Services
Insurance
Loans
Repairs
Advice
About
background

Cheap SR-22 Insurance in Arizona

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
WHY YOU CAN TRUST JERRY
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
An SR-22 is a certificate filed by your car insurance company with the DMV that proves you’re carrying the minimum required
Arizona car insurance
. The state requires high-risk drivers to file an SR-22 for at least three years, during which time their
car insurance
premiums will likely increase.
  • An SR-22 is a certificate your auto insurance company must file directly with the Arizona Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Division (ADOT MVD) for at least three years.
  • SR-22 filing fees and the increased cost of
    car insurance for high-risk drivers
    can make it hard to find affordable coverage.
  • To bring your costs down, try comparing
    car insurance quotes
    and looking for discounts.

How to find cheap SR-22 insurance in Arizona

An
SR-22 requirement
will drive up your premiums, but comparing car insurance quotes can bring them back down.
Considering your
Arizona driving record
is one of the biggest factors in
how your car insurance rates are calculated
, your premiums are sure to rise if you have to file an SR-22. That being said, there are some car insurance companies that don’t mind working with high-risk drivers.
To find them, try using a
trustworthy insurance comparison app
like
Jerry
. You can browse and compares free quotes from the best providers in your area in just a few minutes. 

How does Arizona SR-22 insurance work?

An SR-22 is a certificate guaranteeing that you have the minimum amount of
car insurance required in the state of Arizona
State law requires Arizona car insurance companies to file SR-22s directly with the Arizona Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Division (ADOT MVD). While most large companies provide this option, they may charge a filing fee ranging from $15-$25.
Note that your auto insurance provider will only file an SR-22 certificate if you do indeed meet Arizona’s minimum car insurance requirements. That means at least $25,000 of
bodily injury liability coverage
per person, $50,000 of bodily injury
liability coverage
per accident, and $15,000 of
property damage liability coverage
per accident
Key Takeaway Your automobile insurance provider will file an SR-22 on your behalf after you purchase a policy that meets the minimum liability coverage requirements in Arizona.

What if I don’t own a car?

If you don’t own a car, you can get an SR-22 certificate by purchasing non-owner SR-22 insurance. Non-owner SR-22 auto insurance usually costs less than insurance policies for regular motor vehicle owners.

Reinstating your driver’s license in Arizona

You need to file an SR-22 before
getting an Arizona driver’s license reinstatement
. You’ll also need to pay a $10 reinstatement fee and a $10-$25 application fee, which are payable by credit card, cashier’s check, or money order.
[1]
Contact the MVD
to get started.

Do I need SR-22 insurance in Arizona?

If your
Arizona driver’s license
is suspended or revoked, you must file an SR-22 form (also known as a Certificate of Insurance) for at least three years. If you fail to maintain insurance coverage, your driving privileges will be suspended until you provide proof that you’re covered.
[2]
You may require an SR-22 if you:
An SR-22 policy isn’t the only way to satisfy the burden of proof of future financial responsibility. You can also present the MVD with a certificate from the Arizona Office of Treasurer showing a deposit of at least $40,000.

What’s the cost of SR-22 insurance in Arizona?

Auto insurance companies charge between $15 and $25 per year to file an SR-22 form on your behalf. An SR-22 can also increase your car insurance rates by 10-40% for the duration of the filing period.
Comparing auto insurance quotes is great, but don’t let the savings stop there. Call an insurance agent to see if your provider offers
car insurance discounts
such as:
  • Affiliation discounts, which reward members of partner organizations.
  • Continuous insurance discounts, which reward drivers without any lapses in their car insurance histories.
  • Good student discounts
    , which trade savings for a B average or better.
  • Home and auto insurance bundles
    , which provide a discount if you insure your car and home with the same provider.
  • Military discounts, which provide bonus savings to members of the military.
  • Multi-policy discounts, which award savings if you insure two or more products with the same provider.
  • Multi-vehicle discounts, which lower your bills if you insure two or more vehicles with the same provider.
  • Pay-in-full discounts, which reward policyholders who pay their insurance premiums in full at the start of their term.
The only way to lift your SR-22 requirement is to pass three years without committing any more traffic violations or allowing your car insurance coverage to lapse. We recommend signing up for a state-approved defensive driving course, which can help you polish your driving skills and earn a discount at the same time. 

FAQs

An SR-22 costs $15-$25 per year in filing fees, plus an increase of 10-40% to your car insurance rates. In practical terms, this means an average cost of $1,580-$2,016 per year for minimum liability coverage, up to $2,626-$3,368 for a full coverage car insurance policy.
SR-22 insurance isn’t insurance at all, but a form certifying that you’re carrying the minimum liability insurance coverage required in Arizona. Your auto insurance provider must file the form directly with the Arizona MVD; allowing your coverage to lapse will result in a license suspension.
High-risk drivers are required to file an SR-22 in Arizona for at least three years. Any cancellation or lapse in your insurance coverage will lead the AR MVD to suspend your driver’s license until you can provide proof of coverage. 
You need an SR-22 to reinstate your Arizona driver’s license if you’ve been convicted of a DUI, driving without insurance, or failing or refusing a drug or alcohol test. You’lll also need to pay a $10 license reinstatement fee, plus an application fee of $10-$25.

Sources

icon
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
4.7/5
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings