North Dakota Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- PIP insurance
- Underinsured/uninsured motorist
- Liability insurance
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Additional coverage
- Cheap insurance
North Dakota drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of car insurance, summarized as 25/50/25, standing for: $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $25,000 of property liability per accident.
Drivers in this no-fault state must also carry a minimum limit of $25,000 bodily injury per person and $50,000 bodily injury per accident in ** uninsured motorist coverage** as well as $30,000 per person in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
If you’re looking for the easiest way to find car insurance in North Dakota, take advantage of an intelligent AI-based tool like Jerry.
It is the easiest and most effective way to find an affordable car insurance policy that is customized for you. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
Jerry has put together this guide on all the information you need to know about North Dakota car insurance laws.
What car insurance is required by law in North Dakota?
The state of North Dakota requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP).
North Dakota drivers also need to have a valid form of proof of insurance on hand when they are behind the wheel.
Here is a detailed breakdown of the minimum insurance limits that North Dakota car insurance laws require.
North Dakota minimum car insurance
|** Type of coverage**||Minimum insurance limit|
|Minimum liability coverage||25/50/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage||25/50|
|Bodily injury per person||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per accident||$50,000|
|Personal injury protection per person||$30,000|
Key Takeaway Drivers in North Dakota are required to carry a minimum amount of liability, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection insurance when driving.
What is personal injury protection (PIP) insurance?
Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage kicks in to cover personal expenses, like medical costs, rehabilitation expenses, and lost wages that are associated with a claimable accident.
North Dakota is a no-fault insurance state, meaning that drivers will have to carry a certain amount of personal injury protection insurance.
If you carry PIP insurance, your insurance company will pay out up to your policy limit, regardless of who was at fault.
North Dakota drivers are required to carry at least $30,000 per person in PIP insurance. Most insurance companies will give you the option to increase your PIP coverage limits if you want added protection.
What is underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage?
If you get in an accident caused by an at-fault driver who doesn’t have enough insurance to pay for your lost wages or medical costs, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will kick in to cover the expenses. North Dakota requires drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Liability insurance in ND
North Dakota drivers have to carry both of the two main types of liability insurance: bodily injury liability and property damage liability. Liability car insurance helps protect drivers from legal liability if they are found to be at fault in an accident.
Liability insurance only applies to the other party if you cause an accident. You will need to buy additional insurance coverage to protect against your own expenses.
Key Takeaway Drivers in no-fault states like North Dakota still have to carry a minimum amount of bodily injury and property damage liability insurance to protect themselves from legal liability.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in North Dakota?
North Dakota drivers need to carry basic liability insurance limits that are summed up as 25/50/25. They also need to have a minimum amount of uninsured motorist and personal injury protection insurance.
In all, North Dakota drivers need to carry six types of coverages.
Here is a more detailed breakdown of the minimum insurance requirements in North Dakota and what they protect against.
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your insurance company will pay up to $25,000 per person to help cover the cost of injuries if you are at fault in an accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of the other party’s injuries if you cause an accident.
$25,000 in property damage liability per accident: Your insurance company will pay up to $25,000 to cover the cost of property damage for other parties if you cause an accident.
$25,000 of bodily injury uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance per person: Your insurance company will pay up to $20,000 per person to cover medical expenses for your party if the other driver doesn’t have insurance.
$50,000 of bodily injury uninsured motorist coverage per accident: $50,000 is the maximum uninsured/underinsured motorist payout you can receive to cover medical expenses for a single accident.
$30,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance per person: $30,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover your expenses related to an accident regardless of who was at fault in an accident.
Should I get more coverage than North Dakota’s required insurance minimum?
North Dakota requires drivers to carry a relatively diverse range of insurance coverage options that will help cover a range of expenses associated with an accident; however, many insurance experts recommend doubling the minimum North Dakota liability limits to 50/100/50 to provide an added layer of protection.
For example, if you cause an accident where multiple people are injured, the $50,000 per accident liability limit could easily fall short—leaving you vulnerable to lawsuits.
North Dakota minimum insurance requirements will not cover damage to your car if you cause an accident. Only comprehensive insurance and collision insurance will leave your car fully protected.
If you are looking for an easy way to find affordable tailored coverage options fast, the car insurance shopping app Jerry is a handy pocket broker that will make your life easier.
Just download the app and fill out a few short questions and Jerry will automatically provide you with an easily customizable list of quotes. Once you make your pick, Jerry takes care of the switchover, cancelations, and renewals so that you don’t have to. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on their car insurance—and Jerry is free!
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in North Dakota?
The state of North Dakota takes driving without proof of insurance seriously and any driver caught without proof of insurance might have to pay fines or even face jail time.
Penalties for not having car insurance in North Dakota
|First Offense||Additional offenses within the same year|
|Fines from $150 to $1000||Fines from $300 to $5000|
|License suspension||License suspension|
|$50 in reinstatement fees||$50 in reinstatement fees|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
|Mandatory SR-22 for one year||Mandatory SR-22|
|Possibility of jail time|
Key Takeaway Drivers caught without car insurance in North Dakota can expect to face potentially severe penalties like licenses suspensions, fines, or possible jail time.
Additional coverage options
North Dakota drivers who want improve their car insurance coverage have plenty of options to choose from.
Collision coverage will help cover the costs of damage to your car after a collision with another object or rollover—regardless of who is found to be at fault.
Comprehensive coverage protects you from the cost of damage to your car caused by external events, like storms, floods, or fires.
Rental car reimbursement insurance
Rental reimbursement coverage will help ensure you don’t have to shoulder the total cost of alternate transportation if your car needs repairs after a claim.
Roadside assistance coverage (aka towing and labor coverage) is a standard policy rider that gives you access to helpful emergency roadside services, such as gas deliveries, lockout services, and towing.
Gap coverage will cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled car and the payout you receive from your insurance company after an accident. MORE: The top 10 most expensive cars to insure
How to get cheap car insurance in North Dakota
If you want to save money on car insurance in North Dakota, Jerry is the intelligent insurance broker app that will find you the cheap coverage you need and want fast.
Jerry does all the hard work of finding the car insurance quotes online from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance, so you don’t have to. Jerry will even cancel your old policy and handle your renewals.
Not surprisingly, this outstanding level of free service has earned Jerry a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
“Jerry cut my car insurance rate by almost half! It only took minutes before they had found me a list of offers from different insurance companies. I was paying $172/month for my car insurance. Now I’m paying $96/month. 5/5—easy recommendation!”—Jerry user
Is North Dakota a no-fault insurance state?
Yes. North Dakota is one of 12 no-fault states where drivers are required to purchase PIP insurance to help cover expenses related to an accident, no matter who is at fault.
Do you need car insurance in North Dakota?
Yes. Drivers in North Dakota must carry a minimum amount of liability, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection coverage.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually