South Carolina Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Is minimum enough?
- Uninsured motorist registration
- Proof of financial responsibility
- Cheap insurance
South Carolina requires motorists to carry a minimum amount of insurance summarized as 25/50/25. This is short for: $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 of property liability per accident.
If you’re looking for car insurance in South Carolina and would rather leave the hard work of gathering quotes to someone else, use Jerry. This free app collects quotes from up to 50 top insurance companies in seconds! After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
Here is all the information that you need to know about South Carolina car insurance laws.
What car insurance is required by law in South Carolina?
South Carolina car insurance laws require drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage.
Motorists may be asked to provide valid proof of insurance to establish that they are carrying their required car insurance limits.
This is a brief summary of the minimum car insurance limits for South Carolina.
South Carolina minimum car insurance
|Minimum liability coverage||25/50/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway South Carolina motorists are required by the state to carry a minimum limit of liability insurance and proof of insurance when driving.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in South Carolina?
South Carolina’s minimum liability insurance limits are summarized as 25/50/25—which is an abbreviated way to describe three different categories of liability insurance.
Here is a more detailed explanation of what these limits mean:
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: $25,000 per person is the most that your insurance company will pay out to cover the cost of injuries in an at-fault accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: Your insurance provider will pay a maximum of $50,000 per accident to cover the cost of injuries to other parties involved if you cause an accident.
$25,000 in property damage liability per accident: $25,000 is the total amount per accident that your provider will pay to cover the costs of property damage for other parties involved in an at-fault accident.
Should I get more coverage than South Carolina’s required insurance minimum?
South Carolina’s minimum liability insurance requirements are about average—but they won’t provide you with any protection if you cause an accident. You will need to purchase additional options like comprehensive insurance, collision insurance, and medical payment coverage to help ensure your own costs are covered.
In addition, most insurance experts recommend upgrading your liability limits to 50/100/50 to help protect you against legal liability in a major claim.
The good news is that if you’re shopping for car insurance, Jerry will generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassle.
MORE: Lemon law South Carolina
What is the South Carolina uninsured motorist registration?
Drivers who are approved for South Carolina’s “uninsured motorist registration” are not required to purchase car insurance in South Carolina. They will, however, have to submit a non-refundable $550 fee in exchange.
Motorists in South Carolina may choose to apply for the uninsured motorist registration.
Tickets or traffic violations will cancel a membership, and any drivers who apply for the program will also be responsible for their own costs following an accident.
These are the requirements for South Carolina’s uninsured motorist registration:
- The applicant and other drivers in their household must have held a valid driver’s license for three years before applying
- You cannot have an SR-22 requirement when applying
- You cannot have any accidents or traffic violations on your record for three years prior to applying
Providing alternative proof of financial responsibility
South Carolina may accept alternate forms of proof of financial responsibility for drivers who do not want to purchase car insurance.
The South Carolina DMV may accept either a surety bond, real estate bond, or cash or security deposit as alternative proof of financial responsibility.
Key Takeaway South Carolina motorists might be able to opt for alternative forms of financial responsibility instead of signing up for the legal state car insurance minimums.
How to get cheap car insurance in South Carolina
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in South Carolina, download the free insurance shopping app Jerry. Jerry is your ultra-talented car insurance broker for life. It takes less than a minute to sign up and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from up to 50 top providers.
Once you make your choice,Jerry will handle all the legwork—taking care of switchovers, cancelations, and even handling your renewals so you don’t have to. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
“Using the Jerry app couldn’t be easier. I hate searching for car insurance—it’s time-consuming filling out endless quotes and trying to find the cheapest price. Jerry did all of that for me in a few minutes. Just tell them what coverage you’re looking for and they present you with multiple options to choose from. Even better, once you make your pick they do all the work so you don’t have to. What else could you ask for?”—Satisfied Jerry user
Is car insurance mandatory in South Carolina?
Yes. Car insurance is mandatory in the state of South Carolina.
Does insurance follow the car or driver in South Carolina?
Car insurance in South Carolina typically follows the car.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually