New Mexico Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The New Mexico window tint law permits you to tint the top five inches of your windshield and up to 20% tint darkness on your front-seat side windows. The backseat and rear windows also have a limit of 20%.
Tinted windows provide additional privacy, can improve the appearance of your vehicle, and may even improve your ability to see while driving. 
However, for the sake of safety and protection, many states have tinting restrictions. Windows that are too dark might reduce your ability to see, leading to an accident.
To help ensure you stay in compliance with the law, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is breaking down everything you need to know about tinted window laws in New Mexico.

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage refers to how much light a window tint film lets pass through your car windows. Each state sets different legal limits.
A higher VLT means that more light can pass through the film. For example, a 75% tint lets 75% of the light through, while a 5% tint (also known as “limo tint”) only lets 5% of light through.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

What is the New Mexico window tint law?

Window tint laws in New Mexico were enacted in 1997 to limit the extent to which you can tint your windows. New Mexico holds different laws for sedans versus SUVs and vans.
The limits for sedans are as follows:
  • Front windshield: You are permitted to have non-reflective tint above the top five inches or the manufacturer's AS-1 line
  • Front-seat side windows: More than 20% of light must penetrate
  • Back-seat side windows: More than 20% of light must penetrate
  • Rear window: More than 20% of light must penetrate
The limits for SUVs and sedans are as follows:
  • Front windshield: You are permitted to have non-reflective tint above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top five inches 
  • Front-seat side windows: Must allow more than 20% of light in
  • Back-seat side windows: No limit, but dual side mirrors are required if any side or back windows are tinted
  • Rear window: No limit, but dual side mirrors are required if any side or back windows are tinted
You are not allowed to tint your windows red, amber, or yellow.
Additionally, you must have a sticker identifying the tinting is within legal limits between the film and glass on every tinted window. The manufacturer also needs to certify the tint. If you’re not sure if your manufacturer works with certified film, just ask.

Medical exemptions

New Mexico offers medical exemptions for window tints if your physician or optometrist deems it necessary. To request an exemption, you’ll need a signed letter from your physician.
If you are given an exemption, you must have a physical copy of the certificate in your vehicle at all times.

Penalties for violating the window tint law

If you’re pulled over for violating the window tint law in New Mexico, you’ll be charged with a petty misdemeanor and receive a fine of up to $75.
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

FAQs

Tinting your car windows will cost you between $150 and $500 on average. Prices vary based on your car and the auto shop doing the work.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free