Ohio Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Liability insurance
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalty
- Additional coverage
- Cheap insurance
Ohio requires that all drivers carry a minimum amount of car insurance, summarized as 25/50/25. This breaks down to $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 of property liability per accident.
No matter what state you live in, if you want to find cheap car insurance fast, Jerry can help. Once you download Jerry, just answer a handful of questions that will take you roughly 45 seconds to complete, and you’ll immediately get car insurance quotes for coverage similar to your current plan.
Jerry has put together this guide to provide the information Ohio drivers need to know about car insurance minimums.
What car insurance is required by law in Ohio?
Ohio motorists must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage. To prove their coverage, drivers are required to always carry valid proof of insurance when out on the road.
Car lenders might also require drivers who finance their car to have additional full-coverage options.
The following is a basic breakdown of the minimum insurance limits that Ohio drivers must carry.
Ohio minimum car insurance
|** Minimum liability coverage**||25/50/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway All Ohio drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance, as well as valid proof of coverage.
Liability insurance in OH
The only type of insurance that Ohio drivers are legally required to carry is liability insurance. Both bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance will help cover the costs to the other party for an at-fault accident, but you will have to purchase additional insurance to cover your own costs.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Ohio?
In line with most other states, Ohio breaks its minimum liability insurance requirements down into three categories: bodily injury liability per person, bodily injury liability per accident, and property damage liability. The minimums are summarized as 25/50/25.
Here’s a more detailed breakdown of how it works:
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your provider will pay out up to $25,000 to cover the cost of injuries to the other party for each person injured in an at-fault accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of injuries to the other party if you cause an accident.
$25,000 in property damage liability per accident: Your provider will pay out up to $25,000 toward property damage for the other party if you cause an accident.
Should I get more coverage than Ohio’s required insurance minimum?
Ohio’s car insurance minimums fall in the average range compared to other states, but this level of coverage might not be sufficient.
Ohio only legally requires drivers to carry liability insurance that will cover the other party in an at-fault accident. If you cause an accident, you could be left on the hook for all the expenses relating to yourself and your party.
If you are looking for an easy way to find cheap car insurance and tailor your policy options, Jerry is a smart insurance shopping app that will make your life easier.
Just answer a few short questions, and Jerry can provide you with competitive quotes in under a minute. Swapping is just as effortless. Jerry takes care of all the paperwork and phone calls and even cancels your old policy on your behalf—oh, and ** it’s free**!
Key Takeaway Ohio’s minimum car insurance limits are about average when compared to other states. It would be a good idea to look over some additional coverage options.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Ohio?
Drivers in Ohio who cannot provide valid proof of insurance when asked by law enforcement could face severe penalties and fines.
These are the penalties for not having car insurance in Ohio
|Offense||Penalty||License plate and registration revoked||Drivers license revoked||FR-44 coverage|
|First||$50||Yes||Until requirements are met||3-5 years|
|Second||$50||Yes||One year||3-5 years|
|Subsequent||$50||Yes||Two years||3-5 years|
MORE: What is FR-44 insurance?
Additional coverage options
Ohio drivers who want to upgrade their minimum car insurance requirements to create a more robust policy have lots of great options to choose from—including the following:
Comprehensive insurance will reimburse you for damage to your car caused by non-collision events—like vandalism, floods, and hail, to name a few.
Collision insurance will reimburse drivers for the cost of damage to their car caused by a collision or rollover—regardless of who was at fault.
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage
MedPay helps cover the costs of medical expenses relating to a claimable accident—for you and your passengers.
Loan/Lease payoff coverage
This type of insurance is commonly referred to as gap coverage, and it will help cover the difference between a total payout and the money that you still owe on your totaled car.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance will reimburse you if you get in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t carry enough car insurance to cover your costs.
Roadside assistance coverage
Commonly referred to as towing and labor coverage, this standard policy rider provides drivers with access to roadside assistance services, like tows, jump starts, and fuel delivery.
Rental car reimbursement coverage
Rental reimbursement insurance will reimburse you up to a certain limit for costs relating to rental cars or alternate transportation while your vehicle is being repaired following a claim.
How to get cheap car insurance in Ohio
No matter where you live in the state of Ohio, Jerry will help you find car insurance savings without having to sacrifice coverage.
Jerry is a free insurance broker app that will give you access to a list of quotes from top providers in just 45 seconds or less. Once you make your pick, Jerry handles the switchover, cancelations, and renewals so you know you are always getting the best rate for the policy options you want to have.
No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
“After more than 11 years with one insurance provider, it was time to look for better savings. Thankfully, we found Jerry. Jerry quickly hooked us up with great rates from a reputable company that would provide the same coverage for an annual savings of over $2000. Thanks, Jerry!”—Satisfied Jerry user
Is Ohio a no-fault state for auto insurance?
No. Ohio is considered an at-fault or tort state for car insurance.
Is it mandatory to have car insurance in Ohio?
Yes. All Ohio drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage summarized as 25/50/25.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually