license
revoked or suspended
for any of the following reasons, they will likely need their insurer to file an SR-22 form on their behalf to regain their driving privileges:
  • Driving without insurance
  • Owning a vehicle that was uninsured and involved in an accident
  • Hit-and-run
  • Failure to pay legal damages following an accident
  • Applying for a probationary permit

How to get an SR-22 certificate

To get an SR-22 form or certificate and have it filed with Oregon’s DMV, follow these steps.

Find an insurer

Not all insurance companies will file SR-22 forms, as many providers deem Oregon drivers
high-risk
if they require an SR-22 to drive. Be sure to do your research and find an insurer that issues SR-22s in Oregon.
Some companies that are SR-22 insurance friendly include:

Complete the SR-22 form

In addition to the basic demographic and vehicle information that you’ll need to provide to your car insurance company to secure insurance coverage, you’ll also need to provide a few additional details concerning your SR-22.
Details may include the type of SR-22 you need, how long you need to file for, the state in which you’re filing, the date of your relevant violation, and—perhaps—the type of traffic violation you received.

Pay the SR-22 fee

Once you find an insurance company willing to file an SR-22 for you, pay the fee so the form can be processed and filed. In Oregon, filing fees range from $15 to $50.
Generally, the fee will be included in the policy total, listed separately from the premium. If you’re purchasing a new insurance policy, you’ll have to pay the first premium payment to get things rolling—and that bill will include the fee, as well. 

Verify minimum liability coverage

As you’ve found an insurer to file proof of insurance for you, you must make sure you carry liability insurance that meets the state of Oregon’s requirements.

Submit your SR-22

Once you’ve paid your filing fee, your insurer will submit your SR-22 to the Oregon DMV. You’ll soon receive a letter in the mail from both the DMV and your insurance company confirming that your SR-22 was accepted.

How much does it cost?

Depending on your insurer, car insurance rates with SR-22 coverage can jump by roughly 30% to 90%. But it’s not the SR-22 itself that causes the jump in rates—it’s actually the serious infraction that prompted the need for an SR-22. 
In Oregon, your rate will depend on your personal profile, driving record, location, and other metrics. Since each insurer will weigh your case differently, it’s important to shop around for the best insurance quote you can find.

How an SR-22 impacts your insurance in Oregon

If you require your insurer to file an SR-22 form for you in Oregon, your car insurance premiums will likely increase for as long as you are on probation. Once your probation period expires without incident, your rates will begin to decrease.
Finding an insurer that will file an SR-22 for you may require a bit of searching as not all insurers will take on drivers they deem to be high-risk.
That being said, there are a good number of insurance providers—both large and small—that will insure high-risk drivers. Always remember to shop around to find an insurer willing to provide the best coverage at an affordable rate.

How to find cheap car insurance with Jerry

Even if you are considered a high-risk driver, you don’t need to break the bank to buy car insurance. With
Jerry
, finding a great car insurance policy at an affordable price has never been easier.
Sign-up takes just 45 seconds or less, and then Jerry will generate quotes from the country’s top insurers, delivering them straight to your smartphone. As a
licensed broker
, Jerry handles the rest, including helping to cancel your old policy and signing you up for a new one.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings