Minnesota Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Optional coverage
- Buying insurance
Car insurance is required for all drivers in the state of Minnesota. Minnesota requires all drivers to have liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP).
Minnesota mandated insurance limits are 30/60/10 for liability coverage, meaning that drivers must have coverage for $30,000 in bodily injury per person, $60,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 in property damage per accident.
Need car insurance in Minnesota? Try out the cheap car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry for all your car insurance needs.
Jerry brings you the lowest rates for car insurance—without sacrificing any of your coverage. And, it’s always totally free to use! The best part? The average Jerry user saves $879 on car insurance a year!
Read on to find out more about car insurance laws in Minnesota.
Car insurance requirements in Minnesota
Here are the minimum requirements for auto insurance coverage in Minnesota:
|Minimum Liability Coverage: 30/60/10||Uninsured Motorist (UM)/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage||Personal Injury Protection (PIP)|
|$30,000 bodily injury per person||$25,000 bodily injury for one person (UM)||$20,000 medical expenses per person|
|$60,000 bodily injury per accident||$50,000 bodily injury for 2+ people (UM)||$20,000 non-medical expenses per person|
|$10,000 for property damage per accident||$25,000 bodily injury for one person (UIM)|
|$50,000 bodily injury for 2+ people (UIM)||$4,500 rehabilitation expenses per person|
Liability coverage in Minnesota
Liability coverage covers the property damage and medical expenses of others if you are at fault in an accident. Liability coverage does not cover your own property damage or medical expenses, so you’ll need to rely on PIP for coverage if you are at fault in a collision.
Uninsured motorist (UM)/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage in Minnesota
Uninsured motorist (UM)/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage covers you in the unfortunate case that you get into an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have sufficient insurance coverage.
So, if you get into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, you will have your UM/UIM coverage to utilize for any damages.
Personal injury protection (PIP) in Minnesota
Minnesota is a no-fault state, so drivers must exhaust their own insurance policies for medical expenses—regardless of who is at fault—before the at-fault driver’s insurance kicks in. Drivers use their personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage for this.
If you exhaust your PIP insurance limits and are not at fault in an accident, you can file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance provider to cover your remaining medical expenses.
State-mandated car insurance limits
An insurance limit is the maximum amount your insurance provider will pay to cover expenses in each category of coverage. It is basically the legally required minimum amount of insurance coverage you can have and still be considered a legal driver.
Minnesota’s state-mandated limits for liability coverage are represented by three numbers and referred to as “split limits”: 30/60/10. Minnesota’s 30/60/10 liability coverage is spelled out below:
- 30,000 per person limit — bodily injury liability
- 60,000 per accident limit — bodily injury liability
- 10,000 property damage per accident limit — property damage liability
While these are the state-mandated coverage limits, you are always welcome to purchase a policy with higher limits. This might be a good idea, as it could really protect you in the case of an accident that results in expensive medical bills or property damage.
Remember, after your insurance policy is exhausted, you will be held personally liable for any additional coverage. For this reason, you’ll probably want to pay a slightly higher monthly rate for higher liability limits.
Key Takeaway Minnesota drivers must have liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection. It’s a good idea to purchase higher liability limits to protect yourself should you ever be found at fault for a car collision.
Do Minnesota’s required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?
Minnesota’s state-mandated car insurance limits provide a decent amount of coverage, but it’s always a good idea to purchase more insurance coverage than is legally required in the state you are driving in.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Minnesota
There are various penalties for driving without insurance in Minnesota:
- License and registration potentially being revoked
- License and registration reinstatement fees of $30
- Fine of at least $200
On top of facing legal penalties for driving without insurance in Minnesota, you will also be looking at higher insurance rates.
Optional auto insurance coverage in Minnesota
Along with the legally mandated car insurance requirements in Minnesota, we suggest looking into one or more of these optional coverage options:
- Comprehensive coverage can cover the costs of physical damages to your vehicle that are not the result of a collision (e.g. vandalism).
- Collision coverage can help you cover the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object.
- Medical payments coverage covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a collision.
- Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jump-starting a battery. The type of coverage will vary between policies and companies.
- Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle if you are unable to drive your car.
Key Takeaway To protect yourself in case you are ever at fault in a car accident in Minnesota, it’s a good idea to purchase additional coverage.
MORE: Types of insurance
Where to buy car insurance in Minnesota
Whether you are driving in Minnesota or any other U.S. state, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is here to help you with all your car insurance needs.
Jerry compiles car insurance quotes from over 40 name-brand insurance providers that you can choose from—once you pick a policy, you can purchase your insurance in-app, and Jerry will help you with all the paperwork.
The catch? Since all your insurance quotes will be in one place (and you don’t have to search around for them yourself), you can be sure that you are always looking at the lowest possible rates for your car insurance. Not only that—Jerry automatically shops around every six months for rates to make sure that you are always getting the lowest rates possible.
You’ll know Jerry works when you hear that the average Jerry customer saves over $800 a year on car insurance. And, since it’s always 100% free to use, there’s really no reason not to use Jerry for your car insurance shopping.
“I was able to save big on my insurance policy today with Jerry and am very excited that I did! Finding an insurance that is affordable these days is hard to find, but I want to assure anyone out there that there is one who is reliable and that one insurance company is Jerry. Just download the app and fill in all your information and someone will be there to help you with the final quote. Thanks to Jerry for making this dream possible for me today!” - Satisfied Jerry customer
What does it mean that Minnesota is a no-fault state?
Minnesota is a no-fault state, which means that even if you are not at fault in an accident, you will be required to exhaust your own insurance policy before getting paid out by the at-fault driver’s insurance provider. For this, you’ll typically be using your personal injury protection (PIP), which is required for all drivers in Minnesota.
Does insurance follow the car or the driver in Minnesota?
As in most states, insurance follows the car in Minnesota. This means that you buy insurance coverage for a particular vehicle—not necessarily a particular driver.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually