Arizona Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Insurance requirements in AZ
- Arizona liability insurance
- Mandated insurance limits
- Should I get more than what’s required?
- Other options
- Why AZ is a diminished value state
- Cheap car insurance
Arizona requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage. The insurance minimums in Arizona are summarized as 25/50/15 (or $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $15,000 of property liability per accident).
The car insurance shopping app Jerry has compiled all the information you need to know about Arizona car insurance laws—including how much damage the minimum car insurance will cover.
If you’d rather leave the hard work of gathering car insurance quotes online to someone else, use Jerry. It takes less than a minute to sign up, and Jerry will present you with competitive rates from up to 45 top providers. Jerry is free—and the average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
What insurance do I need in Arizona?
Arizona drivers need to carry their proof of insurance certificate to prove that they have the legal minimum car insurance coverage on their vehicle. Likewise, anybody wanting to register a car in Arizona will have to provide proof of insurance first. Proof of insurance—or proof of responsibility—establishes that drivers have the minimum coverage required.
Car insurance minimums in Arizona can be broken down as follows.
Required auto insurance in Arizona
|Minimum liability coverage||25/50/15|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$15,000|
What is a comparative fault state?
Arizona is a comparative fault state, meaning that the fault in an accident is split between drivers by percentages. An at-fault driver could be found to be 100% responsible. Or, the responsibility may be split 50/50 between two different drivers.
Let’s say that Driver A is found to be 80% responsible and Driver B is found to be 20% responsible. Driver A’s insurance company would cover 80% of the costs. Driver B’s provider would cover the remaining 20% of the costs.
Key Takeaway Arizona is a comparative fault state that requires drivers to purchase minimum insurance before registering their car. Drivers also need to carry proof of minimum insurance.
Liability insurance in AZ
Arizona’s minimum liability car insurance will only cover the costs associated with the other parties in an accident if you are found at fault. Liability insurance is designed to help protect you against legal liability if you cause an accident.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Arizona?
Arizona requires drivers to carry three different types of liability insurance. The state minimum car insurance limits of 25/50/15 can be broken down as follows.
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person
Your insurance company will pay up to $25,000 per person injured in an at-fault accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident
$50,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of injuries in an at-fault accident—even if multiple parties are injured.
$15,000 in property damage liability per accident
Your insurance company will pay up to $15,000 to cover the cost of property damage for other parties in an at-fault accident.
Should I get more coverage than Arizona’s required insurance minimum?
Arizona’s car insurance minimums are about average—but they might not be enough to cover the cost of an accident. If the value of property damage or medical costs exceeds the state limits, you could end up paying the remainder of the expenses out of pocket.
For example, if the other driver’s totaled car is worth $30,000, Arizona minimum insurance will only cover $15,000 of the damage. You could end up paying the remaining $15,000 yourself.
Arizona drivers who want better protection can raise their liability limits above the minimum requirement. You can also purchase additional coverage like comprehensive insurance and collision insurance to help cover your own costs if you are found at fault.
Using a free insurance shopping tool like Jerry is the easiest way to find and compare tailored coverage at the best price fast.
Key Takeaway Arizona has relatively low minimum car insurance limits that might not provide enough coverage for an at-fault accident.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Arizona?
Penalties for not having car insurance in Arizona
Arizona imposes strict penalties on drivers who are caught driving without insurance or proof of insurance. Drivers will also be held responsible for the total cost of damages that they cause while driving without insurance.
|Offense||Minimum fine||License and registration suspension||SR-22 required|
|First||$500||3 months||2 years|
|Second||$750||6 months||2 years|
|Third||$1000||1 year||2 years|
MORE: What is SR22 insurance?
Additional coverage options
Arizona only requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance to meet the legal threshold. However, you might want to consider investing in the following popular insurance options to increase your coverage.
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage
Medical payment insurance will help cover the cost of medical expenses resulting from an accident for you and your passengers.
Collision insurance covers the cost of the damage to your car after a collision or rollover.
Comprehensive insurance provides coverage for damage to your car resulting from external sources—including theft, floods, and storms.
Uninsured motorist coverage
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance provides coverage if you get in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have insurance.
Roadside assistance coverage
Roadside assistance coverage can be added to your policy if you want access to certain roadside services, like towing, battery boosts, or tire changes. The services included might vary from provider to provider.
What is an Arizona ADOT code?
The Arizona Department of Transportation uses a code to help signify what type of coverage you have as well as your provider. The ADOT code is unique to Arizona. You can find it at the top of your Arizona insurance card.
Why is Arizona considered a diminished value state?
Drivers in Arizona can make diminished value claims that will help them recover losses to the value of their vehicle after a claim. If you sell your car after an accident, you can make a diminished value claim through the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
A car will lose some of its resale value after an accident—even if it is repaired to the same condition it was in before the claim. Arizona is one of 15 states that allow drivers to make diminished value claims so they can recoup any lost value if they decide to sell their car after a claim.
You need to meet the following criteria to make a diminished value claim in Arizona:
- You were not found to be at fault in the accident
- You can provide reliable documentation, like proof of your car’s value, the repair record, and photo evidence
- It hasn’t been more than two years since the claim was made
- The at-fault driver had insurance
Key Takeaway Arizona diminished value claims can help make up for lost value if you sell your car after it is repaired.
How to get cheap car insurance in Arizona
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in the Grand Canyon State, download the Jerry app or go to getjerry.com.
In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from up to 45 top insurance companies, and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and canceling your old one.
No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
“How is this real? I’ve used all the websites that compare insurance to get you the best deals. I thought I had a great deal at $300 a month. Well, this pandemic has left me with a part-time job and full-time bills. I couldn’t find relief anywhere. In the middle of tears and stress, I found Jerry and figured I had nothing to lose. I was making breakfast and by the end I was saving $125 a month in insurance! This is a huge relief. That’s my groceries and gas for the week. Jerry saved the day, and I am so grateful!”—Jerry user.
Frequently asked questions
Can you drive without insurance in Arizona?
No. Driving without car insurance in Arizona is considered illegal, and you could face stiff penalties if you are caught without proof of insurance.
Is Arizona a no-fault state for car insurance?
No. Arizona is an at-fault, or tort state, that uses a comparative fault system. Your insurance company will payout for the damage in proportion to the degree of fault you are assigned in an accident.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually