Everything You Need to Know About the Georgia Driving Test

To get your Georgia license, you’ll need to pass a vision exam and two written knowledge exams before taking your driver's test.
Written by Jessica Gibson
Edited by Amy Bobinger
To get your
Georgia driver’s license
, you’ve got to have your learner’s permit. When you feel confident enough to take the driving test, you’ll also have to pass a vision exam, a knowledge exam, and a driving test. Before you head to the Department of Driver Services (DDS), check that you have everything you need.
  • Georgia
    requires new drivers to pass a vision exam, knowledge exam, and road skills test in order to qualify for a license.
  • The driving test covers essential skills like parallel parking, backing up, and following traffic signals. You can take the test virtually or with an examiner in the car.
  • If you don’t pass the road skills test, you can take it again the following day. If you fail the driving test a second time, you’ll have to wait seven days before retesting.

Testing for a Georgia driver’s license

To get a standard Georgia driver’s license, you’re required to pass the following tests:
  • Vision exam
  • Knowledge exam
  • Road skills test 
If you’d like to get a motorcycle license, you’ll also need to take a separate motorcycle rider skill test consisting of four riding evaluations.

You need at least 20/60 in one eye to pass your vision test

If this is your first time applying for a Georgia license or permit, your eyes will be tested at the customer service counter. They’ll use a mechanical device to determine if your vision meets the minimum 20/60 in one eye (with or without contact lenses). Your field of vision must also be at least 140 degrees.
If you fail the vision test, the DMV will give you a
Vision Report Form
to take to your optometrist or ophthalmologist. They have to complete the form and sign off on your vision screening.

Answer 15/20 questions to pass each written test

The knowledge exam is actually two written tests—the Road Rules Test and the Road Signs Test. Both tests are 20 questions, and you’ve got to get 15 correct answers on each to pass. It’s important to thoroughly read the
DDS driving manual
before you attempt the written tests.
The Road Rules Test is available in multiple languages, and it covers questions about driver responsibility, knowledge of laws, and safe driving practices. For instance, you might be asked, “The minimum speed on Georgia interstates is: 40 mph, 65 mph, or 55 mph.” To practice before you take the multiple choice test, use the
DDS online practice test
To take the multiple choice Road Signs test, which is only available in English, be prepared to answer questions about what standard highway signs mean. You’ll need to correctly identify signs and signals in order to pass.
Need to know: Plan on starting your knowledge test at least 30 minutes before the Customer Service Center closes. If you’re taking a non-commercial test, give yourself 45 minutes before they close.

Schedule your Road Skills Test online

You’re required to make an appointment for taking the road skills test—you can’t simply show up to your local DDS and ask to take the exam. To schedule an appointment, sign up for a time on the
DDS website
. Once you’ve submitted the form, you can log in at any time to see or change the appointment.
You will use use your vehicle to take the test, and before you begin, you must show
proof of valid insurance
along with vehicle registration. They’ll also check that the tags aren’t expired and do a safety vehicle inspection. 
To take the actual road skills test, you have the optional of doing it traditionally or virtually. The traditional test is administered by a DDS examiner who sits in the passenger seat while you drive. 
The virtual road test is done remotely by an examiner who uses a dual-facing camera and hands-free cellular device. For this option, you must have a licensed driver in the passenger seat.
Once you hit the road, here are some of the
driving skills you’ll be tested on
  • Parallel parking
  • Yielding right-of-way
  • Using the turn signal
  • Stopping for signs or traffic signals
  • Following the speed limit 
The passing score is 75% or better. Your examiner should show you your score sheet once you finish the permit test, and they’ll answer any questions you have about safe driving.

If you fail your test, you’ll have to wait one day before retaking

If you didn’t pass your test the first time, don’t worry—you can try again the following day. If you don’t pass the driving test the second time, you’ll have to wait seven days to take it again.
However, if you failed the road skills test because of a traffic accident or you got a traffic violation, you’ll have to wait 30 days to retest.
Unfortunately, you will have to pay the testing fee each time you take the test, and the fee isn’t refundable. 

You may be able to waive your Motorcycle Rider Skills Test

The state of Georgia offers a Motorcycle Safety Program for $250. You can take the course using their motorcycles and helmets. During the course, they’ll teach you how to navigate traffic on your bike safely. 
At the end of the course, you’ll take a knowledge test and an on-cycle skill evaluation. If you successfully complete the course, you’ll get a Driver License Test Waiver that’s valid for 90 days. This means you won’t have to take the motorcycle licensing written test or road skills test,  but you will have to take the vision exam and pay the usual fees.
“I got my first car and didn’t have a clue about insurance.
is a great app that’s super helpful AND super free. It’s a great resource for young people.” —Helena O.


Yes—you’ll have to parallel park between two spots. In order to successfully parallel park, position your vehicle so it’s 18 inches from the curb or closer.
You’re required to provide the vehicle that you drive for the test. The vehicle has to have valid registration and license plates. You’ll also have to bring a valid insurance card for the vehicle to prove that it’s covered by liability insurance. Don’t forget to bring your learner's permit.
You’ll pay $10 before the driving test begins. You can pay by cash, credit card, debit card, Apple Pay, or Google Pay. 
The driving test is graded on a scale of 100 points. You can only miss 25 points, or you won’t pass. Keep in mind that you’ll lose points for minor mistakes, but you could be automatically failed if you cause an accident, don’t stop at a red light or stop sign, or impede traffic.
Use the state’s
online appointment system
to schedule your test. You’ll specify which type of driving test you want to take and the location where you want to be tested. 
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings