What speed is considered reckless driving in South Carolina?

I got pulled over yesterday for speeding, but then the officer gave me a reckless driving ticket! I wasn’t going that much over the speed limit. What speed is considered reckless driving in South Carolina?

Brittni Brinn · Updated on
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
The difference between a speeding ticket and a reckless driving ticket can definitely be confusing! According to state law, going 25 mph over the speed limit is considered reckless driving in
South Carolina
A reckless driving charge is much more serious than a speeding ticket. So, if you don’t think you were going that fast, you should consider challenging the ticket in court.
Here’s a quick breakdown of the penalties you could face for a reckless driving charge:
  • A misdemeanor on your record
  • 6 demerit points
  • $25 to $200 in fines
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Possible 3-month license suspension
A ticket can also hike your insurance rates. Car insurance super app
can help you find the best coverage and rates available, saving you money and the stress of comparing quotes.
I hope that helps!
View full answer 
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.

Join 4M+ members in lowering their car insurance

Browse By Topics

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free