Massachusetts DUI Laws

Massachusetts DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher will be convicted of an OUI.
Written by Melanie Reiff
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
Massachusetts
DUI laws—or OUI laws—state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08%. Drivers under 21 cannot have a BAC above 0.02%.
In the United States, over 10,000 people are killed as a result of drunk driving crashes each year.
Driving while under the influence
of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees.
The
car insurance
comparison and broker app
Jerry
has compiled everything you need to know about DUIs in Massachusetts.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

OUI in Massachusetts

Like a few other states, Massachusetts favors the term OUI instead of DUI.
An OUI is "operating under the influence." This means that a driver can be charged even if a vehicle is not in motion. A driver who intends to drive or makes moves to do so can be convicted of an OUI.
Massachusetts OUI laws prohibit driving or controlling a vehicle if the driver:
  • Has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08%
  • Is under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, narcotics, intoxicating vapors, or other drugs
  • Has diminished faculties as a result of drugs or alcohol
Drivers under 21 will be subject to penalties if they are found to have a BAC of 0.02% or higher.
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
All people who drive in Massachusetts are considered to have tacitly given their consent to a blood, breath, or urine alcohol or drug test. If a driver refuses or fails a test, they will be subject to a
license suspension
for at least 180 days.
The penalty for underage drivers who refuse to cooperate is an automatic three-year license suspension.
MORE:

Penalties for OUI in Massachusetts

Penalties for OUIs in Massachusetts are determined by the severity of the offense and the number of prior convictions in the last ten years.

First offense

Penalty
Description
Fine
$500-$5,000
Jail
Maximum of 2.5 years
License suspension
Up to 1 year

Second conviction

Penalty
Description
Fine
$600-$10,000
Jail
60 days to 2.5 years
License suspension
Up to 2 years

Third conviction

Penalty
Description
Fine
$1,000-$15,000
Jail
Up to 5 years
License suspension
Up to 8 years
Additionally, drivers who are first-time offenders must complete one year of probation, an alcohol education course, and up to 30 hours of community service. Second-time offenders must undergo a 14-day inpatient treatment course.
If an offender is driving a passenger under the age of 14, they could face child endangerment charges. These charges come with up to 2.5 years in jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
Underage drivers with a BAC of 0.02%-0.08% may not face an OUI charge, but they will have their license suspended for at least 180 days or attend a Youth Alcohol Program.
Key Takeaway: Minimum penalties for DUIs increase for each subsequent offense.

Restricted licenses

Drivers who cooperated with but failed the chemical test could apply for a hardship license.
To be eligible for a hardship license, drivers must complete a part of their suspension and install an ignition interlock device (IID). The hardship license only allows a driver to commute to work or school during a specific 12-hour period.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Massachusetts?

Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously and you’ll be classified as a
high-risk driver
. Some providers may deny you coverage altogether.
It can be difficult to secure insurance with a DUI on your record, so you’ll probably need to look at several providers.
Jerry
can quickly compare rates from up to 50 top insurers so that you don’t have to spend time completing long online forms and dealing with sales calls.
Expect your rates to rise substantially after a DUI. Your insurance company will also need to
file an SR-22
on your behalf to confirm that you hold the
mininum car insurance required
in your state.

Other effects of a DUI

Beyond the conviction penalties and
higher insurance rates
, your life can be severely impacted by a DUI.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked—especially if you have multiple DUIs or other offenses.
Ignition interlock device (IID): Drivers who are convicted of a DUI in Massachusetts may have to use an IID for a specified period, depending on the number of convictions. An IID is installed in the car, which deactivates the engine if alcohol is detected on the driver’s breath.
Background checks: DUIs appear on background checks, which could adversely impact your future employment opportunities.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

If you need help finding affordable insurance after a DUI conviction,
Jerry
can help.
After Jerry's
trustworthy super app
provides you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
To ensure you always
find the best rate
, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal. This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
"I saw an ad for
Jerry
on Instagram and decided to give it a try. I have a terrible driving record, but Nathan still helped me. Before, almost no one wanted to insure me. Now, I have a great policy and save $200/month. I’m one happy gal!" —Terri C.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings