Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a title transfer?
- Car title transfer in New Jersey
- Registering a car in New Jersey
- Finding insurance for your vehicle
Load full table of contents
To transfer car ownership in New Jersey, you’ll need to complete a title transfer and register your car. This can be done at the MVC for a fee of $60 (without a lien) or $85 (with a lien).
Changing the ownership of a vehicle isn’t as simple as selling the car and handing over the keys. To make the purchase official, you’ll need to complete a title transfer. In New Jersey, this process requires paperwork and some fees.
You’ll have to prepare a bit to transfer a title in New Jersey, and you must comply with the Motor Vehicle Commission regulations and state law. The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has broken down what you need to know about title transfer in New Jersey.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What is a title transfer?
A car title represents ownership of the vehicle. If you’re transferring ownership, you’ll need to complete a title transfer as well.
There are two steps for transferring a title—one for the seller and one for the buyer:
- The seller must relinquish ownership of the car by signing the title
- The buyer must take the signed title to a motor vehicle agency, where the state will issue a new title and registration
Each state has a slightly different title transfer process. Most states mandate at least some paperwork, but some have more requirements than others—like a transfer of ownership form, odometer certification, or bill of sale.
Who does the title transfer?
The responsibility of completing a title transfer depends on whether you’re buying or selling the vehicle privately or through a dealership.
In New Jersey, if the sale is done privately, you and the seller must complete the documents and title transfer process. You are then required to take the documents to the motor vehicle agency yourself.
On the other hand, if you purchase a car through a dealer, it is the dealer’s responsibility to submit all the paperwork.
Reasons for a title transfer
Title transfers often are done because of a change of residency or buying or selling a car. But, there are other reasons you may look into transferring the title of your car.
Alternative reasons for a title change include:
- Donating a vehicle
- Gifting a vehicle
- Inheriting a vehicle
- Paying off a vehicle loan
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls
Car title transfer in New Jersey
In New Jersey, the title transfer process must be completed within 10 days of sale or the change of ownership or you will face a $25 penalty.
This is what you need to complete the title transfer process:
Have your New Jersey Certificate of Title—if you don’t have one, you’ll need to complete an Application for Duplicate or Transfer of Title
- Ensure the title is signed by the buyer(s), the seller(s), and, if applicable, the lienholder. If there is a lien, you have to complete the terms of the lien before you sell your car
- Obtain a Bill of Sale and ensure that the title is properly signed by the owner-of-record
- Have the following information ready:
- Driver’s License or Identification Documentation
- If the car is leased or financed, you will need a Universal Title Application
- Mileage statement
- Insurance information
- Payment for fees
The fee to transfer a title without a lien is $60. If there is a lien on the vehicle, the fee is $85.
Key Takeaway To complete a title transfer in New Jersey, you will need to have the required paperwork and fees ready.
Registering a car in New Jersey
After finishing the title transfer process, you’ll need to register your vehicle before you can drive it. Registration is legal proof that you are allowed to take your car on the road, and you must register your car annually.
In New Jersey, fees for registration range from $33 to $84 based on the age and weight of the vehicle. There also will be a sales tax fee.
Drivers over the age of 65 may be eligible for a discount on their registration.
Finding insurance for your vehicle
Once your car is registered, you’ll need to have proof of insurance before you can legally drive your vehicle. However, finding the right insurance can be as much of a hassle as registering your car—if not more.
That’s where Jerry can help. Jerry is the super app that saves you time and money on car expenses, including your insurance.
Jerry will source quotes from over 50 top insurance companies so you can find the best prices on the coverage you need. Make your choice and Jerry handles all the paperwork, phone calls, and even monitors your rate to ensure you’re always renewing at the best price.
The best part? Most Jerry users save $879 per year on their insurance!
“I just had to buy a new car, and I needed quick help to get insurance before I could get my plates. Because I work so many hours, Jerry was the ideal choice for getting things done without long phone calls and waiting periods.” —Rosa G.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What if my car has a loan?
If your car has a loan in New Jersey, it will cost you $85 to complete the title transfer process if the conditions of the loan are not met.
What do I do if the seller doesn’t have a title?
If the seller doesn’t have a title, you’ll need to request a duplicate title from the state that had the last record of the title or registration.