Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
In Minnesota, windows may be tinted up to 50% except for the front windshield, where no level of tint is permitted.
Adding tint to your windows is a great way to give your car that little extra wow factor without breaking the bank—and it increases your privacy. But many states add safety limits to the amount of tint you are permitted, and Minnesota is no exception.
To ensure you're up to date with Minnesota tint law, check out this guide created by car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry. It covers everything you need to know about tints for the North Star state.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
Visible light transmission, or VLT, is the percentage of light passing through the tint’s film. State laws differ on the rate they allow.
Having a Higher VLT means more light can pass through the film. For example, a 50% VLT means 50% of the light hitting your window can pass through your tint—making it reasonably tricky for anyone outside to see into the vehicle. A 75% VLT, on the other hand, lets 75% of light enter and pass through the film.
What is the Minnesota window tint law?
The Minnesota window tint law was enacted in 1985. It restricts how much tint you can use and differs based on the type of vehicle. Here’s are the limits for Minnesota sedans:
- Front windshield: None
- Front-seat side windows: 50%
- Back-seat side windows: 50%
- Rear window: 50%
The same rules apply for SUVs and vans, except any darkness can be used for the back-seat side and rear windows.
Minnesota drivers may use reflective tint on the front seat side and back seat side windows, but the tint must not be more than 20% reflective.
Tint manufacturers in Minnesota are not required to certify the film they sell within the state. That said, drivers must display a legal tinting sticker on the driver’s side window at all times or risk a fine.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Minnesota allows medical exemptions to satisfy prescription and medical needs based on a physicians’ recommendations. Here’s what’s needed for medical exemption in Minnesota:
- The vehicle's driver or passenger possesses a prescription or physician's statement of medical needs
- The prescription or statement specifically states the minimum percentage of light that may be reduced to satisfy the patient’s needs
- The prescription contains an expiration date, which must be no more than two years after the date of issuance
Penalties for violating the window tint law
In Minnesota, the penalty for violating window tint law varies based on the county but usually results in a fine ranging from $50 to $200.
Note that fines may increase each time you are pulled over for a violation.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
How much does it cost to tint windows?
In the state of Minnesota, you can expect to spend between $150 and $500 on tinted windows—though the price will vary based on the type of vehicle, level of tint, and shop you visit.