North Carolina Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum coverage
- Liability insurance
- No insurance penalties
- Additional coverage
- Cheap insurance
North Carolina requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, summarized as 30/60/25. This breaks down to $30,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $60,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $25,000 of property liability per accident for either type of coverage.
If you’d rather leave the hard work of gathering North Carolina car insurance quotes online to someone else, use the free car insurance shopping app, Jerry.
Jerry is your uber-talented pocket car insurance broker—for life! It takes less than a minute to sign up, and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from up to 45 top providers.
Keep reading to learn all the information you need to know about your car insurance minimums in North Carolina—including what they actually cover.
What insurance do I need in North Carolina?
North Carolina motorists must carry a minimum amount of liability coverage and uninsured motorist insurance on their car when driving. Motorists must also be able to show proof of insurance?.
This is a brief summary of the minimum insurance requirements for North Carolina.
Required North Carolina minimum car insurance
|** Type of coverage**||Minimum insurance limit|
|Minimum liability coverage||30/60/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage||30/60/25|
|Bodily injury per person||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per accident||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway North Carolina drivers must carry minimum limits of both liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage as well as valid proof of insurance when behind the wheel.
Liability insurance in NC
There are two main types of liability insurance, bodily injury liability and property damage liability, and North Carolina drivers are required to carry both of them. Bodily injury liability and property damage liability will help cover costs for the other party if you cause an accident; however, they won’t cover your own costs.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in North Carolina?
North Carolina takes car insurance violations seriously, and drivers caught without insurance could face penalties, including license plate revocation and fines.
Any vehicle owner caught driving without insurance will receive a notification from the state DMV. After receiving that notification, the car owner will only have 10 days to respond and avoid the following repercussions.
The penalties for driving without car insurance in North Carolina
- License plate revocation
- Reinstatement fees
- $100 fine for a second offense
- $150 fine for any subsequent offenses
Key Takeaway North Carolina drivers that are caught without proof of insurance could have their license plate revoked and face fines and reinstatement fees.
Additional coverage options
North Carolina drivers who want to upgrade their minimum car insurance requirements have plenty of great options to choose from that will help make their policy more durable and robust.
Comprehensive insurance covers damage to your car caused by non-collision events, like fires, floods, severe weather, and theft.
Collision insurance covers damage to your car following a rollover or collision—no matter who is found to be at fault.
Medical payments (MedPay) insurance
MedPay is designed to help cover any medical expenses for you and your passengers resulting from a claim, regardless of who is at fault.
Gap coverage will cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled car and the settlement you receive from your insurance following an accident.
New car replacement insurance
New car replacement insurance will ensure that a new vehicle that is totaled is replaced with a car of a similar make and model year, so you don’t have to worry about dealing with depreciation in your payout.
Towing and labor insurance
Towing and labor coverage will help cover the cost of standard emergency roadside services, like fuel deliveries, tire changes, or towing services.
Rental car reimbursement insurance
Rental reimbursement insurance helps to cover the cost of a rental car if your car requires multi-day repairs after a car insurance claim.
How to get cheap car insurance in North Carolina
If you are looking for a free and easy way to save money on car insurance in North Carolina, download the Jerry app.
A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance. Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you.
And to ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal, so you’re always getting the coverage you want at the best price. This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
“I can’t believe Jerry actually found me car insurance in my price range! Using Jerry was quick, easy, and painless—and the best part was enjoying the money I saved. I’m saving almost $150/month. I can’t wait until Jerry helps me shop for new savings on my renewal!”— Satisfied Jerry user
Are you required to have car insurance in North Carolina?
Yes, drivers in North Carolina are required to carry a minimum amount of liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, summarized as 30/60/25. This breaks down to $30,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $60,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $25,000 of property liability per accident for either type of coverage.
Is North Carolina a no-fault car insurance state?
No. North Carolina is an at-fault or tort insurance state.
Does North Carolina insurance follow the car or the driver?
North Carolina insurance follows the car, not the driver.
Do I need more than the minimum insurance in North Carolina?
Legally, you are only required to carry the state minimum coverage in North Carolina—but if you loan or lease your car, you might have to purchase full coverage options like comprehensive insurance or collision insurance.
If you want to find the lowest price on your minimum coverage or upgrade your policy, Jerry is the free car insurance shopping app that will help you find the best rates fast.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually