Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What are the vehicle inspection requirements in New Hampshire?
- Where to get a car inspection in New Hampshire
- How often do you need a car inspection?
- Finding affordable car insurance
Load full table of contents
In New Hampshire, you must get an emissions inspection before you renew your vehicle registration.
To maintain good air quality, the 1977 amendment to the Clean Air Act was passed. This meant that states had to implement vehicle emissions inspection programs in metropolitan areas where the air quality did not meet federal standards. The requirements vary among states and can also depend on your vehicle and zip code.
To help you to stay compliant, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has created a guideline so you are equipped with information about car inspections in New Hampshire.
What are the vehicle inspection requirements in New Hampshire?
All cars must have an emissions test performed annually before completing their new registration or renewal. A valid inspection sticker must be displayed. All new residents and vehicles with expired inspection stickers are also required to get a safety inspection. This helps to ensure that the air quality stays within the emissions standards set by the state and ensures vehicles are road-safe.
Drivers from out of state must register their vehicles within 30 days of becoming New Hampshire residents and are required to get emissions inspections, as out-of-state emissions tests will not be recognized. A VIN inspection must also be done before being registered.
New residents must have their vehicles pass the emissions test within 10 days of registering their vehicle at the New Hampshire DMV.
To determine whether you need any inspections to complete your new registration or registration renewal, you can check the following websites:
Vehicles that don’t pass the emissions inspection must be repaired and retested within 60 days of the initial test. The testing location is required to report the vehicle if repairs are not complete within this time frame.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Exceptions to the state requirements
Except for electric vehicles, there are no other exemptions to the emissions inspection in the state of New Hampshire.
Where to get a car inspection in New Hampshire
Not every mechanic is certified to complete the inspections, but all authorized stations will indicate that the station is authorized.
If you are looking for somewhere to complete your emissions test, New Hampshire’s Department of Motor Vehicles keeps a list of licensed inspection stations you can visit.
How often do you need a car inspection?
All New Hampshire registered vehicles must complete and pass the emissions inspections within 10 days of their first registration. Vehicles will then have to be inspected and pass the test no later than 10 days after the end of the owner’s birth month.
Finding affordable car insurance
Having to pay for inspections every year can be costly, which is why you should look for better rates for your auto insurance. The car insurance broker app Jerry will help you compare policies from over 50 top providers so that you can get the best coverage for the most affordable price.
You can switch and save easily because Jerry will do all the paperwork for you.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
Do I have to get an inspection before I sell my car?
If there is a change in ownership, the new owner must complete and pass an emissions test within 10 days of registration, regardless of the expiration date on the inspection sticker.
How much does an emissions inspection cost?
New Hampshire does not regulate the emissions inspections cost, however, most places will charge between $20 to $50 per vehicle.