Oklahoma DUI Laws

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Oklahoma DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your car insurance rates, too.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about DUI laws in Oklahoma.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI or DWI?

A DUI refers to driving under the influence while a DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired.
Each state determines the difference between the two.
In Oklahoma, DUI is more commonly used to refer to someone driving with alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two in their system. A DUI may not take blood-alcohol content (BAC) into account if the driver is impaired by drugs, alcohol, or both to the point where they cannot safely operate a vehicle—regardless of the BAC.
Under Oklahoma law, “drugs” specifically refers to Schedule I drugs.

DUI in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. For commercial vehicle drivers, that level is 0.04%.
If you’re found with a BAC above the legal limit, you will be charged with a per se DUI, which means that whether or not you’re actually impaired by the alcohol is moot.
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you’re lawfully arrested for a DUI, you must submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. You do not have a right to consult with a lawyer before completing the test.

Penalties for DUI in Oklahoma

Penalties for DUIs in Oklahoma become more severe with each subsequent offense. A second offense is considered as such if it occurs within 10 years of the first.
The second and all subsequent offenses are considered felonies, regardless of when they occur.
First offense
PenaltyDescription
FineUp to $1,000
Jail10 days to 1 year
License suspension180 days
Ignition Interlock Device (IID)18 months if driver refuses field sobriety test or BAC is over 0.15%
Second offense
PenaltyDescription
FineUp to $2,500
Jail1 to 5 years
License suspension1 year
Ignition Interlock Device (IID)4 years
Third offense
PenaltyDescription
FineUp to $5,000
Jail1 to 10 years
License suspension3 years
Ignition Interlock Device (IID)5 years
Jail time may be set aside in favor of a court-ordered treatment program recommended after a substance abuse treatment assessment. Failure to abide by the treatment recommendation will not only result in jail time, but a longer sentence and longer revocation than the original penalty.
During a license suspension, drivers may apply for a limited license. This restores some, but not all driving privileges.
Key Takeaway Oklahoma’s penalties for a DUI are often more severe if you’ve had previous offenses. After the first, all subsequent DUIs are felonies.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Oklahoma?

Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously and you’ll be classified as a high-risk driver.
High-risk drivers end up paying more for insurance and may be denied coverage entirely.
Some companies are willing to take on high-risk drivers—the trick is making sure that you’re getting the coverage you need at a reasonable price. Jerry gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and will even help you cancel your old policy.
Your insurance carrier will also be required to fill out an SR-22 to prove you have the state-mandated minimum insurance coverage.

Other effects of a DUI

Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, DUIs can have some other lasting impacts on your life.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked if you’re charged with other serious offenses.
Ignition interlock device: All states have some type of ignition interlock program requiring drivers convicted of a DUI to install an interlock device in their vehicle to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
Background checks: Your DUI will show up on a background check indefinitely, which can cause issues for future employment endeavors.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

Finding insurance is a tedious process with a clean record — but with a DUI, it can be even harder. Regardless of your record, Jerry can help.
Jerry will generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. And since Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage with none of the hassles.
When your policy is up for renewal, Jerry sends you new quotes to compare so that you’re always getting the best deal on the coverage you need.
“I saw an ad for Jerry on Instagram and decided to give it a try. I have a terrible driving record, but Nathan still helped me. Before, almost no one wanted to insure me. Now, I have a great policy and save $200/month. I’m one happy gal!” —Terri C.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free