What Are the Car Insurance Laws in Georgia?
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Coverage requirements
- Comparative fault
- Liability insurance
- No proof of insurance?
- Is minimum enough?
- Diminished value
- Where to buy?
Load full table of contents
In Georgia, all drivers must have liability insurance, including both bodily injury and property damage minimums.
Navigating mandatory insurance requirements can be tricky, which is why car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Georgia car insurance laws.
And if you’re ready to purchase new insurance or find better savings on coverage you already have, Jerry is there for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. Why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
Georgia car insurance laws: What coverage is required?
If you’re driving in Georgia, you must have bodily injury liability and property damage liability coverage—and you must carry proof of that coverage with you at all times.
Here are the specifics of what you need:
|Minimum Liability Coverage in Georgia|
|$25,000 for bodily injury per person|
|$50,000 for bodily injury per accident|
|$25,000 for property damage per accident|
Georgia is a comparative fault state—but what does that mean?
As a comparative fault state, drivers can be held proportionately liable based on how much they are at fault in an accident. In other words, rather than one driver being 100% at fault, Georgia allows multiple drivers to be found at fault to varying degrees.
If you’re found to be 50% or more at fault in an accident, you won’t be able to recover damages or compensation.
Liability insurance in Georgia
Liability insurance is the only required car insurance in Georgia. Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage to other drivers in accidents where you are at fault.
State-mandated car insurance limits in Georgia
Almost every state has specific limits that drivers must meet to legally drive. In Georgia, the limits are represented as 25/50/25:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
You can—and should—increase these limits if you can afford to. While a higher limit will mean a slight increase to your premium, it offers significantly more coverage to protect you in case of a bad accident.
If you’re worried about unaffordable rates for the coverage you want, don’t be!
Car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry scans over 40 name-brand insurance providers to find you the coverage you need at the cheapest price. The average customer saves $897 per year when switching with Jerry.
Key Takeaway Georgia requires all drivers to carry liability insurance, but purchasing additional coverage is a good idea.
Penalties for driving without proof of insurance
If you’re caught driving without insurance in Georgia, here’s what you could face:
- $25 fine—plus and an additional $160 fine if the original fine isn’t paid within 30 days
- License suspension for 60 to 90 days
- Potential impoundment of your vehicle
- Up to 1 year in jail
Does Georgia’s minimum insurance provide enough coverage?
Unlike many other states, Georgia does not require drivers to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage covers you if you get into an accident and the at-fault driver does not have insurance. It’s a good add-on that can provide peace of mind.
Georgia’s minimum insurance also doesn’t provide any coverage for your vehicle. If you want coverage for your car, you’ll need to look at collision insurance and comprehensive insurance.
Additional car insurance coverages in Georgia
Here are some other optional policies that might be helpful for drivers in Georgia:
- Medical payments coverage covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a collision
- Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jumping batteries—the coverage will vary between policies and providers
- Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle while yours is getting repaired after an accident
Key Takeaway The minimum insurance required in Georgia covers other drivers but offers no financial protection for damage to your vehicle.
Georgia is a diminished value state
Georgia is a diminished value state, which means that if you’re the victim of a car accident for which you are not at fault, you can collect coverage for the diminished value of your vehicle.
Even when repairs are made to your vehicle to restore it to its pre-collision condition, the resale value necessarily decreases. Georgia’s diminished value law allows you to recoup some of this lost value from the at-fault driver’s insurer.
But, there are a few requirements for filing a diminished value claim in Georgia:
- You must not be the at-fault party in the accident
- You must provide documentation to process your claim (photos, records of repairs made to your car, documentation of your car’s value)
- Your vehicle must be less than 10 years old, have a market value of at least $7,000, low to moderate mileage, more than $500 in property damage, and have a clean title
- Your claim must be made within 4 years of the accident
Key Takeaway In Georgia, you can make a diminished value claim to recoup some of the lost value of your vehicle after an accident.
Where to buy car insurance in Georgia
If you’re looking for affordable car insurance in Georgia, Jerry can help.
As a licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from name-brand insurance companies and finalizing your new car insurance. Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you.
And to ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal, so you’re always getting the coverage you want at the best price.
This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
"Jerry has been the easiest insurance shopping experience of my life so far. Jerry made the shopping, comparison, and buying process the easiest it has ever been. It used to be an ordeal, but they made it easy. Even the support staff is phenomenal. Knowledgeable, friendly, sympathetic, and caring, usually absent traits from the insurance process. I cannot possibly recommend Jerry enough." —Jerry user
Is car insurance mandatory in Georgia?
Yes, all Georgia drivers must have liability coverage. If you want greater peace of mind and financial protection, purchasing additional insurance is a good idea.
What happens if I don’t have car insurance in Georgia?
There are various penalties for driving without insurance in Georgia, including fines, vehicle impoundment, and license suspension.
The car insurance comparison app Jerry can help ensure you have all the minimum insurance coverage required—and more, if you’d like!
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually