Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The Kansas window tint law allows you to tint up to the AS-1 line of your windshield and up to 35% tint darkness on your front seat side windows, back seat side windows, and rear windows.
Tinted windows can give you privacy and a sleek look, but may not comply with state law. Many states have placed limits on how dark you can tint your windows for your safety. Windows that are too dark can impair visibility and lead to an accident.
To help ensure you stay in compliance with the law, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about tinted window laws in Kansas.
What is the visible light transmission percentage?
The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage is how much light a window tint film will allow through the car windows. Each state has its own legal limit.
A higher VLT means a lighter tint, as more light can pass through the film. For example, a 75% tint is lighter and allows 75% of the light to pass through, whereas a 5% tint (also known as “limo tint”) is very dark and only allows 5% of light to pass through.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually
What is the Kansas window tint law?
The Kansas window tint law was enacted in 1987 and limits how much you can tint your windows. The limits for passenger vehicles are as follows:
- Front windshield: Non-reflective tint up to the AS-1 line
- Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 35% light transmission
- Back seat side windows: Must allow more than 35% light transmission—but you must have dual side mirrors
- Rear window: Must allow more than 35% light transmission
You are not allowed to tint your windows red, amber, or yellow and the tint must not have a metallic or mirrored appearance.
The manufacturer of the tint film is not required to certify the film they are selling in Kansas. Stickers to identify legal tinting are also not required by state law, but they are recommended.
Kansas law does not allow medical exemptions for darker window tints.
Penalties for violating the window tint law
If you’re found to be in violation of the Kansas window tint law, you’ll be charged with a Class C misdemeanor with a monetary fine, which may require a court appearance.
Repeat tint law violations can lead to higher fines and vehicle impoundment.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How much does it cost to tint windows?
To tint your car windows, it can cost anywhere between $150 and $500 on average, sometimes more. The prices vary based on your vehicle, the material quality, and the auto shop you choose.