Maine DUI Laws

Maine DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher will be convicted of an OUI.
Written by Melanie Reiff
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
Maine DUI laws—or OUI laws—state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08%. Receiving multiple convictions, excessively speeding, driving a passenger under 21, or causing injury can all result in increased penalties or enhancements.
In the United States, over 10,000 people are killed as a result of drunk driving crashes each year.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your
Maine car insurance costs
, too.
The
car insurance
comparison and broker app
Jerry
has compiled everything you need to know about DUIs in Maine.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What is an OUI?

Like a few other states, Maine favors the term OUI instead of DUI. OUI means "operating under the influence." This means that a driver can be charged with an OUI even if a vehicle is not in motion. A driver who intends to or makes moves to drive can be convicted of an OUI.

OUI in Maine

Maine OUI laws prohibit driving or controlling a vehicle if the driver:
  • has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08%
  • is under the influence of alcohol, intoxicating compounds, drugs, or a combination
Drivers under 21 cannot have any trace of alcohol in their system.
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
All people who drive in Maine are considered to have tacitly given their consent to a blood, breath, or urine alcohol or drug test. A driver who is arrested for a DUI but refuses to submit to a lawful request for a chemical test will be subject to a 275-day license suspension.
The penalty for underage drivers who refuse to cooperate is an automatic 18-month license suspension.

Penalties for OUI in Maine

Penalties for OUIs in Maine are determined by the severity of the offense and the number of prior convictions in the last ten years (considered a "washout" period).

First offense

Penalty
Description
Fine
$500-$2,000
Jail
Maximum of 1 year
License suspension
Minimum 150 days
IID requirement
150 days

Second conviction

Penalty
Description
Fine
$500-$2,000
Jail
Maximum of 1 year
License suspension
Minimum 3 years
IID requirement
2 years

Third conviction

Penalty
Description
Fine
$1,000-$5,000
Jail
Maximum of 5 years
License suspension
Minimum of 6 years
IID requirement
3 years
Penalties can be enhanced after a first offense if the driver has a BAC of 0.15% or higher, tried to evade law enforcement, was speeding over 30 miles per hour, or had a passenger under 21—any of which would require a minimum 48-day jail stay.
Either a third offense or causing an injury is considered a Class 3 felony. Such an offender would face fines up to $5,000 and up to 5 years in jail.
If the driver causes a fatality, they have committed a Class B felony, which carries penalties of up to $20,000 in fines and up to 10 years in jail.
Underage drivers will face a minimum of a 1-year license suspension for a first offense. If they were transporting a passenger who is under 21, the suspension increases by 180 days.
Key Takeaway Minimum penalties for DUIs increase for each subsequent offense.

Restricted licenses

Drivers convicted of an OUI are often eligible for a restricted license. To get a restricted license, the driver must petition the Secretary of State for approval and install an ignition interlock device for a specified time period.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Maine?

Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously and you’ll be classified as a
high-risk driver.
It can be difficult to secure insurance with a DUI on your record, so you’ll probably need to look at several providers.
Jerry
can quickly compare rates from up to 50 top insurers so that you don’t have to spend time completing long online forms and dealing with sales calls.
Expect your rates to rise substantially after a DUI. Your insurance company will also need to file an
SR-22 in Maine
on your behalf to confirm that you hold the
minimum car insurance required in your state
.

Other effects of a DUI

Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, your life can be severely impacted by a DUI.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked—especially if you have multiple DUIs or other offenses.
Ignition interlock device (IID): Drivers who are convicted of a DUI in Maine must use an IID for a specified time period, depending on the number of convictions. An IID is installed in the car and deactivates the engine if alcohol is detected on the driver’s breath.
Background checks: DUIs appear on background checks, which could adversely impact your future employment opportunities.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

If you need help finding affordable insurance after a DUI conviction,
Jerry
can help. After Jerry's
trustworthy insurance comparison app
provides you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
To ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal. This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
"I saw an ad for
Jerry
on Instagram and decided to give it a try. I have a terrible driving record, but Nathan still helped me. Before, almost no one wanted to insure me. Now, I have a great policy and save $200/month. I’m one happy gal!" —Terri C.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings