All vehicles in Connecticut are required to go through an emissions inspection every two years, although exemptions are made in a few cases.
You won’t want to be late on getting your vehicle inspected, either, or you could be hit with a significant fine. Other inspections are sometimes necessary as well, including VIN checks for out-of-state cars newly registered in the state.
What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Connecticut?
You’re required to get an emissions test for your vehicle every two years. The specifics vary based on the age and usage of the car. Diesel vehicles even require a separate test altogether!
You’ll also need a VIN inspection—a confirmation of your vehicle’s identity—when you register it in Connecticut. This is only necessary if you bought your car used from out of state, though. Most people get it when they establish residency and obtain a Connecticut driver’s license.
Exceptions to the state requirements
There are a fair few exceptions to Connecticut's inspection requirements. The following types of vehicles are exempt from emissions testing:
2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 model year vehicles
Vehicles that are model year 1996 and older
Vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more
Composite Vehicles (vehicle must be titled as a composite vehicle)
Full electric-powered (non-hybrid)
Bicycles with motors attached
Specific vehicles registered but not designed primarily for highway use
Diesel—Powered Type II School Buses” (under 10,000 lbs GVWR)
Vehicles with Dealer, Repairer, or Transporter Plates (only for the purpose of transportation during wholesale or auction).
Where to get a car inspection in Connecticut
It’s actually pretty easy to get an emissions inspection in Connecticut. You can simply go to the
, enter your address info, and a bunch of locations should pop up.
VIN inspections could be a little more complicated, as you’ll need to head to your local DMV. Be prepared to wait in line for a bit!
How often do you need a car inspection?
In Connecticut, you’re required to get emissions inspections every two years on almost all types of vehicles. You will also need to get a VIN inspection whenever you register your out-of-state car in Connecticut.
Finding affordable car insurance
When you’ve completed all of your inspection requirements, it might be time to dip back into your car insurance. Even if you’ve got a pretty good deal—we’d wager that you can do better!
Do I have to get an inspection before I sell my car?
Unlike some states, you do not have to get an inspection before you sell your car in Connecticut. However, it may a good idea to prove proof of VIN, as well as a clear emissions report before you sell your car.
How much does an emissions inspection cost?
Emissions inspections are usually very cheap, and that’s no different in Connecticut. They’re only $20—regardless of how old the car is. For a VIN test, you’ll only have to hand over $10.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.