Oregon Car Inspection

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Every vehicle in the Portland and Medford-Ashland areas must get a biennial vehicle emissions test. 
Emissions tests are also mandated when out-of-state owners register their vehicles in the area for the first time. This is a one-time check—they can revert to the standard testing schedule after the initial inspection. 
If you fail to meet inspection mandates, you could face fines or points on your license—although specific penalties aren’t specified. To help you avoid that, the car insurance and broker service Jerry has compiled a comprehensive guide on vehicle inspection requirements in Oregon. 

What are the vehicle inspection requirements in Oregon?

Emissions tests are mandated every other year in the Portland and Medford-Ashland areas. New residents moving into these areas are required to get an emissions check when they register their car in the state for the first time. 
Although emissions checks aren’t required in other counties, it might still be a good idea to get one every other year. They’re important for the health of your vehicle—not to mention the environment! 
Unlike some other states, Oregon doesn’t have any safety check requirements. However, you should get them done regularly to make sure that your vehicle is functioning properly.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Exceptions to the state requirements

While vehicle emission mandates are fairly rigorous in Oregon, some vehicles are exempt from requirements. If you own any of the following vehicles, emissions check laws don’t apply: 
  • Motorcycles 
  • Moped
  • ATVs
  • Golf carts
  • Tractors
  • Diesel-powered vehicles weighing over 8,500 pounds
  • Vehicles manufactured before 1975 (in Portland)
  • Vehicles more than 20 years old (in Medford-Ashland)

Where to get a car inspection in Oregon

There are several DMV-licensed vehicle inspection sites in every county—even in the ones where there aren’t smog check mandates.

How often do you need a car inspection in Oregon?

Oregon requires that you get your car checked for emissions every other year in the Portland and Medford-Ashland areas. If you live in any other area in the state, it might be a good idea to get one done every other year, too.

Finding affordable car insurance 

Once you’ve checked all of your emissions test boxes, it’s a good time to revisit your car insurance. You may have a good deal, but we’d wager you can do better. Use the Jerry app to see just how much you can save. 
A licensed broker, Jerry seamlessly generates quotes from more than 50 top insurers in under 60 seconds. In less than a minute, you’ll be seeing prices from State Farm, GEICO, Progressive, and other household names. And Jerry works, too! The average user saves $879 per year on car insurance. 
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

No, you don’t have to get an emissions check before you sell your car. However, it might be a good idea to ensure that everything is in working order. If you sell a slightly broken car, you’ll have to deal with a disgruntled buyer—which might lead to some legal trouble.
Car inspections in Oregon recently increased by $5 in each area where they’re mandated. They cost $25 in Portland and $15 in Medford-Ashland. VIN inspections—which are required when you register your car—are $7.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free