The New Hampshire window tint law allows you to tint the top six inches of your windshield at 35%, up to 70% tint darkness on your front seat side windows, and up to 35% tint darkness on your back seat side windows and rear windows.
Tinted windows allow you to increase your privacy and, in some cases, make your car look sleeker. However, if the tint is too dark, it could violate state tint laws. Many states have placed limits on window tint darkness to ensure your safety. Windows with dark tints can impair visibility, which could be dangerous on the road.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage indicates how much light a window tint film allows through the car windows. The legal limit is different depending on the state.
Having a higher VLT means more light can pass through the film. For example, a 75% tint is much lighter compared to a 5% tint (also known as a “limo tint”) and will allow much more light to pass through the windows.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
What is the New Hampshire window tint law?
The New Hampshire window tint law was enacted in 1990 to limit how dark the tint can be on your windows. The limits for passenger vehicles, SUVs, and vans are as follows:
- Front windshield: Non-reflective tint, 35% VLT, top six inches
- Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 70% light transmission
- Back seat side windows: Must allow more than 35% light transmission—but must have dual side mirrors
- Rear window: Must allow more than 35% light transmission
70% VLT on front seat side windows is now permitted as per the new state legislation that was passed in 2021.
Although tint color isn’t explicitly restricted, the tint must not be metallic or mirrored.
The tint film manufacturer is not required to certify the film they are selling in New Hampshire, and, although it is recommended, you do not need to have a sticker to identify legal tinting.
The state of New Hampshire allows medical exemptions for 35% VLT on the windshield and the front seat side windows. Those who require aftermarket tinting on these windows for medical reasons may apply for a special waiver, which is valid for two years and you can list up to two vehicles on it.
Eligible medical conditions include:
- Intolerance to light
- Allergic reactions to the sun
- Any medical condition aggravated by sun exposure
Penalties for violating the window tint law
If you are caught in violation of the New Hampshire tint law, you will be charged with a non-moving traffic violation.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
How much does it cost to tint windows?
Window tinting can range from $150 to $500 with a few factors determining the price, such as your vehicle model and the material you choose.