Oregon DUI Laws

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Oregon DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. This limit is reduced to 0.04% for commercial vehicle drivers.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your car insurance rates, too.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about DUI laws in Oregon.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI, DWI, and DUII?

A DUI refers to driving under the influence while a DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired. DUII is a less-common term and means driving under the influence of intoxicants.
Each state determines the difference between these terms. Oregon uses DUII in reference to anyone driving with alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two in their system—and is the only state to do so.
By Oregon definition, drugs refers to cannabis, controlled substances, psilocybin, inhalants, or a combination thereof.

DUI in Oregon

In Oregon, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, under the influence of drugs as outlined above, or a combination of these. For commercial drivers, the BAC limit is 0.04%.
The definition of “vehicle” is broader in Oregon than in many other states and includes not only automobiles, motorcycles, and trucks, but also boats, bicycles, mopeds, and any other motor-powered mode of transportation.
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you’re lawfully arrested for a DUII, you must submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. You do not have a right to consult with a lawyer before completing the test.

Penalties for DUI in Oregon

Drivers arrested for suspected DUII will receive administrative or license-based penalties, even if they are not yet or never formally convicted. A DUII conviction results in criminal penalties.
Oregon law stipulates minimum required penalties for each offense, which may be more severe if there are extenuating circumstances (e.g., the presence of a minor passenger at the time of the violation).

First offense

These penalties are meant to be immediate punitive action against offenders and may apply even before a formal DUII charge.
PenaltyDescription
Fine$1,000 to $6,250
Jail48 hours (or 80 hours community service) to 1 year
License suspension1 year
Ignition interlock device1 year
SR-22 requirementYes
The minimum fine is raised to $2,000 if BAC level is at or above 0.15%. The maximum fine is raised to $10,000 if there is a passenger or passengers in the car that are under the age of 18 and at least 3 years younger than the driver.

Second offense

PenaltyDescription
Fine$1,500 to $6,250
Jail48 hours (or 80 hours community service) to 1 year
License suspension3 years
Ignition interlock device2 years
SR-22 requirementYes
The minimum fine is raised to $2,000 if BAC level is at or above 0.15%. The maximum fine is raised to $10,000 if there is a passenger or passengers in the car that are under the age of 18 and at least 3 years younger than the driver.

Third offense

PenaltyDescription
Fine$2,000 to $125,000
Jail90 days to 5 years
License suspensionPermanent, with option to appeal after 10 years
Ignition interlock device2 to 5 years depending on prior convictions
SR-22 requirementYes
The maximum fine is $125,000 if the offender has been convicted of a class C felony.
The penalties outlined above are state-mandated minimums. Judges may increase the penalties at their discretion depending on the offender’s previous DUII history and their BAC at the time of violation.
All offenders, regardless of previous convictions, will be sentenced to probation not exceeding 5 years. In addition, all offenders must undergo a substance abuse screening assessment, recommended treatment program, and attend a Victim Impact Panel at their own expense.
Key Takeaway Oregon’s minimum penalties can change depending on extenuating factors at the time of the violation.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Oregon?

Yes, insurance companies take DUIIs very seriously and you’ll be classified as a high-risk driver.
With a DUII on your record, you can expect that insurance carriers will charge you significantly higher rates or may refuse to insure you entirely. That’s where Jerry can help. Jerry quickly gathers your info and presents you with quotes from dozens of providers so that you don’t have to spend time reaching out to each company one by one.
Your insurance carrier will also be required to fill out an SR-22 to prove you have the state-mandated minimum insurance coverage.

Other effects of a DUI

Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, DUIIs can have some other lasting impacts on your life.
License revocation: After a DUII, you run the risk of having your license revoked if you’re charged with other serious offenses.
Ignition interlock device: All states have some type of ignition interlock program requiring drivers convicted of a DUII to install an interlock device in their vehicle to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
Background checks: Your DUII will show up on a background check indefinitely, which can cause issues for future employment endeavors.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

Finding affordable insurance after a DUII conviction can be difficult on your own. No matter what your record looks like, Jerry can help. Once you choose a policy, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
When your policy is up for renewal, Jerry is still on the job and will send you new quotes so you’re always paying the best price.
“I’ve gotten pulled over a few times in the past. With Jerry, the police never had an issue verifying my insurance. The app is convenient, easy, and cheap!” —Dalton T.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free