Nevada Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • Minimum requirements
  • Liability coverage
  • Limits
  • Is minimum enough?
  • No insurance penalties
  • Optional coverage
  • Where to buy?
  • FAQs
Nevada law requires that all drivers have liability coverage with limits of $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
Purchasing the mandatory minimum car insurance is about more than just staying within the letter of the law. If you get into an accident and you don’t have enough insurance coverage, you could find yourself in serious financial trouble.
With a car insurance comparison app like Jerry on your side, there’s no reason to forego insurance. Jerry will help you find the lowest rates on car insurance—and do all the heavy lifting for you. You’ll get all the savings with none of the usual hassles.
Here’s all you need to know about Nevada car insurance laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Find savings (100% Free)

Car insurance requirements in Nevada

All drivers in Nevada must have a minimum amount of liability coverage. Here are the requirements for liability coverage in Nevada:
Minimum liability coverage: 25/50/20
$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 bodily injury per accident
$20,000 property damage per accident

Liability coverage in Nevada

Liability coverage covers the medical expenses and property damage of others when you are at fault in an accident. This includes things like the cost of another driver repairing their vehicle or another driver’s ambulance bill after a bad collision where you were responsible.
Liability coverage does not cover your property damage or medical expenses in an at-fault accident.
Key Takeaway All Nevada drivers must have liability coverage following a 25/50/20 pattern to drive legally.

State-mandated car insurance limits

A car insurance “limit” is the maximum amount your provider will pay for a particular coverage category. The state-mandated limits for liability insurance in Nevada follow a 25/50/20 pattern:
  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person means your provider will pay no more than $25,000 in bodily injury costs per person in one single accident
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident means your provider will pay no more than $50,000 in bodily injury costs in total for one single accident
  • $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident means your provider will pay no more than $20,000 in property damage costs for one single accident

Do Nevada’s required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?

Nevada’s required car insurance minimums are comparable with most other states—but it’s always a good idea to purchase more than the bare minimum for the state in which you drive.
Insurance limits can easily be hit if you are in a bad collision. For instance, a $20,000 property damage limit can be exhausted quickly if you cause a collision with a brand new vehicle. Similarly, a $50,000 bodily injury limit can be reached quickly if you cause a collision that harms multiple passengers.
Remember—after you hit an insurance limit, you are liable for the remaining costs out of pocket. It’s a good idea to purchase higher limits so that in the case of a bad collision, you aren’t on the hook to cover damages or expenses you can’t afford.
Liability coverage only covers others when you are at fault. You can purchase additional types of coverage—such as personal injury protection (PIP)—to take care of your expenses after an at-fault accident.
Key Takeaway While Nevada’s limits are comparable to other states, you’d do best to consider purchasing higher liability limits and additional types of insurance coverage.

Penalties for driving without insurance in Nevada

Nevada has a complex system for penalizing those who get behind the wheel uninsured. Driving without insurance is illegal in Nevada. Here are the penalties:

First offense

Length of insurance lapse1-30 days31-90 days91-180 days181 days or more
Reinstatement fee$251$251$251$251
Finenone$250$500$1,000
SR-22 requirementnonenoneyesyes
Total cost$251$501$751$1,251

Second offense (within 5 years)

Length of insurance lapse1-30 days31-90 days91-180 days181 days or more
Reinstatement fee$501$501$501$501
Finenone$500$500$1,000
SR-22 requirementnonenoneyesyes
Total cost$501$1,001$1,001$1,501

Third offense (within 5 years)

Length of insurance lapse1-30 days31-90 days91-180 days181 days or more
Reinstatement fee$751$751$751$751
Finenone$500$750$1,000
SR-22 requirementyesyesyesyes
License suspension30+ days30+ days30+ days30+ days
Total cost$501$1,001$1,001$1,501
Key Takeaway Driving without insurance in Nevada is illegal. Penalties for driving without insurance can include reinstatement fees, fines, SR-22 filing, and license suspension.

Optional auto insurance coverage in Nevada

On top of liability coverage, which you must have to drive legally in Nevada, you should consider purchasing additional coverage. Here are some options for optional coverage that can be helpful:

Where to buy car insurance in Nevada

Looking to get car insurance in Nevada? Jerry can help you with all your car insurance needs!
Jerry is a car insurance comparison app that helps you find the lowest rates for your insurance by doing all the comparison shopping for you. Simply spend less than a minute putting in your information and then shop away.
Jerry handles all the calls and paperwork and will even help you cancel your old policy if you decide to switch over. And not only is Jerry unbelievably convenient—the average Jerry user saves nearly $900 per year on their car insurance!
“Jerry saved me $640 every 6 months—with my current insurer! There are agents backing the process and no nagging phone calls. This is the real deal.” —Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Find savings (100% Free)

FAQs

Is car insurance mandatory in Nevada?

Yes. All Nevada drivers must have liability coverage—$25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident.

Is Nevada a no-fault insurance state?

No, Nevada is an at-fault state, which means that the person who is at fault in a collision (and/or their insurer) is liable to cover all damages resulting from the accident.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies