How to Get a Georgia Driver’s License Reinstatement

A Georgia driver’s license reinstatement costs between $25 and $410, depending on the offense and if you are paying the fee by mail or in person.
Written by Jessica Gibson
Edited by Amy Bobinger
Getting your license reinstated in
might only require paying a fine, but for second or subsequent offenses, your fines can increase. You may also have to wait until your suspension or revocation period expires before applying for reinstatement.
  • You may have your
    Georgia driver’s license
    revoked for speeding, not paying child support, driving under the influence (DUI), failing to appear after a traffic violation, a points violation, or driving without proof of insurance.
  • Reinstatement fees range from $25 to $410, depending on the offense.

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Georgia

Department of Driver Services
(DDS) Customer Service Center can issue driver’s license suspensions, revocations, and cancellations for a wide variety of reasons. They’re also the ones to grant you your license when you meet Georgia’s driver’s license requirements. 
In most cases, you’ll need to complete some forms and pay a reinstatement fee to legally drive again, while in more serious circumstances, the requirements will be lengthier. 

How to get a license reinstatement in Georgia 

Depending on the circumstances, your license may be able to be reinstated after you pay your fine, or you might have to wait until your revocation or suspension period ends before applying for reinstatement. Here are some of the most common reasons why driver’s licenses are suspended or revoked in Georgia.

Georgia Super Speeder tickets

Georgia Super Speeder ticket
carries a $200 penalty—on top of any other fines you receive—and means you’ve been pulled over for the following:
  • Going more than 75 miles per hour on a two-lane road or highway
  • Going more than 85 miles per hour on any road or highway
You’ll be notified of the fine by mail. If you do not pay your ticket within 120 days from the first notice, your license will be suspended. Reinstating your license after a Super Speeder ticket costs $50 (in addition to the fine).
For out-of-state drivers, the same rules apply. If you don’t pay your fine within 120 days of receiving your Georgia Super Speeder ticket, you’ll lose your non-resident Georgia driving privileges. Out-of-state drivers can pay their fees online or by mail.

Child support

If you fail to meet your child support obligations, Georgia law mandates that the state’s Department of Human Services automatically alert the Georgia DDS, resulting in a notice that your driver’s license will be suspended.
You will have a grace period to come into compliance with the law—if you pay your child support obligations within 60 days, your license won’t be suspended. 
Reinstating your license after a child support-related suspension costs $25 by mail or $35 in person.

Driving under the influence (DUI)

If you’re convicted of a
and are older than 21 years of age, your license will be suspended for between 120 days to five years, depending on the severity of the offense. 
For a non-resident convicted of a DUI, you will lose your non-resident driving privileges in Georgia. If you are a Georgia resident and are convicted of a DUI while out of state, that conviction can result in a suspension of your Georgia driver’s license as well.
The cost to reinstate your driver’s license after a first DUI conviction (over 21 years of age) is $200 by mail or $210 in person.

Failure to appear

If you have a court date and don’t show up or you fail to pay a traffic citation, you will get an FTA suspension. You’ll need to pay a fine of $90 by mail or $100 in person in order to get your license reinstated after an FTA suspension.

No proof of insurance

, you are required to meet the state’s minimum auto insurance requirements. If you’re pulled over and cannot show
proof of insurance
, your license or permit will be suspended. 
To get your license reinstated, you’ll need to pay a fine of $200 by mail or $210 in person for a first offense. For a second offense of this nature, you’ll have to pay a fine of $300 by mail or $310 in person.

Points violation

A Georgia driver with more than 15 points accumulated on their driving record within one 24-month period will have their
driver’s license suspended. 
The fines for points violations are as follows:
  • First violation: $200 by mail, $210 in person
  • Second violation: $300 by mail, $310 in person
  • Third and subsequent violations: $400 by mail, $410 in person

How to get a license reinstatement in Georgia

There are a few ways to get your license reinstated in Georgia, while most involve paying a fine online, by mail, or in person, and completing some paperwork. 

Use Online Services to pay your fine 

Check the state’s
Reinstate Online Today
tab to learn about reinstatement rules and requirements. You canuse the site to pay your fees online, too.  

Send your payment by mail to the following address:

Department of Driver Services (DDS)
Validation Unit
Post Office Box 80447
Conyers, Georgia 30013
  • Include your Official Notice of Suspension with payment (includes your name, disposition, and violation date)
  • If you did not receive an official notice, include your full name, driver’s license number, address, and Social Security number
  • If applicable, include any relevant documents, such as DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Certificate
  • Any checks, money orders, or cashier’s checks should be made payable to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) 
  • IF paying by credit card (Visa, Mastercard, AMEX, or Discover), complete and include the following
  • Payment must be made in full

Go to a Customer Service Center to have your license reinstated in person. 

  • Bring proof of identity (here’s a
    of accepted proof of ID)
  • If you have one, bring your Official Notice of Suspension and any applicable documents with you
  • Pay with cash or credit/debit card (Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover)—checks are not accepted for in-person payment
  • Payments must be made in full

How to get a hardship license in Georgia

If your driver’s license is suspended in the state of Georgia, but you need to get to school, work, or medical appointments or treatments, you can apply for a hardship license, but these are granted only in some circumstances. 
Not everyone is eligible for a hardship license, and you’ll need to meet certain requirements in order to qualify.
You may be eligible to apply for a Georgia Hardship License if:
  • It is your first DUI conviction or first or second suspension for points violation
  • You may be eligible for second offenses by completing additional requirements as set out by the DDS
Anytime you apply for a hardship license, you will need to provide proof that your lack of a driver’s license is a hardship, along with proper documentation. With a second DUI conviction, you’ll need to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Drivers under 21 are not allowed to apply for a hardship license in Georgia.

What is an SR-22 certificate?

If your driver’s license is suspended or revoked in Georgia, you may need to apply for
SR-22 insurance
through your insurance provider to drive again. An SR-22 certificate provides legal proof that your insurance coverage meets Georgia’s minimum requirements.
Georgia drivers with a suspended or revoked license will need to get SR-22 insurance if their license is suspended for at least 90 days. Your insurance company will need to send the SR-22 directly to Georgia’s Department of Driver Services, and you’ll have to pay a fee of $200 by mail or $210 in person.
Out-of-state drivers must obtain SR-22 insurance that meets Georgia’s minimum insurance requirements and must present a receipt showing valid payment to their insurer. Out-of-state drivers convicted of driving without insurance in Georgia must maintain SR-22 coverage for three years.
If you’re required to file an SR-22 certificate and you don’t own a vehicle, you will need to acquire a
Georgia non-owners SR-22 insurance policy
for three years from your conviction date.
If your SR-22 certificate is canceled during the three-year probationary period, your driver’s license will be canceled. If your license is suspended a second or following time, you will be ineligible to apply for a hardship permit.
Because of the original violations that led to your license suspension and SR-22 requirement, prepare for significant premium hikes on your insurance if you need SR-22 coverage.
 “I signed up for a new policy with
help. I ended up saving $236 a month after my switch. Thank you Jerry!” —Adelaide C.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings