Indiana Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
The Indiana window tint law permits you to tint above the AS-1 line of your windshield and up to 30% tint darkness on your front seat side windows, back seat side windows, and rear window.
Even though tinted windows give you more privacy and can improve the look of your car, many states have limits on tinting. This is because windows that are too dark can impair visibility and lead to a higher risk of accidents.
All the legal requirements can be confusing, but the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has broken down everything you need to know about tinted window laws in Indiana to make sure your vehicle complies.

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage refers to how much light a window tint film allows to pass through the car windows. Each state has its own legal limit. 
Tints with a higher VLT allow more light to pass through the film. For example, a 75% tint allows 75% of the light to pass through, whereas a 5% tint (also known as “limo tint”) only allows 5% of light to pass through.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What is the Indiana window tint law?

The Indiana window tint law was enacted in 2003 and it sets limits on how you can tint your windows. The limits for passenger vehicles are as follows:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint up to the AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 30% light transmission
  • Back seat side windows: Must allow more than 30% light transmission
  • Rear window: Must allow more than 30% light transmission
For SUVs and vans:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint up to the AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Must allow more than 30% light transmission
  • Back seat side windows: Any darkness several inches from the top
  • Rear window: Any darkness several inches from the top
There are no tint colors specified as restricted, however, the front side and back side windows must not be more than 25% reflective.
The manufacturer of the tint film is required to certify the film they are selling in Indiana, but you don’t need a sticker to identify legal tinting.

Medical exemptions

Indiana allows medical exemptions for darker window tints. However, the medical reason must be certified by a physician or optometrist who is licensed to practice in Indiana. The physician or optometrist’s certification letter must be carried in your vehicle and you have to renew it annually.
If you have a medical exemption, you are only allowed to drive during the day, as it is illegal and dangerous to drive with darker tinted windows at night.

Penalties for violating the window tint law

If you get pulled over for violating the Indiana window tint law, you’ll be charged with a Class C (up to $500 fine) or Class A infraction (up to $10,000 fine).
You’ll also need to remove/replace the tint as soon as possible or the penalty will be much more severe if you get cited again for the same tint.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

A tint job can cost $150 to $500 on average and the prices vary depending on the vehicle model, the type of tint, and the auto shop.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free