Car Seat Laws in Connecticut

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What is it?
  • Noncompliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance impact
  • | Cheap insurance
Car seat laws in Connecticut follow the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines on car seat safety. As a result, they’re slightly more complex, with different requirements for different ages, heights, and weights.
This includes keeping your children in the back seat of the car (when you can) for as long as possible, as this will help children avoid any injury they could receive from your car’s airbags.
Connecticut car seat laws are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident. That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Connecticut’s car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Connecticut?

Connecticut’s car seat laws are more complex than those found in other states because they’re modeled after the American Academy of Pediatrics’ official guidelines.
We’ve broken down the guidelines below:
  • Children under the age of 2 must be secured in a rear-facing car seat (a convertible car seat is acceptable as long as it’s rear-facing) with a five-point internal harness.
  • Children under the age of 5 who weigh between 30 and 40 pounds must be secured in a forward-facing car seat (a convertible car seat is also acceptable).
  • Children between 4 and 8 who weigh between 41 and 60 pounds may use a booster seat alongside a standard seat belt. Please note that weight is a more important factor in car-seat safety than age, so if your child is 4 years old, but has outgrown their forward-facing car seat with a five-point harness, they may be the right size to use a booster seat.
  • Children 8 years of age or older must use a proper seat belt over the lap and shoulder.
Key Takeaway Connecticut’s laws comply with the recommendations established by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Connecticut?

The first violation of Connecticut’s car seat law is considered an infraction. The second violation will result in a fine of up to $199. First and second offenses require you to attend an approved child car seat safety course.
The third offense is a class A misdemeanor, which is considered a crime.
In general, violations of Connecticut’s car seat laws are harsher in comparison to other states.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Yes, the first violation is considered an infraction and will show up on your driving record, as will all, if any, subsequent violations, including misdemeanors.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Connecticut

Having an infraction or misdemeanor on your driving record will demonstrate to your insurance carrier that you are a high-risk driver, and your premiums will likely go up as a result.
Some insurance companies may even refuse to insure you.
Key Takeaway Misdemeanors are crimes and will show up on your driving and criminal record.

Finding cheap car insurance

But even with a misdemeanor on your record, finding cheap car insurance doesn’t have to be difficult. Whether your record is spotless or spotty, Jerry makes it easy to find the coverage you can afford.
Jerry takes on the job of shopping around and comparing rates, finding you the best offers across dozens of companies, and all you have to do is take your pick! Jerry handles everything else, including finalizing your paperwork, and if needed, canceling your old policy.
“Great response! Thank you for all the help. I can’t believe I was overpaying for so long.” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free