How to Get a Rebuilt Title in New Jersey

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
To get a rebuilt title In
New Jersey
you’ll need to first apply for a $60 salvage title, restore it to a roadworthy condition, pass a $200
state inspection
, and pay a $60 rebuilt titling fee for a total minimum of $320 plus
car repair
  • Salvage title cars are illegal to drive in the state without completing the New Jersey rebuilt titling process.
  • Take pictures before you begin the repair process and be sure to keep receipts for replacement parts to submit at your New Jersey salvage inspection.
  • Expect your New Jersey rebuilt title to arrive in three to four weeks after you’ve submitted the necessary documents to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
If your heart is set on getting a rebuilt title in New Jersey, prepare yourself for a lengthy and costly process. While the opportunity to rebuild a vehicle can be exciting and rewarding, repairs are expensive and the turnaround time for the title takes a while. 

New Jersey rebuilt titles: the basics

A car with a
rebuilt title
essentially certifies that it was once declared a total loss by an insurance company but has since been refurbished to safe driving specifications. These vehicles will first be issued a salvage title, which deems the vehicle as totaled and unsafe to drive. 
Why it matters: If you intend to register or drive a salvage vehicle in the state of New Jersey, you’ll need to first
get the salvage title rebranded
as a rebuilt title. Getting a rebuilt title won’t erase a rebuilt car’s history, but it certifies that the car has been deemed safe and legal to drive.
Technically it’s completely legal to sell a vehicle with a salvage title to someone eager to make repairs—a salvaged vehicle may be considered a pretty great deal to certain buyers. However, most buyers are wary of cars with salvage titles.

Step 1: Apply for a New Jersey salvage title 

If you don’t already have a salvage certificate of title, you’ll need to apply for one at a
New Jersey Vehicle Center
. You must
schedule an appointment
in advance and bring the following:
  • The original
    vehicle title
    (which must be assigned by you and stamped by your insurance company)
  • An
    Insurance Listing Sheet
    (BA-28), already filled out by your auto insurance company  
  • A completed
    Salvage Title Application
  • Proof of lien satisfaction (if applicable)
  • Payment for the $60 title fee
$25 penalty fee: There is an additional $25 penalty fee if there is a
car lien
or if the request is received 10 days after the date of sale shown on the back of the totaled car’s title.

Step 2: Make the necessary repairs to your salvage title car

Once you have a salvage title in hand, you can start your car repairs. Take the following steps throughout the rebuilding process:
  • Carefully read the
    Salvage Vehicle Information
    form (OS/SS-4) so that your vehicle is up-to-date with state standards. 
  • Take photos of the car before starting repairs.
  • Research and compare costs for professional mechanics in your area, unless you plan on handling repairs on your own.
  • Keep all reciepts for replacement parts used throughout the repairs.

Step 3: Pass a salvage vehicle inspection

After making repairs to your salvage title vehicle, hand in the following items to your nearest
salvage title service location
or mail to the address on the information document: 
Read the forms: Call to schedule your salvage inspection appointment at an approved inspection station listed on the OS/SS-3 application form. Once scheduled, fax copies of the required items on the OS/SS-4 form to your inspection site. 
Bring the following items with you to your salvage inspection
  • Your New Jersey salvage title
  • Your completed Salvage Inspection Application form
  • A
    bill of sale
    for all major component part replacements
  • Photographs of the vehicle before and after repairs (a damage report will suffice if you don’t have the before pictures)
  • Work order (VINs for the parts and repair details)
  • Insurance damage report
Once your rebuilt salvage car passes its rebuilt inspection, you can apply for your new rebuilt vehicle title!

Step 4: Essential documents for a rebuilt New Jersey title

Head to your local New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) office to apply for a rebuilt title in the same way that you would handle
registering and titling a new vehicle
. Be sure to bring the following documents:
  • Salvage title
  • $60 title fee
  • Photos of all sides of the vehicle (before and after repairs)
  • Parts receipts with full vehicle description (year, make, VIN) and the work order
  • Damage report from the car insurance company 
What to expect: Your New Jersey rebuilt title should arrive in about 15 to 20 days, but it could take up to a month.
“I was nervous to buy insurance for my first car because I had heard horror stories about the insurance prices in New York. After not even two minutes, I found four quotes from
under $125/month. By the end of the night, I was on the road safe and insured!” —Reuben R. 
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings


A rebuilt car isn’t necessarily bad in New Jersey, but the rebuilt title signifies that the vehicle has sustained a lot of damage and may be hiding issues. As such, the actual cash value of the vehicle is much less compared to a comparable model with a
clean title
New Jersey drivers seeking a rebuilt title may need to pay the following fees:
  • Salvage title fee: $60
  • 10-day late penalty fee: $25
  • Salvage vehicle inspection fee: $200
  • Rebuilt title fee: $60
Don’t forget to take the cost of your car repairs into account, too!

By Maxine Boyko
Expert Insurance Writer
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings