What Are the Car Insurance Laws in Connecticut?
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum coverage
- Insurance limits
- No proof of insurance?
- Common add-ons
- Where to buy?
Connecticut car insurance laws mandate that drivers have liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. But you may want to purchase more than that so that you have better coverage if you get into an accident.
The car insurance broker app Jerry can help you find more coverage at the lowest rates possible. By assembling online quotes from up to 40+ insurance providers, Jerry makes it easy to see all your options and choose your policy without completing endless forms or spending hours on the phone.
And to help you understand car insurance laws in Connecticut, Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to make informed insurance decisions.
Connecticut car insurance laws: What’s required?
In Connecticut, drivers must have liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance—and must carry proof of it in their vehicle.
Here’s what you must purchase, at minimum:
|Minimum Liability Coverage||Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage|
|$25,000 bodily injury per person||$25,000 bodily injury per person|
|$50,000 bodily injury per accident||$50,000 bodily injury per accident|
|$25,000 property damage per accident|
What is liability coverage?
Liability coverage protects other drivers on the road when you’re at fault in an accident. If you hit another person’s vehicle or property, your liability coverage will help cover the cost of any medical bills and/or property damage.
What is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage?
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage reimburses you for your expenses as a result of an accident caused by an uninsured driver. Instead of suing the driver without insurance, your insurance company covers the costs.
Key Takeaway In Connecticut, you must have liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist protection—but it’s always a good idea to purchase additional coverage if you can afford it.
MORE: As a teenager who just got my license, how much can I expect to pay for insurance in Connecticut?
What are car insurance limits?
Car insurance limits are the maximum amount an insurance provider will pay to cover your claims. Each state has mandated car insurance limits, but you can always increase them for greater coverage (and at a higher premium).
In Connecticut, the minimum limits are 25/50/25—which refers to bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage.
If you want more coverage, Jerry can help you find it at the lowest price. Just download the app, answer a few questions, and you’ll get competitive quotes from the top insurance companies in the country in seconds.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Penalties for driving without proof of insurance in Connecticut
Since insurance is legally required in Connecticut, there are punishments for driving without it. Here’s what’s on the table if you get behind the wheel without adequate coverage:
- $50 fine for not carrying proof of insurance
- Fine of $100 to $1,000 for driving without insurance
- License suspension up to one month for the first infraction and up to six months for subsequent ones
- License and registration reinstatement with a $175 fee
- Insurance reinstatement fee of $200 (for drivers who cancel insurance)
Is minimum insurance enough in Connecticut?
To legally drive, you need to meet the minimum insurance requirements—but that doesn’t mean it’s enough to truly protect you. If you can afford it, you should purchase additional insurance.
Here are some of the most common add-ons:
- Comprehensive coverage covers physical damage to your vehicle that isn’t the result of a collision (e.g., vandalism).
- Collision coverage covers the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object
- Medical payments coverage covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a collision
- Rental car reimbursement covers the cost of a rental vehicle while yours is being repaired
- Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jumping batteries, though coverage varies between policies and providers
Key Takeaway If you can afford it, you should purchase more than just the minimum required insurance coverage.
Where to purchase car insurance if you live in Connecticut
Whether you’re looking to purchase a new policy or want to ensure you’re getting the best deal on car insurance, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry can help you with the process.
All you have to do is answer a few simple questions (it takes less than a minute!)—then Jerry brings you competitive car insurance quotes from over 40 name-brand insurance providers. Browse through the different policies and choose the one that’s best for you!
Even better—Jerry is 100% free to use!
Our customers love Jerry’s efficiency and accessibility:
“Jerry is hands down the best option for getting the lowest rates! I called several companies for insurance quotes and finally found the Jerry app and am SUPER impressed with how easy it was to get the lowest rates on both my car and renters insurance. I will always use Jerry in the future!” —Jerry user
Is car insurance mandatory in Connecticut?
Yes. Connecticut mandates that drivers have liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. It’s a good idea to purchase more coverage than this, and Jerry can help you do that for the best price.
What car insurance is required in Connecticut?
Connecticut requires all drivers have 25/50/25 liability insurance, as well as uninsured/underinsured motorist protection.
What happens if I don’t have car insurance in Connecticut?
There are various fines, fees, and penalties (including license suspension) for driving without car insurance in Connecticut. In short, don’t do it.
Thankfully, Jerry can help you find the cheapest car insurance rates so you’re always in compliance—without having to break the bank for coverage.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually