Wisconsin Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The Wisconsin window tint law allows you to tint up to the AS-1 line of your windshield, up to 50% tint darkness on your front seat side windows, and up to 35% on your back seat side windows and rear windows.
Improving your privacy and the look of your car can be as easy as getting your windows tinted. However, how dark you can tint them depends on the state tint laws. Many states set limits on window tint darkness so that your visibility isn’t impaired, making the roads safer.
To help you ensure that your vehicle is tinted legally, the car insurance comparison and broker app, Jerry, has gathered all the information you need for tinted window laws in Wisconsin.

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage means the amount of light the window tint film will allow through the car windows. The legal limits are different from state to state. 
A higher VLT percentage indicates that more light will pass through the tint film. For example, a 75% tint is much lighter and will let 75% of light through, whereas a 5% tint (also known as a “limo tint”) will only allow 5% of light through.

What is the Wisconsin window tint law?

The Wisconsin window tint law was enacted in 1996 to impose limits on how dark window tints can be. The limits for passenger vehicles, SUVs, and vans are as follows:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint up to the manufacturer’s AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 50% light transmission
  • Back seat side windows: Must allow more than 35% light transmission
  • Rear window: Must allow more than 35% light transmission
All vehicles must have dual side mirrors if the rear windows are tinted below 60% VLT. There are no restrictions on tint colors but the tinting film must not be reflective. You are also allowed a 3% tint variance.
Tint film manufacturers are not required to certify the film they are selling in Wisconsin and you will not need to have a sticker to identify legal tinting.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Medical exemptions

Wisconsin law allows medical exemptions for a darker tint. The driver must have a written statement from their physician stating the condition that requires greater sun protection. The statement also needs to include the make, model, year, and VIN of the car.

Penalties for violating the window tint law

If you are caught with window tinting that is darker than the legal limits, you can be issued a ticket with a fine of up to $175.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

Window tinting can cost between $150 and $500 on average. These prices will vary depending on the different tint darkness, materials, your vehicle model, and the auto shop you decide to use.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free