Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Kentucky?
- How much does a speeding ticket cost in Kentucky?
- Options for handling a speeding ticket in Kentucky
- Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?
Load full table of contents
If you receive a Kentucky speeding ticket, you can pay the fine, fight the ticket by attending traffic school, or plead not guilty and appear in court.
Speeding laws are different in each state, so it’s important to know what the expectations are where you live—especially if you plan on fighting the ticket in court.
To help you understand the ins and outs of dealing with a speeding ticket, car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has put all the information in one place. We’ll discuss the basic traffic laws in Kentucky, how infractions affect your insurance rate, and how to pay or contest a ticket.
What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Kentucky?
If you’re pulled over by law enforcement for speeding in Kentucky, you will be asked to show your license and registration to the officer to prove you’re driving legally. While you may be let off with a verbal warning, there is a chance you will be issued a speeding ticket.
Once you receive a speeding ticket, you have a choice: pay the ticket (plead guilty) or fight the ticket (plead not guilty). Make sure you submit your decision by the due date shown on the ticket—if you are delinquent, more serious charges or late fees can be added.
How much does a speeding ticket cost in Kentucky?
Speeding tickets typically range from $1 to $55 if you are pulled over for driving 1-25 mph over the speed limit. If you are caught speeding 26 mph or more above the speed limit, the fine increases to anywhere from $60 to $100—and you could risk having your license suspended.
Fines are doubled for speeding violations that occur in construction or school zones.
If you are asked to appear in court for your speeding ticket, an additional court cost of $143 applies.
Here’s a look at how much it could cost you in Kentucky for a speeding ticket. Note that the maximum fine shows what you could pay if you’re liable for the $143 court fee.
|Ticket||Base fee range||Construction zone fine range||Maximum fine||Points assessed|
|1-10 mph over speed limit||$1-$20||$2-$40||$183||0 to 3|
|11-15 mph over speed limit||$22-$30||$44-$60||$203||3|
|16-25 mph over speed limit||$28-$55||$56-$110||$253||6|
|26+ mph over speed limit||$60-$100||$120-$200||$343||Hearing/possible suspension|
These are estimates for speeding citations. If you receive multiple citations on a ticket, the fine could be even higher.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Options for handling a speeding ticket in Kentucky
Anyone who is issued a speeding ticket in Kentucky can either pay the fine indicated on the ticket or fight the ticket. Remember, you must submit your payment or decision to contest the ticket by the due date indicated on the ticket.
How to pay your speeding ticket in Kentucky
If you have not been ordered to appear in court and are financially able, paying your speeding ticket is the most straightforward and will take the least amount of time.
Depending on where you were cited for speeding, you may be able to pay your ticket online, by mail, or in person. There is an additional $5 charge for paying your ticket online.
Once you pay your ticket, the applicable number of points will be added to your driving record and remain there for two years.
Applying for traffic school in Kentucky
If paying the fine and having points on your record isn’t sitting well with you, traffic school may be your best choice. Traffic school is available online or in person to both residents and non-residents of the state. It allows you to plead guilty without having to pay the fine or accrue points on your driving record.
You must receive permission from the court to attend traffic school. Completing this program will reduce points off your record related to the speeding ticket. The cost to attend online traffic school in Kentucky is $39.
If you are permitted to attend and do not complete the program, you could face further retribution—including license suspension.
You are not eligible to attend traffic school if you were enrolled within the past 12 months.
Request a mitigation hearing
If you are willing to accept a guilty plea for the speeding ticket but cannot afford to pay the fine, you can request a mitigation hearing to have the fine lowered. This option involves going to court—but if it works in your favor, can be far less of a financial burden than paying the original fine.
The judge’s decision in a mitigation hearing is final and cannot be appealed.
How to fight your speeding ticket in Kentucky
Fighting or contesting your speeding ticket varies by county. Look for the following information on your traffic ticket:
- Which Kentucky court you need to contact
- How the court requests to be contacted
- The deadline to respond to the citation
After you contact the court with your decision, they will send you information regarding the time and place of your scheduled court date. You can represent yourself or hire an attorney to represent you.
If you are found not guilty, the case is immediately dismissed and you will not have to pay the fine on the speeding ticket. There will be no trace of the infraction on your driving record.
If you are found guilty, the speeding citation will show up on your driving record and you will be obligated to:
- Pay the fine on the ticket
- Receive points on your driver’s license
- Pay a higher premium for car insurance
Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?
Whether you’ve pled guilty and paid the fine or are found guilty in traffic court, a speeding ticket will increase your insurance premium. A speeding ticket in Kentucky can raise the average cost of car insurance by 27%.
What is considered speeding in Kentucky?
Kentucky law bases its speed regulations on absolute speed limits and a basic speeding law.
Absolute speed limits consist of:
- 35 miles per hour in business and residential districts
- 55 miles per hour on other state highways
- 65 miles per hour on most interstate highways
Basic speeding law prohibits drivers from traveling at a speed greater than what’s considered “reasonable and prudent, having regard for the traffic and for the condition and use of the highway.”
Posted speed limits indicate the maximum speed you should drive under ideal conditions (like bright and sunny weather and typical traffic patterns). If you are traveling 35 mph when the weather conditions are extremely poor, you could potentially be pulled over for speeding according to basic speeding law.
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me to Jerry and their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How many points will I get on my driving record if I receive a speeding ticket in Kentucky?
Points on your driving record for a speeding ticket are based on the following criteria:
11-15 mph over speed limit: 3 points
16-25 mph over speed limit: 6 points
Over 26 mph: points total will be determined at a hearing
How long do points stay on my driving record in Kentucky?
Points stay on your driver’s license for two years. Accumulating too many points can result in the suspension of your license.