What speed is considered reckless driving in New Hampshire?

I live in New Hampshire and although I’m 25 years old, I just got my license. Since I’ve been driving, I like to go really fast. But I don’t want to get a ticket for reckless driving. How fast do you have to go to get a reckless driving charge in New Hampshire?

Eric Schad · Updated on
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
Congratulations on getting your license, but before you go speeding around
New Hampshire
, you should know the law. A speed of 100 mph or more is considered reckless driving in New Hampshire. Getting caught driving this fast can leave you with stiff penalties and increased car insurance rates.
Although reckless driving is not a misdemeanor in New Hampshire, it still comes with consequences like:
  • A fine of up to $500
  • License revocation of up to six months
  • Six points on your license
  • A second offense results in a $750 fine and loss of your license for up to one year
If you get a reckless driving charge—or even a speeding ticket—your car insurance rates are likely to go up. To avoid a sky-high premium, use the
app to shop around for the best rate.
Jerry is a licensed broker and insurance comparison tool that collects quotes from over 50 top-rated insurers in minutes. After you find a great rate, Jerry can help you buy new insurance and cancel your old policy. Users save an average of $887 per year.
View full answer 
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.

Join 4M+ members in lowering their car insurance

Browse By Topics

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free