Oklahoma Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Liability insurance
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Additional coverage
- Cheap insurance
The state of Oklahoma legally requires motorists to carry a minimum amount of insurance that is summarized as 25/50/25. This stands for: $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 of property liability per accident.
If you’re looking for car insurance in Oklahoma, the free car insurance broker app Jerry is here to help.
Jerry is an intelligent insurance shopping app that will help you compare quotes and find cheap car insurance in Oklahoma fast. Jerry contacts your insurance company to get the details of your current coverage, so you don’t have to scale a mountain of questions.
You get all the best prices and coverage with none of the legwork. Jerry customers save an average of $879 a year.
Continue reading to learn all the information that you need to know about Oklahoma car insurance laws.
What car insurance is required by law in Oklahoma?
The state requires all motorists in Oklahoma to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage.
Drivers will also be expected to provide valid proof of insurance to establish that they are carrying the legal minimum car insurance limits. Keep in mind that anybody who leases or loans their vehicle may be required to have additional types of insurance as well.
Here is a summary of the minimum car insurance limits for Oklahoma.
Oklahoma minimum car insurance
|** Minimum liability coverage**||25/50/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway Oklahoma motorists must carry the legal minimum liability insurance and proof of insurance when driving.
Liability insurance in OK
Oklahoma drivers must carry both bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance. Liability insurance will help cover costs for the other party if you cause an accident—but it won’t go towards your own costs.
You will need to purchase additional insurance to ensure your expenses will be covered.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma’s minimum liability insurance limits can be summarized as 25/50/25. This number stands for three different categories of liability insurance.
The following is an explanation of how it all breaks down:
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your insurance company will pay out up to a limit of $25,000 per person for injuries caused by an at-fault accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: Your insurance company will pay out up to a limit of $50,000 to cover the total costs of injuries per accident if you are at fault.
$25,000 in property damage liability per accident: $25,000 is the total amount per accident your provider will cover for property damage if you cause an accident.
Should I get more coverage than Oklahoma’s required insurance minimum?
Oklahoma only requires drivers to carry liability insurance—which will never cover your costs if you cause an accident.
If you want to ensure that your car damage is covered, you will want to consider upgrading to full comprehensive insurance and collision insurance coverage.
While Oklahoma’s minimum liability requirements are about average, you might still want to increase your limits for added protection. An accident with multiple injuries or more than one vehicle could easily exceed the required state limits. Experts tend to recommend 50/100/50 limits for more robust protection.
If you are looking for an easy way to compare quotes and tailor your policy options, Jerry is a pocket broker app designed to find you the best rates fast. Forget filling out endless online forms.
It only takes 45 seconds or less to get access to a list of rates from top providers in your area. Once you make your selection, Jerry takes care of the legwork—canceling your old policy, switching you over, and handling your renewals.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Oklahoma?
Any Oklahoma motorist who is caught driving without proof of insurance could face penalties, including fines and possible jail time.
The penalties for driving without car insurance in Oklahoma
- A fine of $250 or more
- Possible jail time (up to 30 days)
- License plate seizure with $125 administrative fee to restore
Key Takeaway An Oklahoma motorist who is caught driving without insurance could face serious penalties like fines, jail time, or license plate seizure.
Additional coverage options
There are plenty of additional policy options available that Oklahoma drivers can take advantage of to upgrade their minimum required car insurance limits. Here are a few standard policy options that are typically available.
Medical payments (MedPay) insurance
MedPay protects any medical expenses for you and your passenger that result from an accident—no matter who is found to be at fault.
Collision insurance will help cover any damage to your car that results from a rollover or collision with another object, like a car or a tree.
Comprehensive insurance helps cover the cost of damage to your vehicle resulting from external events, like hail storms, tornados, floods, or theft.
Loan/Lease payoff insurance
Often called gap coverage—loan/lease payoff insurance will cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled car and the settlement you receive from your insurance company after an accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance will help cover your costs if you get in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t carry enough car insurance.
Roadside assistance insurance
Roadside assistance insurance (often referred to as towing and labor coverage) will provide you access to convenient emergency roadside services, like tows, tire changes, or battery boosts.
Rental car reimbursement insurance
Rental reimbursement insurance helps to cover the cost of a rental car or alternate transportation if your vehicle ends up in the shop after a claim.
How to get cheap car insurance in Oklahoma
Using the smart insurance shopping app Jerry is the best way to find cheap car insurance in the state of Oklahoma fast.
Whether you are looking for the most affordable rate on your minimum insurance limits or want to upgrade your policy options, Jerry will provide you with a list of competitive quotes in 45 seconds or less.
Just take your pick, and Jerry takes care of the rest—including canceling your old policy and switching you over. You’ll never have to print out anything, go to the post office, or get on the phone. Jerry handles it all. Really!
“I cannot express enough how amazing Jerry is! This app makes car insurance shopping easy. I dreaded searching for new insurance with a better rate because let’s face it—the whole process is daunting. Jerry took all the work out of getting quotes and helped me find the exact coverage I wanted at a price I needed. Switching was seamless, and Jerry took care of everything (including canceling the old policy) I had so I didn’t have to!”— Satisfied Jerry user
Is car insurance mandatory in Oklahoma?
Yes. All Oklahoma drivers are legally required to carry the state minimum liability car insurance limits of 25/50/25.
How long do you have to insure a car in Oklahoma?
If you buy a new car in Oklahoma, you will have a grace period of anywhere between 2-30 days to purchase your car insurance policy.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually