Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- Minimum coverage
- Proof of insurance
- Liability insurance
- How minimums work
- Additional coverage
- No insurance
- Common add-ons
- Diminished value claims in Idaho
- Importance of laws
- Get cheaper rates with Jerry
- Insurance for new cars Idaho
Load full table of contents
Idaho car insurance laws require drivers carry liability insurance that meets the mandatory minimum requirements to legally drive in the state.
Of course, it’s highly recommended to purchase more than the minimum to protect yourself from out-of-pocket costs and shield your financial assets should you be involved in an accident.
Thankfully, we live in an era where finding excellent car insurance at affordable prices is effortless. Just sign up with Jerry and watch the car insurance quotes come fast and furious!
Sign up takes a fleeting 45 seconds, and then you’ll be able to easily sort through more than 40 competitive quotes from the country’s top insurers. All that’s left to do is make your pick and Jerry will do the rest, including canceling your old policy for you.
So, read up on Idaho’s car insurance laws, get your insurance, and then hit the open road!
Idaho’s minimum car insurance requirements
As mentioned, you must carry liability insurance if you want to drive in Idaho. You’ll also need to meet the state’s minimum requirements, as follows:
|Idaho Minimum Car Insurance Requirements|
|$25,000 per person bodily injury|
|$50,000 per accident bodily injury|
|$15,000 per accident property damage|
Now remember—these are minimums and it is always a good idea to buy more insurance than required, as medical and damage bills can rise quickly after an accident.
If you are leasing or financing a car, you may be required by the lienholder to buy more than the state minimums. While they are protecting their investment, added insurance protects you and other drivers on the road, too.
Key Takeaway It is always a good idea to buy more insurance than your state requires for better protection for you, your passengers, and other drivers.
Proof of insurance laws in Idaho
If you’re driving in Idaho, you must carry proof of insurance at all times. An Idaho State Trooper will be none too pleased if you’re pulled over and try to explain away your missing proof of insurance.
Once you’ve failed to convince the Trooper that your dog ate your insurance card (your dog maintains they have a much more refined palate than that, come on!), you’ll likely face penalties for driving without proof of insurance.
In Idaho, you’ll first get a warning if you can’t show proof of two consecutive months of being insured. You’ll then have 30 days to demonstrate proof of insurance. If you fail to do so, your registration may be revoked—unless you qualify for an exemption.
Key Takeaway You must show two consecutive months’ proof of insurance in Idaho or risk having your registration suspended.
Idaho and liability insurance
In Idaho, liability insurance is mandatory for all drivers.
If you’re in an at-fault accident, your liability coverage protects the other driver involved in the collision. This type of insurance covers any lost wages, property damage, or medical bills as a result of your at-fault actions.
The details of Idaho’s mandated car insurance minimums
Idaho’s mandated minimums are the least amount of insurance you’re required to carry. The minimums you carry are also the limits of what your insurer will pay out if you’re in an accident and file a claim.
So—the higher your minimums, the more your insurer pays out in a claim.
In Idaho, the minimum splits are 25/50/15. Here’s what this means if you carry Idaho’s state minimums.
Coverage for $25,000 of bodily injury per person: This is the max amount your insurer will pay out for injuries suffered by one person in an accident that you’re responsible for.
Coverage for $50,000 of bodily injury per accident: That’s the total amount your insurer shells out for all injuries suffered in an accident you caused.
Coverage for $15,000 of property damage per accident: This is the limit an insurer will spend to cover any property damage in an accident where you are at fault.
Do Idaho’s minimums provide enough coverage?
Idaho’s minimums are comparable to many other states, but that doesn’t mean they’re enough to protect you in case of an accident.
Buying more than a state’s minimums is always encouraged and can usually be done with only a small increase in your premiums. In reality, Idaho’s minimums won’t offer much protection if you’re found to be at fault in a serious collision.
For example, if you cause serious injuries to one person in an accident, medical bills can go up fast—$25,000 can be gone in an instant if the injured party needs significant or long-term medical care.
Likewise, if more than one person sustains serious injuries from an accident caused by you, $50,000 in liability insurance per accident may not go very far. In such a case, once your insurer hits this limit, any outstanding costs will be your responsibility.
In terms of property damage, carrying just $15,000 in liability may not help if the accident you cause results in serious damage to another driver’s car or property.
This amount doesn’t even cover the cost of a new car. If you total another person’s car, you’ll be on the hook for any remaining costs once you hit your limit.
Key Takeaway Idaho’s state insurance minimums are starting points. It is always a good idea to buy more insurance than required to protect yourself and your financial assets.
Penalties for going without minimums in Idaho
Driving without insurance in Idaho is against the law, and there are penalties beyond an initial warning if you’re caught without the required insurance or proof of insurance.
Once you’ve been warned, you have 30 days to acquire proof of insurance, as Idaho requires all drivers be able to show at least two consecutive months of being insured. If you can’t prove this, you risk your registration being suspended.
Reinstating a suspended registration
If your registration is suspended, you’ll need to provide the state proof of insurance that you were missing before, along with a $75 fine.
You may be forced to obtain SR22 insurance. If your registration has been revoked, this is a certificate filed by your insurer with the state to prove that you do indeed have the insurance mandated by law.
If you violate Idaho’s car insurance laws again within five years of your first violation, you may face a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to six months in the slammer.
Optional car insurance add-ons in Idaho
So, by now you should know that liability insurance is required to drive in Idaho. But let’s look at the options most insurers provide to ensure you’ve got excellent protection as you motor through The Gem State.
|Collision insurance||Covers damages to your car from an accident with another vehicle or a fixed object|
|Comprehensive insurance||Protects your car if damaged by **non-collision** threats such as vandalism, theft, weather damage, or animal damage|
|Uninsured motorist||Pays for your medical bills and any property damage you suffer as a result of an accident if the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance|
Diminished value claims in Idaho
Drivers in Idaho can make diminished value claims that will help them recover losses to the value of their vehicle after a claim. If you sell your car after an accident, you can make a diminished value claim through the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
A car will lose some of its resale value after an accident—even after it is restored to the same condition that it was in before the accident.
Idaho is one of 15 states that allow drivers to make diminished value claims so you can recoup any lost value if you decide to sell your car after a claim.
Why follow Idaho’s car insurance laws?
It is illegal to drive in Idaho without liability coverage—that’s why!
After all, driving with robust insurance coverage protects you, your passengers, your car, and other drivers in case of collision. If anything, that’s peace of mind that anyone could use.
If you’re worried that buying excellent coverage is more than you can afford, think again.
Get great coverage in Idaho at a cheaper rate
Jerry has revolutionized the car insurance-buying process.
Signing up takes less than a minute, and then this AI-powered app can generate competitive quotes from more than 50 top insurers. Once you find a great car insurance policy at a low price, Jerry will sign you up and cancel your old policy for you. And at each renewal period, Jerry will search on your behalf for similar or better coverage at a lower price!
Best of all? Jerry is free to use!
"How is this real?! In the middle of tears and stress, I got an ad for this and figured I had nothing to lose. I was making breakfast and by the end I was saving $125 a month in insurance! I am so thankful for this app!" —Jerry user
How long do I have to get insurance on a new car in Idaho?
In Idaho, you have a grace period of 2 to 30 days before you’ll need to add your new vehicle to your existing car insurance plan.
If you’re not currently insured, you’ll need to prove you have liability insurance before a dealer will let you drive the car off the lot.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually