Delaware Car Insurance Laws: How Much Coverage Do I Need?

Delaware drivers must purchase a minimum of 25/50/10 in liability coverage and 15/30 in personal injury protection, but most drivers upgrade their coverage.
Written by Jaya Anandjit
Edited by Jessica Barrett
background
All vehicles registered in
Delaware
must carry minimum
liability insurance
coverage of $25,000/$50,000 of bodily injury liability and $10,000 of property damage liability, plus at least $15,000/$30,000 of personal injury protection (PIP). 

Delaware car insurance requirements

If you’re driving a motor vehicle in Delaware, state car insurance laws require that you have liability insurance and PIP coverage that meet the following minimum limits:
app screenshot
Remember: All policies sold in Delaware will include the state minimum coverage.
If you’re shopping with the
Jerry
app, your basic coverage requirements will populate automatically based on your location, and you can customize your coverage with higher limits.
Once you figure out the best coverage levels for your policy, you can view quotes from different providers to find the most affordable rate.

Coverage for leased or financed vehicles

In addition to Delaware’s required car insurance limits, drivers who lease or finance their vehicles are typically required to purchase a full coverage auto insurance policy. If your vehicle is leased or financed, be sure to ask your lender about their insurance coverage requirements.

Is minimum coverage the most cost-effective option? 

A car insurance policy that meets Delaware’s minimum requirements costs an average of $157 monthly and $1,881 per year. The average full-coverage policy costs $198 per month and $2,372 per year.
iconMinimum coverage may be cheaper upfront, but…
While Delaware’s minimum coverage insurance costs less than full coverage, drivers with minimum limits face the potential for a lawsuit and high out-of-pocket costs after an at-fault accident.
iconExtra coverage keeps you protected
To remain financially protected throughout any situation, insurance experts recommend going beyond Delaware’s minimum requirements with more coverage and higher coverage limits.
  • $50,000 to $100,000 in bodily injury liability per person
  • $100,000 to $300,000 in bodily injury per accident
  • $50,000 to $100,000 in property damage liability per accident
  • $50,000 to $100,000 in PIP per person
  • $100,000 to $300,000 in PIP per accident
If you’re shopping with
Jerry
, you can adjust your coverage limits and deductibles to see how it changes your premiums.
app screenshot
Comparing premiums for different coverage levels is a smart way to find the lowest car insurance rate for your insurance needs.
If you’re shopping with
Jerry
, you can adjust your coverage limits and deductibles to see how it changes your premiums.
Choosing higher liability levels and full coverage protection may mean higher car insurance premiums, but comparing quotes from different providers can help you find the most affordable car insurance rate for your Delaware auto insurance coverage.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

Optional coverages in Delaware

Beyond liability insurance, here are some coverage options that you should consider: 
icon
Collision coverage
:
You’ll rely on collision coverage to repair your vehicle after a claimable accident with another vehicle or stationary object.
icon
Comprehensive coverage
:
Comprehensive coverage pays for damage related to hitting an animal or from vandalism, theft, or severe weather.
icon
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
: UM/UIM covers your medical expenses if you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have sufficient liability coverage (or any liability coverage at all) to cover your damages. 
icon
Gap insurance
: If you leased or financed a new vehicle and it’s deemed a total loss in an accident, gap insurance covers the difference between how much your car is worth at the time of the incident (the
actual cash value
) and how much you still owe on your
car loan
—but
purchase it from your insurance company
, not through your dealership.
icon
Roadside assistance coverage: Also known as
towing and labor coverage
, roadside assistance helps cover the costs of standard roadside assistance services, like towing, battery changes, or gas delivery.

Penalties for driving without insurance in Delaware

Like most states, driving without car insurance coverage is illegal in Delaware. Here’s a rundown of the penalties you could face if you’re caught driving without insurance in DE:
Penalty
Each offense
Audited for insurance compliance
Fine
$1,500 for first offense, $3,000 for subsequent offenses
N/A
License suspension
6 months
6 months if confirmed uninsured
Registration suspension 
N/A
Suspended by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles if audit request is not responded to in time
Uninsured motorist penalty fee
N/A
$100 per vehicle for being uninsured from 1-30 days, plus an additional $5 each day after
FR-19
Accepted as proof of car insurance
Required as proof of insurance

FAQs

Are you required to have auto insurance in Delaware?

Yes—Delaware law mandates that all drivers must carry car insurance that meets Delaware’s state-mandated auto insurance requirements.

What is the minimum insurance required in Delaware?

Delaware car insurance laws require drivers to have at least $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. As an at-fault state, drivers must also have $15,000 in personal injury protection per person and $30,000 per accident.

Is Delaware a no-fault state for car accidents?

No, Delaware is an “at-fault” or “tort” state. As an at-fault state, Delaware drivers can sue the at-fault driver for pain and suffering.

What happens if you drive without insurance in Delaware?

Driving without insurance is illegal in Delaware. If you’re caught, you could face a fine of up to $1,500 for the first offense and up to $3,000 for any subsequent offenses. Your driver’s license and/or privileges may also be suspended for 6 months.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings