Maine Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum coverage
- No-fault state?
- No insurance penalties
- Additional coverage
- Cheap insurance
Load full table of contents
If you are a Maine driver, you must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage set by the state.
The liability insurance minimums for Maine are summarized as 50/100/25 (meaning $50,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $100,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $2500 of property liability per accident.
Drivers must also carry a minimum limit of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage and $2000 in medical payment coverage.
The car insurance shopping app Jerry has compiled all the information you need to know about Maine car insurance laws—including what is covered and what isn’t.
If you’re looking for a great price on your car insurance policy, Jerry can provide you with competitive quotes in under a minute.
Swapping is just as effortless. Jerry takes care of all the paperwork and phone calls and even cancels your old policy on your behalf—and it’s free!
Continue reading to learn more about minimum car insurance laws in Maine.
What insurance do I need in Maine?
Maine drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability coverage, uninsured motorist insurance, and personal injury protection. Maine drivers will have to purchase a variety of minimum insurance types to meet state requirements—but they can also buy additional insurance if they choose.
Here is a summary of the minimum insurance requirements for Maine.
Required Maine minimum car insurance
|** Type of coverage**||**Minimum insurance limit**|
|**Minimum liability coverage**||**30/60/25**|
|Bodily injury per accident||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
|**Uninsured motorist coverage**||**30/60/25**|
|Bodily injury per person||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per accident||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Liability insurance in ME
The minimum liability insurance limits in Maine will help protect you from lawsuits if you are found at fault in an accident. In tort states like Maine, the at-fault driver is responsible for covering the other driver’s expenses. Liability insurance will help cover these costs, but it won’t cover your costs.
Why isn’t Maine considered a no-fault state?
There are only 12 states that operate on the no-fault insurance system, and Maine is not one of them. Drivers in no-fault states are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, but this is not required in Maine.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Maine?
If you are caught driving without proof of insurance in Maine, you will face fines between $100 and $500. If you can’t provide valid proof of insurance within 30 days, your registration may be revoked and your license could be suspended.
Key Takeaway Driving without insurance in Maine is illegal, and you could face fines or license suspensions if you can’t produce proof.
Additional coverage options
The minimum state insurance limits required by Maine are higher than most other states. However, it is still a good idea to consider increasing your limits or purchasing additional coverage options to make your policy more robust.
For instance, you will be left without coverage for property damage to your car if you are at fault unless you purchase additional collision insurance.
Meanwhile, the minimum medical payment coverage limit of $2000 will help cover medical expenses for you and your passengers, regardless of fault, but it might not be enough coverage.
Drivers in Maine can choose from various options to upgrade their car insurance policy, including the following.
Additional medical payments (MedPay) insurance
Medical payment insurance will help cover medical expenses for you, your family, and your passengers if you get in an accident. The $2000 state-required limit might not be enough, so you might want to supplement your coverage.
Collision insurance will help cover the cost of the damage to your car after a rollover or collision while driving.
Comprehensive insurance will help cover the cost of non-collision-related damage caused by events like vandalism, fires, or storms.
If your loaned or leased car is totaled after an accident, gap insurance will help make up the difference between your payout and any additional money you owe on your loan.
New car replacement insurance
If you drive a new car, new car replacement insurance will allow you to replace it with a similar new model if your vehicle is totaled.
Rideshare insurance will provide coverage for rideshare drivers where their company policy falls short.
Key Takeaway Maine requires drivers to carry more insurance than most states, but supplementing your policy will help fill in any gaps in your coverage.
How to get cheap car insurance in Maine
If you are looking for an easy way to save money on your car insurance without having to sacrifice coverage, using Jerry is the smarter way to shop.
It’s this simple: download the Jerry app or go to getjerry.com. In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from up to 45 top insurance companies, and Jerry takes care of the rest -- securing your new policy and canceling your old one.
Even better, the savings keep coming even after Jerry finds you great insurance at the lowest price. Before every policy renewal period, you’ll be presented with new competitive quotes, which means you’ll always have the best coverage at the best price. No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
"Who knew answering ten questions could save you $1,800 a year? I’m blown away! I had no idea I was getting taken advantage of by my auto insurer; I just thought it was that expensive. Jerry got me the same coverage for $150 less a month. Thanks, Jerry!"—Satisfied Jerry user
Do you need to have car insurance in Maine?
Yes. Anybody who owns a car or drives in Maine needs to have at least the minimum state coverage limits.
Is Maine a no-fault state?
No. Maine is an at-fault or tort insurance state—meaning the at-fault driver is responsible for covering the costs of an accident.
Does Maine insurance follow the car or the driver?
Car insurance in Maine usually follows the car. However, you want to be sure that you are listed on the policy or have explicit permission to drive before using somebody else’s car.
Do I need more than the minimum insurance in Maine?
No. You will not be fined for carrying less than the minimum insurance in Maine—but purchasing supplemental insurance will provide coverage where state requirements fall short. You can use the car insurance shopping app Jerry to get the coverage you need at prices you can afford.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually