Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Kansas?
- What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Kansas?
- Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Kansas
- How to pay a speeding ticket in Kansas
- How to fight a speeding ticket in Kansas
- What if you can’t afford to pay your speeding ticket?
- Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?
Load full table of contents
If you’re issued a Kansas speeding ticket, your options are to pay the fine or to take the matter to court and plead not guilty to get the ticket reduced or revoked.
Any speeding ticket can cause some disruption to your life. You will either have to pay a fine or take time out of your schedule to fight the charge in court. Furthermore, your insurance rate may go up and your license can even be suspended.
Each state mandates how drivers can deal with a speeding ticket. It’s imperative that you familiarize yourself with the rules of your state before deciding whether to pay or fight a speeding ticket.
Car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is here to break down the ins and outs of Kansas speeding tickets. We’ll cover how to pay for your ticket, how to avoid a court appearance, and what you can do if you can’t afford the fine.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls
What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Kansas?
If you are pulled over for speeding in Kansas, there is very little chance of only receiving a warning. The most likely scenario is you will have to present your driver’s license and vehicle registration.
The next step is for the officer to issue you a speeding ticket based on how much you were going over the speed limit. From there, you will have to decide if you want to pay the fine or fight the ticket before a judge in court.
What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Kansas?
In Kansas, unsafe speed for prevailing conditions comes with a fine of $75.
|Mph over the speed limit||Fee|
|11-20||$45 plus $6 per mph over 10 mph over the limit|
|21-30||$105 plus $9 per mph over 20 mph over the limit|
|Over 30||$195 plus $15 per mph over 20 mph over the limit|
Kansas does not have a points system in place.
Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Kansas
There are really only two options for dealing with a Kansas speeding ticket:
Plead “guilty” or “no contest”
- This means you will voluntarily pay the fine
- There is the risk of having your license suspended or revoked based on the violation you committed
- Your auto insurance premiums will most likely increase upon renewal
- The judge might dismiss the fine if you complete an approved traffic school course
Plead “not guilty”:
- This means you are contesting the ticket
- You must schedule a hearing and present your case on your own or with an attorney to a judge
- If found not guilty, you will not have to pay the penalties but will have to pay any court and/or attorney fees
- If you are found guilty, you may be able to appeal the case
How to pay a speeding ticket in Kansas
Most Kansas courts allow drivers to pay their speeding fines in person, by mail, or sometimes even over the telephone.
Many Kansas courts allow for online payments of speeding tickets. Please visit your court’s website to confirm that this is an option. The following courts use a centralized case management system and accept payment for speeding tickets through the eCourt public access portal:
- 13th Judicial District: Butler, Elk, and Greenwood counties
- 4th Judicial District: Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties
- 6th Judicial District: Bourbon, Linn, and Miami counties
- 8th Judicial District: Dickinson, Geary, Marion, and Morris counties
- 11th Judicial District: Cherokee, Crawford, and Labette counties
- 14th Judicial District; Chautauqua and Montgomery counties
- 19th Judicial District: Cowley county
- 21st Judicial District: Clay and Riley counties
- 31st Judicial Districts: Allen, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson counties
- Municipal courts take care of tickets pertaining to the city
- District courts take care of citations pertaining to the county
All online payments require you to input mandatory information like the ticket number, the amount of the fine, and sometimes the deadline to pay.
Mail or in person
If you want to pay for your speeding ticket by mail or in person, check your ticket for instructions or contact the Kansas court that is handling your charge. You need to confirm that this option is available to you.
If you prefer to pay over the phone, follow the information on your speeding ticket. You can also call the clerk at the relevant court for instructions on making a phone payment.
How to fight a speeding ticket in Kansas
In Kansas, each county outlines how a speeding ticket can be fought in court. Despite some variance, the steps will typically include:
- Pleading not guilty in court on the date found on your traffic ticket
- The court will accept your not guilty plea
- A new date might be set for your trial
- You will have some time to build your case and gather all evidence
- Attend your trial on the designated date and defend your case
Kansas courts will not assign you a court-appointed attorney to fight a speeding ticket. You can hire an attorney or represent yourself.
There is a good chance that your arraignment and trial will be held on separate days, so plan to make two trips to the court at the very least.
What if you can’t afford to pay your speeding ticket?
In Kansas, you may request a payment plan. This can include the payment of multiple fines. Usually, you will be required to make the first payment within 30 days.
Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?
Depending on your exact violation, your insurance premiums may increase when you renew. This will also depend on your insurance carrier, demographics, and driving history.
“I love how easy it was for me, as someone who has an older beat-up truck, to get insurance without going through a lot of trouble. I would recommend anyone try Jerry, since it’s free!” —Melissa I.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Will I lose my license if I don’t fight a speeding ticket?
There is no straightforward answer to this question as it depends on the severity of the violation and your driving record. More severe violations like those that occurred in construction or school zones could result in the driver having their license revoked or suspended.
Should I fight or pay my speeding ticket?
Unless you believe you have irrefutable evidence that proves you did not deserve the speeding ticket in the first place, then you should just pay the fine.