How to Get a Mississippi Learners Permit

You can apply for a temporary permit or a driver’s ed permit at age 15. Here’s what you need to know before you show up at the DPS.
Written by Bonnie Stinson
Reviewed by Shannon Martin
, you can get a learner’s permit (aka temporary permit) at age 15—or 14, while enrolled in a driver’s ed course. You’ll need to pass a test, provide proof of school enrollment, and pay $7 to get your permit.
  • At 14, you can get a temporary driver’s ed permit if you enroll in driver’s ed
  • At 15, you can get a learner’s permit with proof of school enrollment
  • To get your learner’s permit, you must pay $7 and submit paperwork that proves your identity
  • Young drivers are subject to certain limitations in Mississippi

How to get a Mississippi learner’s permit

You must be at least 15 years old to qualify for a Mississippi learner’s permit. You must also be able to provide proof of school enrollment.
Firstly, figure out which type of learner’s permit in Mississippi you qualify for.
The two main types are the Driver Education Temporary Permit and the regular Temporary Permit.
Driver Education Temporary Permit: A full-time secondary student enrolled in grades 9, 10, 11, or 12 and at least 14 years old may apply for this permit. This instructional permit is only available to students enrolled in an approved driver education course, although no 14-year-old may take a test for a Temporary Permit without behind-the-wheel instruction. This permit is valid for one year and, if the driver is under 15, it’s only valid while accompanied by a driving instructor.
Temporary Permit: All drivers over the age of 15 who don’t have a license must get this permit before taking the driving test. It is valid for 12 months from the date of issue. This permit will be stamped “LPDE” if the driver participates in a driver education course. Once the driver has held their permit for at least six months, they can road test for an intermediate license.
The intermediate license is a third type of permit in Mississippi’s graduated licensing system. This permit allows young drivers to legally drive between 6 AM and 10 PM without a licensed driver. However, between 10 PM and 6 AM, these drivers can only drive when accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 in the front seat. The intermediate license is valid for six months or until the driver turns 17, at which point they can apply for a full unrestricted license.
Are you 17 or older? If so, you are not required to hold a permit for 12 months. You can get your learner’s permit and full
driver’s license
on the same day.
Do you have an out-of-state learner’s permit? You can apply when you’ve already had your out-of-state learner’s permit toward Mississippi’s 12-month requirement. However, you must still pass the vision, written, and road tests.
To start the process of getting your learner’s permit, enroll in a driver’s education course approved by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS). You can also study the
Mississippi Driver’s Manual
This is the best strategy to prepare for the written and road tests, which assess your knowledge of Mississippi traffic laws and your ability to drive safely. You must score at least 16/20 to qualify.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What to bring to DPS

Make an
with the DPS to apply for your Mississippi learner’s permit. Then, you can start to gather and fill out the necessary paperwork to prove your identity, residency, and school enrollment status, such as:
  • Application for Mississippi Driver’s License/ID (Form DL4)
    , which should be typed or completed in black ink and then signed by the applicant and one or both parents.
  • Identity documentation
    such as an original birth certificate or passport (no photocopies accepted!). Bring a marriage license or court order if you have changed your name.
  • Proof of domicile residency such as bank statement, paycheck stub, utility bill, or student ID card with photo.
  • Verification of SSN such as your social security card or other government correspondence that displays the full 9-digit number (like a W-2).
  • School attendance form
    that is completed in the last 30 days. (This form is not required for married applicants under 18, but these applicants must provide a marriage license instead).
You will have to pass a written knowledge test and eye exam at the driver service bureau and have 20/40 vision with or without glasses to pass.

Mississippi learner’s permit regulations

After you receive your learner’s permit, you can legally drive in Mississippi! However, remember that young drivers with learner’s permits are subject to some limitations
With the Driver Education Temporary Permit, you can only drive with your driver’s ed instructor riding shotgun.
With a Temporary Permit, you can only drive with a licensed driver over 21 in the front seat.
You can drive unsupervised between 6 AM and 10 PM with an Intermediate License. However, you must have a licensed driver over 21 in the car with you between 10 PM and 6 AM.
Note that all novice drivers are prohibited from
texting while driving in Mississippi
. There is a $500 fine if you are caught—or $1,000 if your distracted driving caused damage or injury.
Be aware that all drivers are subject to
open container laws in Mississippi
seatbelt laws
Once you turn 17 or have your permit for six months, you can apply for a full unrestricted operator’s license in Mississippi. Congrats!
You’ll need to consider
Mississippi car insurance costs
now, along with other expenses like gas and
car maintenance
. Young drivers tend to pay higher prices for car insurance so you may wish to ask your parents or guardians about being added to their policy for now.
MORE: How to get cheap car insurance for young drivers
"I was having trouble finding low-priced insurance in Mississippi, and
helped me so much. They are patient and professional. I recommend Jerry to anyone!” —Benny V.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings